My Ten Favorite Romantic Movies!

Today I want to share ten of my favorite romantic movies. For me the key to a great romantic movie is the ending. Don’t give me a Romeo and Juliet ending! I want them to be together. I want them to have their HEA. That’s a MUST. Even better is if there are some funny mishaps along the way. I love romantic comedies. Life is too stressful so when I watch a movie I want to escape. I want to laugh. I want to walk away feeling good.

So, in no particular order…

Dirty Dancing…there isn’t a woman alive who doesn’t LOVE this movie. Patrick Swayze as Johnny Castle is the ultimate bad boy with a heart of gold. I was half in love with him after this movie. 

Pretty Woman is one of those Cinderella type movies. Edward is the handsome rich guy, Vivian is a prostitute just trying to earn a living. Of course it’s a match made in heaven. LOL Sweet Home Alabama. I’ve seen this movie three times and it never gets old. I love the ending. LOVED IT. It’s so sweet, romantic, a total tear jerker. The opening, where Melanie and Jake are friends on the beach in the thunderstorm, and then the way it comes back around to that in the end. *sigh* So completely romantic…  Bridget Jones’s Diary is a movie that brings reality into a romantic comedy. Bridget is very easy to relate to with all these issues and problems. She’s one of us, and I loved seeing her get her HEA.

Just Like Heaven makes you realize that sometimes it’s just meant to be. Fate. Fight it all you want, but in the end there’s a plan and nothing you do is going to change it. It’s a sweet romance, and Reese is adorable as Elizabeth. License to Wed is almost too difficult to watch. At least for me it was. Everything goes wrong and I don’t usually go for those types of movies. But there’s a reason and it all comes together nicely.Made of Honor…what can I say? He rides into the church on a horse. Sure, he falls off, but hey! Nobody is perfect! LOL

Besides, Patrick Demsey is a cutie. 😉When Harry Met Sally. You’re missing out on a wonderful treat if you haven’t seen this movie. It’s easily one of my favorite movies of all time. Seriously, I loved these two. Billy Crystal and Meg Ryan are absolutely perfect together on screen. Jane Eyre…okay, it’s not the typical romantic movie. Nor is it a comedy. It’s different from what I usually like, but it’s timeless. A classic. I prefer the older, black and white version to the new version. Orson Welles, there’s just something about him that I find completely sexy. He’s not the usual perfect hero. He’s flawed and demanding and intense. All the things I go for! Last but not least, Did You Hear About The Morgans? This is the newest of my top ten. I admit, I loved it mostly because I love Hugh Grant. He’s so freaking cute! LOL In this movie Hugh plays a guy who screwed up pretty badly with his wife. She’s far from perfect, of course. They’re on the outs. Circumstances force them together, and of course they’re then forced to work out their differences.

Okay, that’s my top ten. Do you have a favorite romantic movie? One that makes your heart flutter every time you watch it? Tell me, because I’ll be hitting Blockbuster this weekend and I need some new stuff to sigh over. 😀

_________________

and for a hunk…can’t forget the hunk!

Okay, fine, TWO hunks! 😉

Tomorrow I’ll be posting an all NEW excerpt…stay tuned 😉

54 Responses to “My Ten Favorite Romantic Movies!”

  1. Maria63303 Says:

    This is tough- there are alot of really good romantic movies and I really like about half of the ones you have listed but these are some of my favorites that you missed – oldies but goodies:

    The Notebook (one of the few modern movies that made me cry)
    Wimbledon
    While You Were Sleeping
    Out of Africa (Who can resist Robert Redford?)
    Moonstruck (I know it’s Cher but I loved this movie)
    Persuasion (Jane Austen movie with Amanda Root)

    Thanks again for the eye-candy…..especially the cowboy

    • annerainey11 Says:

      I definitely need to see “The Notebook”. And I LOVED “While You Were Sleeping”. Can’t believe I forgot that one! 🙂

  2. Billi Jean Says:

    I love romantic movies too, and like you, I always want my HEA!! I don’t know if it counts as romance, but I loved The Mummy and Mr. and Mrs. Smith. 🙂 Maybe action/romance?

