Favorite Summer Foods

Summer on Long Island usually means lots of barbeques. Hot dogs, hamburgers, cole slaw, potato salad… All the standard barbeque fare in the Northeast of the United States. The food tastes even better when you’re down by one of the many beaches we have here. The ocean facing beaches are a little bigger and nicer than the ones that face the Long Island Sound, but they’re all nice, really.

I live sort of in the middle of the Island. It’s about a twenty minute drive either way to the sound or the ocean, so I have my choice. Or I can just stay home in my lovely green (overgrown) garden. I’m not a big fan of heat when it comes to weather, so on really hot days, it’s a lot better for me to stay in, set the ceiling fan to high and get a tall glass of water with a bunch of ice cubes in it. If it gets really hot, I put on the air conditioner, but I hate the noise, so I use it somewhat sparingly unless it’s in the upper 80’s, or above.

One great way to beat the heat is to make your own fruit pops. I used to love to buy the different ice pops they sell in the stores, but they don’t always have the best ingredients. Lots of sugar. Lots of unpronounceable things in them. And it’s pretty easy to make your own, healthy pops or ices.

Italian ices are basically sugar, water and a little flavoring frozen in a cup. A fruit ice, which is what I call my little creations can contain any fruit you have on hand. Simply throw a bunch of fruit in a blender. I like to use honeydew melon, grapes, berries and a little orange juice. Puree, then pour it into small Dixie cups and put them in the freezer.

If you want to make them into pops, put a stick in the middle before freezing and pop them out later, by dipping the cup into warm water for a few moments before popping them out. But if you don’t have sticks, you can just eat it with a spoon from the cup after it’s frozen, just like an Italian ice – only healthier. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

