GayRomLit 2011

I was going to do one BIG post…but there is just NO way. lol So I’ll break it down and start with the first day. I’ll continue on my blog at http://www.jambrea.com with the rest of my time in New Orleans!

Day One: Wed., Oct. 12th

 

Got a phone call at 3:15am. My alarm was scheduled to go off around 4. The call was from the taxi driving down in New Orleans. I was like—huh? What? That was supposed to be 2:15pm. Did I say A.M.? lol I’m just glad it wasn’t because that would have meant Rhonda and I would have been waiting at the airport for an hour. I tried to go back to sleep after that-but it was a no go so I got up and got ready. I actually headed out the door a few minutes early.

Things were going well and I was ahead of schedule, but I should have known it wouldn’t last. And I was right. Lol Traffic slowed down until it finally stopped. I had no idea what the heck was going on. I sat there for an hour and a half or more…panicking! My mom called and calmed me down and gave me a couple options. I guess there was a ten car pile up. The only reason I know that is because I tuned in a local station.

I thought for sure I’d miss my plane. Rhonda was forced to go on the original plane because she’d already checked in. I’m thinking I’ll have to catch the next flight, which isn’t too bad, but I really don’t want to do that. I text Ive telling her she might have to cancel my tattoo appointment. I’m preparing for the worst, hoping for the best. I pull into the airport with not much time to spare. Joy calls me asking if I’m on yet. Rhonda is texting asking where I am. I’m rushing to the shelter where I can pick up a shuttle to the air port. Make a mad dash inside and check in. Good think I had my boarding pass already. They checked my bag and told me we might not be on the same plane. At this point, I don’t care. Lol I run to security. Rhonda texting me from on the plane. I texted back that I was in security. So what happens? My bag gets pulled. Seems you have to put your lap top in separately. I told the guy…it’s 9:15 and my plane takes off at 9:30. I just make it. AND…I totally have to pee at this point. Lol They took pity on me and let me go before the plane took off.

After that Ronda and I met up with Trina and flew into N.O. with her. She’s great! We got our rooms (and OMG was the room KICK ASS!) and then it was off to the tattoo parlor. No rest…who needs it. heehee. Get with Jaime Samms, Susan and Ive and the five of us were off. Took one of the street cars. Got lost. Got a cab then got to NOLA tats. Lesli ROCKS! I love all the work she did and would totally go back to her. Everyone in our group ended up one with the exception of Rhonda and it was Jaime and Susan’s first ones. Lol I actually drank a beer…WHILE being tattooed.

Shortly after that we helped the organizers stuff bags. That was fun. A big ring around the table. Heehee. We were all hungry after that, but didn’t want to move. The search to find a place was fun. I had NO luck. Susan had to take over. Lol We got…Yo Momma’s. heehee The burgers were great. We chatted for a while. I think Susan went out for drinks. Then it was bed time.

9 Responses to “GayRomLit 2011”

  1. Mary Preston Says:

    Keep it coming. I intend to live vicariously.

  2. I like that pic of me, my ass looks big lol. I love how the people in NOLA really wanted to help us, even though they kept pointing us in the wrong direction lmao. Definitely was an experience 😉 Come to think of it I might have lost that 5 lbs going around and around that table hahaha

    • ROFL!

      And it had to be the table…not the walk back from going the wrong way on the trolly or the walk all around the French Quarter. I’m sure that had NOTHING to do with it. heehee

  3. Looks like a great time. Love the post!

  4. It’s fun reading about everyone’s con experiences. 🙂

Leave a comment