Nine Naughty Novelists Day 6

DAY SIX

About Kate Davies

From food to fiction, I like things spicy! When I’m not hauling the kids all over the countryside chasing soccer, fastpitch/baseball, or basketball (depending on the season), I’m writing hot contemporary romances featuring strong, sexy men and women. My print title Lessons Learned won a Romantic Times Reviewer’s Choice Award for best small press romance, and earned a Top Pick from that magazine as well. I’ve been married to a swell guy for almost 17 years, and we live in the Pacific Northwest with our fabulous children. I love chocolate, travel, fancy drinks with umbrellas in them, several current and former soap actors both foreign and domestic, camping, my family, Italian food, purses, and my iPhone, but not necessarily in that order.

***

Naughty Tip 6: Getting Naughty on Public Transportation

Getting naughty in public is a no-no, right? But we all know that sometimes the taboo can be quite a temptation! Especially when you’re with that certain someone who makes your toes curl just by breathing. So what’s a girl to do when she wants to get frisky with her sweetie without chancing a public indecency charge?

First, pick your locale well. While a plane can be tempting, you’d better hope those skimpy little blankets cover more than your average hospital gown, or that no one else on the flight needs the restroom for any length of time. I’d personally give the bus a thumbs down as well. Best choice? Why, a ferry boat, of course! Plenty of room to roam, private little nooks and crannies around every corner, and the added bonus of fresh air and a lovely view from the water.

Next, dress appropriately! A nice roomy coat will suffice to shield both of you from view. (And keep your skimpy dress and sexy undies from being noticed by anyone not-your-man.) Finally, pay attention to your surroundings. I know it can be challenging with the heat generated between the two of you, but trust me when I say you really don’t want to be surprised by the rest of the passengers queuing up to disembark right next to you.

***

Excerpt: Take a Chance on Me

“This is totally amazing!”

Tom smiled as he watched Jessica lean against the thick green railing, a chill wind rushing through her tousled red-brown hair. She spread her arms wide, bracing herself against the railing of the small deck overlooking the front of the ferry.
Below, white-capped waves crashed against the edge of the car deck, leaving puddles on the walkways and riming the safety ropes with salt.

She turned around, laughing with delight. “You were absolutely right. This is exactly what I needed.”

Continued here

*****

Chapter Four: The Ninja, the Pirate, Her Katana and His…Urges?

In which Captain Fitzgerald discovers that having a Prisoner of one’s own can be far more diverting than she’d ever imagined, and Colin discovers hitherto unknown Proclivities

Colin could think of much worse things to be than hers. As he gazed into those impossibly azure eyes, he forgot himself. He forgot his brave shipmates. He forgot Ward and Miss Fitzgerald, his uncle, his title, his very name…

Then Pemberly, curse the inconvenient creature, reminded him of everything.

“Awk! Landlubber! Awk!”

Colin sighed. His shipmates were depending on him to defeat this nefarious ninja. He had a duty. The winsome warrior was his enemy.

But—though he was a pirate, he was still a gentleman. Could he harm a woman?

Aha! Perhaps he wouldn’t need to…

“Um, hello?” The angelic Amazon, once again in possession of her katana, poked him lightly in the stomach. “I said, you will never win, you are mine. Have you nothing to say, pirate?”

Adopting his best Smooth Pirate voice, Colin replied, “Pardon me, miss, but you appear to have me at a disadvantage.”

“Well, yes, of course I do—you’re on your back with your hands tied– wait. What’s wrong with your voice?”

Continue reading…


14 Responses to “Nine Naughty Novelists Day 6”

  1. WOW! I love the excerpt! I agree with PG…I don’t want to stop! Can’t wait to read this!

  2. Kate, you loook so innocent, but what a dirty mind! Love it 😀

  3. Great excerpt! Want to read more.

  4. Thanks for tips Katie! Don’t live near a ferry but have gotten frisky on a train.

    maw1725@gmail.com

  5. Thanks for the tips but I’m sure I’ll be staying away from getting naughty on public transpo.:)
    Thanks for sharing the excerpt,I really enjoyed reading it

  6. Ooh, awesome post, Kate! Thanks for the tips 😉

  7. Katherine Says:

    Public transport. I think one will remain a fantasy, which I will live out in my imagination. Great excerpt Kate – I’ve added this on to my TBR list.

Leave a comment