Sami Grills Jess Dee

I’ve known Jess since we were both starting out with Samhain Publishing back in 2007. There were a few emails, then we met at an RWA conference in Sydney that same year. There have been a steady stream of messages going back and forth and ideas brainstormed since then. We wrote our first menage stories at the same time (Jess loves to shock people by calling me her menage partner lol). The content of those particular brainstorming emails would shock anyone’s grandma.

The story Jess wrote at that time was called A Question of Trust and it was included in the Three’s Company Anthology. I QuestionTrust72webwas thrilled to see in 2012 that those anthology authors had gotten together again to write the Two to Tango Series. If you haven’t already picked up a copy of A Touch of Confidence, do yourself a favor and do so now. Jess had carved out a reputation for writing hot emotional stuff and she never disappoints!

 So without further ado, I’m going to grill Jess on writing.

1) When did the writing bug first bite you?

When I was 21. I’d finished my Social Work degree, travelled for six months and had six free months before studying again. It was the perfect opportunity to do what I’d always dreamed about: Write my first book.

So I did. And man, it sucked. Big time.

2) What is the writing achievement you are most proud of?

I’d have to say getting published. I pinch myself every time I get an acceptance letter from an editor, because I still cannot quite believe I’m a published author.

And leading on from that, I’d have to include Photo Opportunity as one of my biggest achievements. I’m still gobsmacked that I wrote a book that was publishable in the first place.

3) What’s your favorite food to eat while at your computer? (or are you good and refrain from doing that???)

Okay, that’s a trick question, right? Asking me to pick a favorite.

When I sit in front of my computer I eat and drink the WHOLE day. Anything and everything I can get my hands on.

4) Do you listen to music while you write? If so, what kind?

I love listening to music when I’m writing. Love it. And I love even more when I get so absorbed in my writing that I stop

Hmm, Adam Levine. I love a cheeky boy.

Hmm, Adam Levine. I love a cheeky boy.

hearing the music, and then the playlist comes to an end, and I can’t remember hearing all the songs.

I have a long playlist on Spotify that I always listen to. It’s a whole selection of songs, from The Script to Rascal Flatts to Fun. Cold Play, Ed Sheeran and yes, I confess, One Direction also play a major part of the playlist. But for the current series I’m writing, “More Than” I’d have to say Maroon 5 is the band of choice. I cannot hear “Daylight” enough.

5) What are your writing goals for 2013?

Hmm, let’s see. Finish writing the More Than series. I’m thinking there might be five books in total, and I’ve only written two. 

Finally get my ass into gear and write the third book in the Speed series. 

And maybe start a whole new series… Anyone have any ideas for me?

Pfft. I think you’re doing all right thinking of ideas yourself, Ms. Dee!

Sami

9 Responses to “Sami Grills Jess Dee”

  1. I love the pic of Adam!!! lol

  2. Jess knows I love her 🙂 but I think I love her humility and work ethic even more. Why in the hell are you still surprised at peeps wanting more of your work?!!!! LOL WE NEED MORE!!! 😀

  3. Fab interview Sami!!!! and thanks for the picture of Adam *fanning myself*

    Jess – great stuff. You are a wonderful writer, you do steamy and romantic so well 🙂

    Love the phrase “menage partners” – brilliant!!!!!

  4. I just reread Three’s Company and enjoyed reading A Question of Trust. Of course I love all my Jess Dee stories.
    Z

Leave a Reply

