Favorite winter foods (and drinks)

Ah, as much as I hate winter, so I love food. Passionately.

So while I can complain and moan about the cold until you want to smack me, one thing I can’t badmouth is winter food. Coz let’s face it, there’ s nothing quite like filling your tummy with warm, comforting, yummy food or drink on an icy day.

The problem with winter food, is the need to shove as much carbohydrate into my body as possible. Anyone else feel this way? Do you crave pasta and sauce, or breads and toast, or potatoes when you think you’ll never be warm again? I guess it’s my body’s way of saying it’s burning off too much energy trying to get warm. But if that were the case, then I wouldn’t pick up five kilos every winter, now would I? So I guess it must be my head convincing my body it’s not warm enough.

Hmmm, a conundrum.

Okay so my fave winter food or drink? Hands down, a good cuppa tea. No, I’m not talking about the herbal, healthy for you, tastes like water kind of tea. I’m talking about a good, strong mug of Ceylon tea. With a healthy dollop of milk.

Found this image on a page that tells you how to make the perfect cup of tea – something I bet you thought you already knew.

Next fave food? A hot bowl of thick soup.

Ok, I’m not proud to say this, but I am a godawful cook. One of the worst. I can make all of two things:

1) The best damn cheesecake in Sydney

2) The best vegetable soup in Sydney

But…I confess – I cheat. See at the supermarkets in winter, in the fresh veg section, you can find bags of ready diced vegetables. Carrots, celery, potatoes and onions. If these bags did not exist, I would not make soup. I’m not one to spend hours laboring over food, peeling and slicing and chopping veggies . So ripping open a few bags of ready cut veg? PERFECT! Add a few extra carrots, a sweet potato (yam), salt, pepper, the right vegetable stock and some water, and boom, four hours later (yep, I cook that soup for a long time!) you too could have the best soup in Sydney.

Found this piccie and a yummy looking recipe for soup over at Exclusively Food.

And here’s my one last favorite thing to warm my belly on a cold winter’s day. Chai latte. (Not to be mistaken for Chai tea. Nope. You need the steamed milk for this one!) I’d never heard of this drink before I came to Australia, but when I tried it that first time…mm, mmm, mmmm. Heaven.

It’s warm, it’s comforting, it’s delicious. Like getting a huge cuddly hug – from the inside.

Go on. Admit it. You’re dying for a hot drink now.

😉

Jess

5 Responses to “Favorite winter foods (and drinks)”

  1. Ummm, Jess…what would my excuse be for wanting to eat all that bread, pasta and potato during the summer? I want these foods all year round! LOL 😄 And I wish my mom would like those frozen, already cut and diced veggies more so I don’t have spend time cutting, slicing and dicing *sigh*

    • LOL, Phuong, I hear you. I crave those foods in summer too. And ice cream!

      As for the diced veggies – the ones we get here are FRESH! Your mom would totally approve.

  2. […] Read the original post: Favorite winter foods (and drinks) | International Heat […]

  3. Wow! I’m ridiculously hung…starving now LOL

Leave a Reply

