The Countdown to RT Begins…

…With ME!

Hee hee hee.

So how am I going to get us all ready for the Romantic Times Reader Convention in Kansas City? I’m going to share with you all everything I’ve discovered about the fair city from now until I take off Sunday. Ready?

1/ John B. Stetson of St. Joseph, Mo., invented the cowboy hat in 1865. The original hat, called “the Boss of the Plains,” featured a high crown and wide brim.

tumblr_metx83SUoQ1rwsdnto1_500

We’re all looking at his hat, right?

2/ KC has more fountains than any city except Rome. (OK, everyone knows that.)

a.baa-Fountain-Fail

This fountain is NOT in Kansas City, but man, I wish it was.

3/ The Kansas City Barbecue Society reports that KC has more barbecue restaurants per capita than any other city in the nation.

retro-bbq-bacon

 

I tried to find a sexy nekkid cowboy at a BBQ and found this instead. Which is both disturbing and stimulating to look at.

4/ KC ignored Prohibition during the 1920s, leading to an abundance of jazz clubs, brothels and gambling halls. This earned KC the moniker “The Paris of the Plains” after one journalist wrote “If you want to see some sin, forget Paris and head to Kansas City.”

a.aaa

I Googled “Sexy Guy Drinking Beer” and got this picture. So I used it, because Google told me this is a sexy guy drinking beer.

5/ KC is home to the largest maker of boxed chocolates in the world. Based here since 1932, Russell Stover Candies still hand dips more than 25 million pieces of chocolate each year.

man-eating-chocolate-sexy-hot-35314147029_largeWho wants chocolate?

So, my education about Kansas City has begun. Tomorrow…more sexy half naked guys….err, I mean, more info and facts about Kansas City.

Hee hee hee.

 

 

3 Responses to “The Countdown to RT Begins…”

  1. michelleboone Says:

    Hiya Lexxie. Can’t wait to read what you find about KC. As a side note I live in St. Joseph home of the Stetson Hat and where the Pony Express started. I bet I’ll learn from your investigations 😉

  2. Hey Lexxie! I’d rather have the guy instead of the chocolate LOL 🙂 Can’t wait to see what more you find out…looks like we’re gonna have lots of fun in KC.

  3. I live in St Joseph and work on Kansas City and sure wish that fountain was in Kansas Ctiy on my way to work. Would make going a whole lot more fun.

Leave a Reply

