Meet Sami Lee’s Heroines

Today I interviewed Sami, and got to know a little bit more about her heroines. Who they are, what drives them, and what she considers important in a romantic heroine…

1) Okay, Sami, let’s start with a tricky little question… Is there a little bit of you in every one of your heroines? Do you base them on real people?

I’ve never actually based a heroine on a real person, but I think yes, there’s a little bit of me in every heroine I write.

2) How do you stop your heroines from being too perfect (ie, how do you make your heroines real people your readers can relate to?)

I’ve never written a ‘perfect’ heroine. In fact I think any book featuring such a creature would be pretty boring, because it’s often the mistakes people make that create dramatic tension. So I let my heroines make the same mistakes and misjudgments most people make. The same kind I’ve made many a time myself :). See above: there’s some of me in every heroine–the flaws!

3) Can a heroine really be TSTL?

I don’t think any author intends to create a TSTL heroine, but one writer’s quirky character is another’s idiot :). So yes there are books out there that I’ve wanted to throw against a wall because of the heroine’s ridiculous behavior. But like most things in writing, it’s subjective. I think it’s important to let the characters speak to you (yes that sounds hokey 🙂 ), that way they will behave true to character. And if you’ve tried your best to make believable, smart characters, then their actions will ring true and show intelligence. Well, that’s what I try to do 🙂

4) Who is your all time favorite heroine in a romance written by someone else?

Some might argue it’s not a romance, but I can’t go past Scarlett O’Hara from Gone with the Wind. I know, she was so damned unlikable, and even (gasp!) TSTL at times. But she was tough and she was interesting, the only truly strong woman in fiction from that era, that I know of. Scarlett was never boring and she was never a pushover, and I’ve always admired how she survived in such a tough time.

5) Who is your all time favorite heroine in a romance written by you.

I loved Lana Green from Sunset Knight. She seemed the most real to me, a slightly geeky shy type who tended to fade into the background. I loved watching her confidence grow along with her love for her hero, Brody, so that by the end of the book there was a dynamic woman who’d loved and lost and learned to love again.

I love this snippet which shows Lana’s awkwardness in the face of Brody’s fledgling attempts to flirt with her. She’s had a crush on him for ages, and can’t quite believe he’s finally noticing her–but she doesn’t swoon right away, standing up for herself a little too. Is it any wonder she’s my favorite?

Brody started laughing before they were halfway to her mode of transportation. Lana pursed her lips. He wasn’t the first to tease her about the scooter. “You never asked how many cc’s it was.”
“Do they use cc’s for that thing or amps?”
“Very funny. Men always think size matters.”
Brody’s laughter petered out but the amusement still tinged his voice. “Sometimes it does.”
The innuendo was unmistakable, and Lana felt herself flush. She supposed he was used to women well practiced in sexual banter, but she was nowhere near capable of it, not with him. “It’s not very nice of you to tease me.”
She could sense the surprise in his eyes as he slanted her a look. “Sor-ry. But it is a girlie bike.”
Hardly able to tell him that wasn’t the teasing she was referring to, Lana said, “I am a girl. Anyway, I like it. It gets me where I want to go.” It sure beat the rust heap of a Toyota sedan that had finally died on her a few months ago, she thought, giving her blue Yamaha Bee Wee an admiring glance.
Lana pulled the band from her hair and shook out her ponytail before slipping the open-face helmet on and straddling the bike. She glanced up and found Brody’s eyes trained on her, his expression hinting at a fascination she would never have thought herself capable of engendering in any man, let alone this one. Lana told herself to breathe. Breathe in, breathe out.
“I like your new look.” His gaze roamed over her face slowly, at last connecting with hers. “It’s a shame to hide eyes like that behind a pair of specs.”
Nervous excitement gave way to anger, which sharpened to a hard, flinty point of hurt inside her. “You can’t go around looking at women like that if you don’t mean it—at least not at me. I’m not good at casual flirting, and I don’t appreciate being made fun of.”
He reared back as though her words had zapped him like electricity. “You think I’m making fun of you?”
“My eyes are brown, Brody. You’re not interested in me, so please don’t act like you are. It’s cruel.”
His brows scrunched as he stared at her. Lana had time to dimly sense that he was holding his breath, to realize she was holding hers, before his head dipped. His lips settled on hers and her pulse stilled, her body remaining motionless as his mouth mobilized, began to explore.
Heart fluttering, Lana tightened her grip on the scooter’s handlebars. She wasn’t game to reach out and touch him, to move even a millimeter, lest any action on her part break the spell. The moment she’d long ago given up dreaming about was actually happening. Brody Nash was kissing her.

______________

To find out more about Lana (and her hero, Brody), you can purchase Sunset Knight here.

But please, don’t limit yourself to just Lana. Sami writes brilliant heroines. Heroines you and I can totally relate to. Heroines you or I could BE.

Check out all her Samhain heroines here.

Jess

One Response to “Meet Sami Lee’s Heroines”

  1. Who couldn’t love Scarlet and well as hate her.
    Z

Leave a Reply

