Forgot How to Write Sex

Those who were at the 2013 RT convention probably had to, at some point, listen to me talk about the non-Lila book I’ve been writing. I was supposed to have it done before the conference, but that didn’t happen. In fact, Mari Carr and Lexxie Couper both took one look at what I had left in my outline and grimly informed me that I had weeks of writing left (and damn it they’re right).

Tonight I was working on the book’s one and only sex scene, and I had no idea how to write it. I’ve never written sex for a non-erotic book before and I was totally stumped. How descriptive should it be? What words would these characters use to describe body parts, positions and sex events?

While describing my writers block to my Farm Boy he got that helpful look he gets when I say I have writers block. As he headed towards me I had to throw a pillow at him and yell “Stop!”

When he looked at me like I was nuts I had to explain that these characters are more than a little damaged, the fact that they’re having sex is both awesome and weird, and just generally it’s not the same as when other characters get their freak on. His brand of help, though usually appreciated, in this case would lead to me needing therapy.

-Lila

Leave a Reply

