Diving In The Deep End

Although this title may seem weird when talking promo and conferences, it’s actually quite apt. Because when I head off on conference, this is kind of how I feel – as though I’m diving in the deep end.

Yep, conferences are crazy fun, and I always leave having had a ball. I’m always inspired to write and I’m grinning from ear to ear because I’ve hung out with awesome people.

However, the truth is, conferences scare the bejeepers out of me. The idea ofย  walking into a room full of people, most of whom I don’t know, intimidates me no end. All I can think is: ACK! How do I ever become part of that? Suddenly every conversation skill I ever learned vanishes. Even a simple hello seems beyond me. It’s like I’ve dived into the deep end of the swimming pool and I have no idea how to swim.

It takes me a while to find my feet, and even longer to find my smile, which is why I ask only two things of you when you see me standing in the corner, a grimace on my face, my eyes wild with terror:

1) Please, please, please, don’t think I’m being rude. (I’m not I swear)

2) Please, please, please, come over and say hi. Or give me a hug. Or tell me a joke. (I will be forever grateful).

You could also just ply me with alcohol or chocolate. Soon as I have either in my stomach, NOTHING intimidates me. (Altho you may then have difficulty shutting me up. You’ve been warned.)

Now, on a different note altogether, in my last blog I promised to show you the cool promo stuff I’d ordered for RT.

The first item is the best promo item I have ever gotten. Two authors had them made up for RWAus last year, and I confess to having taken one for each member of my family. It’s a cloth to clean iPad or iPhone screens. You can use it for computers or any smart phone or tablet.

I’m having two cloths made up, one for me and Lexxie Couper, and one for the Down Under Divas.

These are the pics that you’ll see on the cloths:

Cloth 1

DarkEmbrace300posterCCflatten more than series 6x6

Cloth 2
DUD MF cloth

The other item I ordered is a very practical item, yet quite naughty.

It’s a keyring, which rather subtly holds a… wait for it…

condom.

๐Ÿ˜‰

I only ordered a few of these, so if you want one, please, make sure to come to the International Heat fun workshop,ย Erotic Romance Mad Lib Madness on Wednesday the 3rd of May.

Jess

10 Responses to “Diving In The Deep End”

  1. Those look fun!!! And WTF is Wednesday the day everything is happening?! I have my panel that day and the Cover model Karaoke! I really hope that neither are at the same time as yours! I will be very upset. I also must get these promo items from you!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    KittyKelly

  2. Those look great! I want one, but sadly I won’t be at a conference ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
    I’ll catch you one of these days!!

  3. ha, need a key ring for Stephanie… but not going to RT, Cool cloths, very handy dandy.
    Z

  4. Yay! I had already signed up for Madlib Madness before I even knew about your naughty promo ๐Ÿ™‚ I would not miss spending time with you.

Leave a Reply

