Joely Sue Burkhart!

The Scorching Summer Celebration continues. Today, Joely Sue Burkhart is here to talk about her June 11 release, Her Grace’s Stable.

Thank you so much for allowing me to crash the Intl Heat blog, Mari!

Are you ready for a Scorching Summer?  On June 11th some smokin’ RED HOT Samhain reads will be released from authors Mari Carr, Erin Nicholas, Harper Fox and Shelli Stevens, and I’m honored to have my book, Her Grace’s Stable, included in such a fantastic lineup!

What a mix it is, too, offering contemporary to historical M/M to what I call “A Jane Austen Space Opera.”  Her Grace’s Stable is a crazy fun mix of steampunk/SF, femdom, MMF ménage, and yes, pony play.

Now don’t be alarmed if pony play isn’t quite your thing.  I was scared to death when Arthur showed up and showed me all the things he wanted…needed…to explore.  The deeper I went into his fantasy, the hotter it got.  He’s not into humiliation play at all, but is in search of a loving, healing relationship.  He can only find his way back to humanity by freeing his secret need and embracing his darkest side.

Luckily, Violet, the Black Duchess of the Queen’s Light Dragoons, knows exactly how to unbridle that wild stallion.

Get your copy of Her Grace’s Stable at Samhain, Amazon, or Barnes and Noble.

We’re giving away some incredible prizes including a $50 gift certificate as well as individual gifts like my Jane Austen Royal Mail stamp set, so be sure to stop by Mari’sShelli’s, Erin’s, and Harper’s blogs to enter often!

Excerpt:

“He’s magnificent, Your Grace. Huge, powerful, a beast of flesh, and so damned defiant. Proud. Even with what they’d done to him, he was still fighting, still determined to break free. He’d have killed them all.”

Her heart quickened desperately. Cole had expressed interest in bringing a man into their relationship, but they hadn’t found the right man to suit them. Then she’d been forced to free him. A rough, wild stallion would certainly appeal to them both. Greatly.

The last thing I need in this condition is a challenge. “Let me see him, then. But if he’s that far gone, Cole, I don’t know what I can do for him.”

“You can help him. I know it.” Cole cracked open the door. “Shh, now, big fella. It’s me, your friend Cole, remember? I’ve brought some help. Nobody’s going to hurt you. I give you my word.”

Violet held herself very still, waiting for her eyes to adjust to the darkened interior of the stall. Straw rustled and something thumped against the wood again. A low growl came from the opposite corner, a raw animal sound of pain and hatred.

Cole turned up the lantern.

Dottie gasped. “Dear Lord, a man! I thought…” Her words stumbled into silence, as though her brain couldn’t even comprehend what she saw.

Even for Violet, the scene was bad. The poor man had been whipped and beaten so often that his body was a mass of bruises and welts. Even crouched in the corner, he was huge. His broad shoulders and heavily muscled arms looked like they belonged to a blacksmith. Still growling that low, vicious warning, he rose to his full height and her gaze went up and up. He had to be nearly seven feet tall. A veritable giant.

“The way your man was talking, I thought they’d trapped a bear or something. A man. God, Violet, what kind of person does this to a living, thinking human being?”

Me. Violet swallowed hard but she didn’t dare turn her gaze away for a single moment. Any sign of weakness or hesitation from her now, and he’d be gone. He’d be on her so quickly that Cole wouldn’t have a chance to unsheathe his lazor before the man snapped her neck like a twig.

“It’s all right now,” Cole soothed, his voice the singsong chant he often used on frightened horses. “She’s the mistress I told you about. She’s come to help you.”

a Rafflecopter giveaway

2 Responses to “Joely Sue Burkhart!”

  1. elaing8 Says:

    This sounds good.Thanks for sharing the excerpt.

  2. Can’t wait to read this one. I confess I am a Jocelyn Sue junkie…cannot stay away from her books. I still reread her Shanhasson books and lose myself in her worlds..

Leave a Reply

