Skinny dipping in the shallow end.

You might wonder what the post title has to do with our topic of conversation this week. Well, along with pulling out my hair when deciding what to get for promo at conferences there’s that whole dreaded and anticipated part of conference to deal with. Signing.

Let’s face it, most authors would happily NEVER come out from behind their computers. I’m one of them. For me, sitting out there at my table surrounded by hundreds of people is the most terrifying part of conference. Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE meeting new people, readers especially, but there’s just something frightening about sitting there on your own waiting (praying) for someone to stop by and talk to you, ask about your books or perhaps even BUY one of your books.

It’s nail biting and if it wasn’t for the fact that I love to talk about what I love (romance books) I’d probably pretend to be sick and stay in my room. It’s a good thing I’m not a nervous pee-er. 🙂 So yeah, the blog title fits because I can’t think of anything more terrifying than attending a signing, not even skinny dipping in the shallow end.

I usually try not to think about it too much and use some distraction like getting to hang out with the wonderful authors I get to sit next to. I’ve met some amazing authors over the years as well as some amazing readers. It’s probably what keeps me coming back year after year to face my fear. Actually I KNOW that’s the reason I keep coming back. 🙂 Nothing better that talking to people who understand your passion.

So next time you’re at an author signing, whether it be a huge event like the E-expo at the Romantic Times convention or a single author signing at your local book store, spare a thought for the person sitting on the other side of that table holding onto the pen. We’re really just like you.

Rhian Cahill

www.rhiancahill.com

2 Responses to “Skinny dipping in the shallow end.”

  1. I try to smile at the authors I am going past and sometimes I stop if I like a cover. Usually there is just not enough time to get to my favorites that I brought books for to sign it’s hard to stop and meet new authors.
    Z

  2. I’m not introverted, and actually LOVE to work our company booth, at conferences/conventions. However, our products do not invoke the personal, visceral reactions, that books do. So, we typically do not have fans stopping by, just other folks who do what we do, or are in supporting business.

    One of the main reasons I like social media, is how we (readers) are able to connect with our favorite authors, through a relatively nonthreatening medium. I “met” JL, one of my absolute favorite authors, whose work I’ve been reading for about 8 years, through Facebook. While we have not become BFFs, she and I discovered we went to the same University, both pledges sororities, live in the same area of the country and really bonded over the past year’s political campaign. We’ve made a future coffee date to meet, and I told her I was planning to bring a couple of her books, to be autographed.

    I don’t think I would’ve approached her at a convention, because of the large numbers of people. But, slowly building a relationship online, seemed less intrusive, I guess. I love hearing that the writers we love are “real” people, too!

Leave a Reply