    🙂 billi jean

    • annerainey11 Says:

      Great picks, Billi Jean! I have all The Mummy movies. I’ve watched the first one about ten times, no lie. 🙂

  3. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Rhian Cahill. Rhian Cahill said: RT @intlheat: New Blog Post – My Ten Favorite Romantic Movies! http://bit.ly/9NH2AW […]

  4. Awesome romantic comedies! I couldn’t agree more. And I love the hunks 🙂

  5. “Someone Like You”–got to love Hugh Jackman. And speaking of, he’s the only reason to watch “Kate and Leopold.” I can’t stand Meg Ryan’s character, but Hugh makes up for it.
    “Serenditpity,” “Must Love Dogs,” “Sabrina.” most recently “Letters to Juliet.”
    For a true tear jerker: “Tristan and Isolde.” and “Braveheart.”
    For old school: the “Road” movies with Bobe Hope, Bing Crosby and Dorothy Lamore.

  6. Heather P Says:

    I love an Affair To Remember and Sleepless in Seattle. I also love 300. Once you take away the gory scenes and you look at the love Gerard Butler had for his wife and country, it made me emotional. Also Troy made me cry at the end.

  7. dreabecraft Says:

    Okay you have four of mine already listed but here goes:

    Dirty Dancing
    Just Like Heaven
    Sweet Home Alabama
    Pretty Woman
    Ever After- http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0120631/
    Stardust- http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0486655/
    Mrs. Winterborn- http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0117104/
    The Holiday- http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0457939/
    The Notebook
    Picture Perfect- http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0119896/

    I love all kinds of movies althought I haven’t really watched the newer ones lately. I wait until I go to readbox and try to binge and watch one right after another. lol.

  8. annerainey11 Says:

    I’ve heard good things about 300. I’m iffy though. Does it end sad?

    Gerard Butler is hot. Yum!

  9. annerainey11 Says:

    Uh-oh…I don’t know about the crying. 😦
    I might check it out…I don’t know

  10. I’m not a big movie watcher, but I can get down with my favorite when i’m in a good movie mood. My pick is The Best Man. Oh the couple goes thru so much before they say I do. But they do get their HEA!

  11. annerainey11 Says:

    Hmm, The Best Man. I haven’t heard of that one. I’ll have to google it. Thanks, Mai! 🙂

  12. Ok, there are some already mentioned that are on my favorites list:
    Ever After
    The Notebook – which btw is the only Nicolas Sparks book/movie I’ll watch. He seems to kill his characters, and nobody gets an HEA.I hate that.
    Sweet Home Alabama
    50 First Dates
    Pride and Prejudice
    Young Frankenstein – I mean its a funny Mel Brooks comedy but the characters get their HEA.

  13. Cathy MacDonald Says:

    Great list so far. Since I love a little laughter with my romance, I would add Notting Hill to the list.

  14. annerainey11 Says:

    Armenia–who was the actress in Ever After? I know I’ve seen that one, just can’t remember. 🙂

    Cathy–I’m adding that one to my list. I need to see that one!

  15. Sherry S. Says:

    I haven’t watched a movie in a couple of years but hears a couple that I use to love Titanic, An Officer and A Gentleman and Grease. I love all of these movies.

  16. Great list, Anne! Many of those are on my top 10, too! I might add Love, Actually to the list–that was a fun one, too! And The Princess Bride, which has the added benefit of also making me laugh 🙂

    Oh, and yep, Ever After, which I believe stars Drew Barrymore 🙂

  17. annerainey11 Says:

    Fedora–Ah! I did see Ever After then. Drew Barrymore…it was sort of a cinderella type, right? 🙂

  18. I like About a Boy…it’s not a traditional romance but it’s got a happy ending.

  19. annerainey11 Says:

    Anna–I looked that one up and it shows Hugh Grant. If he’s in it, then it must be a good one! 🙂

  20. That’s exactly it, Anne–it was cute!

  21. tennismom mary g Says:

    Hi Anne
    6 of those are my faves too. We could so watch TV together LOL.
    I also love:
    Ever After (I crush on Dougray Scott)
    You’ve Got Mail
    Nine Months
    Notting Hill
    Bride & Prejudice (I crush on Martin Henderson)

    • annerainey11 Says:

      We definitely could!! And there’s that “Notting Hill” again. I NEED to watch that one! 🙂

  22. I love the film Always (1989) with Richard Dreyfuss and Holly Hunter – I always cry when I watch this one. Richard isn’t a hunk by any means, but it is a story that for me has a real emotional depth rather than a focus on the external beauty of the characters.

