Nine Naughty Novelists Day 7

DAY SEVEN

About PG Forte

Forte. Rhymes with Foreplay. That sounds naughty doesn’t it? And, you know, I’m okay with that. ‘Cause naughty pretty much sums up what I write. I have eighteen titles out right now in a variety of romance sub-genres from paranormal romantic suspense to erotic contemporary, with some urban fantasy, steampunk and even a fantasy-historical thrown in…just to keep me from getting bored. Lately, I’ve been told I should write more comedy. I’m thinking about it. On the other hand, for years I’ve been known as the Queen of Angst and Torment. It’s good to be queen.

***

Naughty Tip 7: Naughty Gardening

Is there anything as sexy as a garden? I didn’t think so either. From time immemorial (ever since the Garden of Eden in fact) people have been getting busy, getting it on and getting into trouble al fresco. And not just people-people either. Where would Pan or Bacchus have gone to party with the nymphs if gardens hadn’t been invented? Artists, too, have always found their inspiration there, including Monet, Van Gogh and Georgia O’Keefe. And, lest we forget, it’s where the birds and the bees make their homes. ‘Nuff said, right?

Recent studies suggest that men who spend at least 30 minutes a week gardening have better sex lives. That’s certainly the case for my character Dan Cavanaugh—nursery owner, finger-food enthusiast and irrepressible flirt. Dan probably has one of the healthiest sex lives of anyone in his fictional hometown of Oberon. Coincidence? I think not.

Gardens are sensory smorgasbords, filled with smells and sounds, tastes and textures. They make great adult playgrounds, too. There’s mud, which gives you a chance to get really dirty in a totally “clean” way…or a not so clean way. It’s your choice! There’s grass—oh, not that kind! Or, then again… There’s very little that beats lying in the grass on a sunny summer’s day with someone you love, picking out naughty cloud images…and then maybe acting out what you see! There’s even a plethora of opportunities for a little water play. Think garden hose. Think wet T-shirt. You take it from there. And what better place than a garden to sample the joys—and the extreme messiness—of really juicy, fresh fruit? Or naughty-up your garden even more with erotic statuary or some subversive little gnomes!

***

Excerpt: A Taste of Honey


This excerpt is taken from A Taste of Honey (Oberon series, book 4) but it also can be found in Such Fleeting Pleasures, the Oberon prequel. Right now the entire series is on sale at Amazon for only $2.99 each.

Lucy had retreated to one of the older, less-utilized greenhouses to lick her wounds after her latest skirmish with Dan. She couldn’t understand what it was about the man that rattled her so. Why must her heart insist on pounding madly whenever he loomed over her–something he was forever doing. He had a way of pushing buttons she didn’t even know she had, and for the life of her, she didn’t see why so many otherwise intelligent people seemed to consider him both attractive and charming.

He wasn’t even all that good looking! Not really. His eyes were entirely too blue and his teeth were too white and he was just…way too big, that’s all. So what if he was strong and muscular? So was an ox. Big and clumsy. And dumb.

Read more…

*****

Chapter Five: Mistress and Commander: The Far Side of the Nursery

In Which a Fair but Penniless Governess longs for the Heart of a nefarious Highwayman pretending to be a Duke, though he is Betrothed to another

Last night, I dreamt I went to Netherloin again

Miss Julia Fitzgerald sighed and traced one finger down the fogged pane of glass, gazing out at the broad expanse of the estate. What an addle-pated thought, of course. How could she return to Netherloin again if she had never left it?

Other people left. Even the Duke left, for a short time at least, on his daring piratical adventure.

But Julia Fitzgerald?

No, she would be here until she drew her last breath, faithfully fulfilling her duties as governess to Ward, the Duke’s ward.

That gave her, what, a good ten or twelve years, right? Until Ward was too old for a governess?

Continue reading…


9 Responses to “Nine Naughty Novelists Day 7”

  1. Great ideas for gardening and if you live in Hell, I mean Texas, once you are done gardening, nothing beats skinny dipping!

    maw1725@gmail.com

  2. I absolutely love Lucy and apparently married my own Dan! My biggest problem with PG’s books is that I can’t seem to put them down. I lose a lot of sleep thanks to her! But I love her anyway! 😉

  3. Fun ways to spend the day gardening!

  4. I confess I have the black thumb of death when it comes to gardening; I’ll have to give these tips a closer gander 😉

  5. Kim–aww, thanks. ❤ U too.

    Jean–absolutely. lots of fun! And, you know I think I love gardening almost as much as I like eating ribs. 😉

    Fedora–well, there's gardening and then there's gardening! 😉

  6. I like gardening but there’s also bugs in them…I think I’ll pass on the naughty gardening 🙂

  7. Katherine Says:

    Gardening is so not my thing. But I bet it would be if I had a hottie like Cavanaugh waiting for me!

  8. Today’s winner is Katherine! Please email me at skylarkade@gmail.com with your preferred e-book format.

    Don’t forget that on Day 9, we’ll be drawing two winners from all the commenters, and you’ll receive a kick-ass NNN swag bag!

Leave a Reply

