Writing Plans for 2013

I already covered a little of this in my post on Sunday concerning resolutions, but I can go into a little more detail today. I told you on Sunday that I resolved to write more paranormal romance and at least one more sci fi/space opera romance in my Arcana series. But now I can tell you about the actual dates that are already set and those that I’m aiming for…

Many of you probably know that Samhain Publishing has been re-releasing all my Dragon Knights novels since last August. The final re-release is this month, with Dragon Storm, which comes out on 1/29.

Dragon Storm is the only one of the Dragon Knights books that brings our medieval-ish dragon shapeshifters into our world for about half the book. I enjoyed putting them on an airplane and introducing them to technology they’d never seen in their world. It made for some lighthearted moments in among all the serious dragon business. As a result, it’s one of my favorites!

If you want to pre-order the new version of this book, you can get it from Amazon. Oddly enough, this particular book required a little more revising than some of the others in this series. If you have the old version, you might notice some changes between the two. Nothing major. The main plot is still the same. But there are a few things my editor required me to change in this new edit that might be more noticable to fans of the series. 😉

After this, the final re-release, we FINALLY get a NEW Dragon Knights book! Yay!!! I can’t tell you how long I’ve waited for this. I finished writing this book early last year and it seems like it’s been forever waiting for this release. Here’s the scoop: on 2/26, Keeper of the Flame will be released. Here’s a little bit about it:

A warrior, a maiden… and a passion that could set the whole world aflame.

Dragon Knights, Book 7

Despite the fact he is the largest of his half-dragon brothers and better suited to fighting, Hugh has been sent on an undercover mission. Forced to stay in human form, he must discover if the land of Helios is truly the Draconian ally it pretends, or something more sinister.

When he witnesses injustice in the form of a misshapen baby gryphlet kicked out into the cold, he cannot remain in the shadows and watch the child suffer. All he can hope for is that his act of kindness will go unnoticed so his mission can continue.

But someone does notice. When Lera cautiously approaches Hugh, she is drawn to his strange, foreign magic. She is entranced by its irresistible allure — until assassins come calling and reveal her true identity.

She is Valeria, queen of Helios, Keeper of the Flame. And she has been betrayed. Together they must risk everything to uncover the traitors and reforge the alliance between their lands. Yet beneath their blazing passion, both are still keeping secrets. Secrets that the Sacred Flame will reveal — if their love survives its cleansing fire.

Warning: When a dragon prince and a Flame Keeper come together, the conflagration is definitely too hot to handle!

You can pre-order it now from Amazon, B&N or Samhain.

So that’s January and February. For the rest of the year, the dates from Samhain Publishing are as follows (tentative – could be subject to change):

7/2/13 – The Dragon Healer (NEW Dragon Knights novella)

8/20/13 – Master at Arms (NEW Dragon Knights novella)

12/10/13 – Wolf Quest (NEW Brotherhood of Blood novel)

Now, in between all of that – all of those books have been written and half of them are finished with the editing process already. So I only have a couple of edits to do and can spend the rest of my time working on other projects.

Those other projects will be mostly paranormal romances. I do have plans to write at least one more sci fi/space opera romance too – King of Stars – which I mentioned above. Not sure when, exactly, but I hope to have my current project, Slade, out in March.

Slade will be the direct follow-up to Rocky. We met Slade briefly in Rocky’s story. He’s a very mysterious cat shifter with lots of secrets. He’s an ex-soldier and investigator sent out to help the Cougar Clan after their matriarch is murdered. That’s all I can tell you for now. The story is in its infancy and I have a lot more work to do on it before it’ll be ready for human consumption. Like I said, I hope to have it ready for release in March. Wish me luck! 🙂

2 Responses to “Writing Plans for 2013”

  1. Looking forward to your new releases but when does Harry’s book come out?

    • No word on Harry yet, sorry. My publisher wanted me to focus on other things for the past year or so. I hope to get back to Harry soon. Thanks for asking! -B.

Leave a Reply