    I also love Ghost – Patrick Swayze is a guy to die for IMHO!! I have loved him in whatever he did and the song – Unchained Melody – I loved that before it became a hit again!!

  23. Courtney S Says:

    I SOOOOO have to agree w/ Dirty Dancing & Pretty Woman being at the top of my list. Dirty Dancing started my life-long love affair w/ Patrick Swayze (not only was my young heart CONVINCED I was gonna grow up & marry him, but I actually wore a VHS tape out watching that movie so many times!). Also up there on my list would be the Miss Congeniality movies, The Big Easy (Dennis Quaid w/ a cajun accent…ENOUGH SAID!), Say Anything, Breakfast Club, Pretty in Pink, Benny & Joon, Edward Scissorhands (not a “traditional” romantic movie, but a sweet love story all the same).

  24. Lindsey Ekland Says:

    I love watching Enchanted with Amy Adams. Makes me laugh and it is sweet. Also the Princess Bride is a favorite romance. Also not a traditional romance but Push has a boy and a girl fall in love while running from the bad guys. By the way I am waiting for Tangled coming this fall Disney retells Rapunzel.

  25. My top ten

    Love Actually (*sigh* so romantic…and my husband looks like Coling Firth)
    Bridget Jone’s Diary (Mmmmm, Coling Firth…)
    While You Were Sleeping (Didn’t realise David Pullman could be so damn sexy)
    Notting Hill (The fairy-tale ending of a lifetime)
    Two Weeks Notice (Hugh Grant for the fourth time?? Hmm, maybe I have a thing for Hugh Grant too?)
    Four Weddings and a Funeral (the funeral breaks my heart and I pretty much am bawling of the rest of this film)
    The Holiday (who would have thought Jack Black could be sexy? Oh, wait, Jude Law’s in this film too *grin*)
    The Proposal (Ryan Reynolds naked. Do I need to say more?)
    Then She Found Me (Colin Firth. Again)
    Definitely, Maybe (Ryan Reynolds. Again)

    I love romantic movies. *sigh*

  26. Popping in late here but the first one that comes to mind is You’ve Got Mail. Its one of my favorites. I just adore the ending.

  27. annerainey11 Says:

    Brae–You’ve Got Mail has turned out to be quite a classic. 🙂

  28. The Notebook is so wonderful! I also love Sleepless in Seattle. Can’t think of any newer ones, although Letters to Juliet was kinda sweet.

  29. Seven Brides for Seven Brothers. I love Howard Keel.

    Ghost and Dirty Dancing come in close second and third.

  30. Yvonne R. Says:

    I love your list. I haven’t seen that version of Jane Eyre just the black & white version of it. Among my favorites are Lake House, PS I Love You and the Holiday. Absolutely awesome movies but I cried so much in PS I love you.

  31. Afshan N Says:

    Those are some great choices!! One of my all time favorites is EVER AFTER with Drew Barrymore you gotta love a cinderella story.
    ~Afshan

  32. elaing8 Says:

    I don’t watch a lot of movies.of your top ten I have only seen Pretty Woman. And love it.

    and thanks for more of the eye stimulating pics 🙂

  33. annerainey11 Says:

    Yvonne–I don’t think I’ve seen “P.S. I Love You”. I’ll have to rent that one. Thanks. 🙂

  34. Rhonda Wolf Says:

    I think everyone has already listed my favorites. Dirty Dancing, Ghost, Sweet Home Alabama, Pretty Woman, Lake House, and Practical Magic.

  35. Beth C. Says:

    Two of my faves that aren’t on you list are Moonstruck and While You Were Sleeping.

  36. Allison Says:

    Hey Anne your list has given me some new ones as well as sharing some of my favs. I still like You’ve got mail and Emma with Gwyneth Paltrow. Happy movie-watching!

  37. I forgot one of my favorites: “Sliding Doors,” with Gwyneth Paltrow and John Hannah. LOVE it.

  38. Amazonki…

    […]My Ten Favorite Romantic Movies! « International Heat[…]…

  39. No sweat weight loss…

    […]My Ten Favorite Romantic Movies! « International Heat[…]…

  40. English hollywood movies…

    […]My Ten Favorite Romantic Movies! « International Heat[…]…

  41. download…

    […]My Ten Favorite Romantic Movies! « International Heat[…]…

Leave a comment