Happy New Year!

Tales of the Were: RockyNot sure if anyone has mentioned this, but we’re going to try something new on the IH blog for the New Year… we’re sharing weeks as blogmoms. This week, J.R. Patrick and myself are your hosts to a non-stop investigation of New Years-related thoughts, ideas and general stuff.

Today and tomorrow, we’ll be looking at New Years Resolutions a little. In and around the daily topic, we’ll probably also talk a bit about our books and whatever other miscellaneous thoughts enter our heads.

I’m already making a good start on my resolution to get more books out. Tales of the Were: Rocky came out on December 23rd and has been rocketing up the charts ever since, much to my amazed delight! It’s also part of my resolution to write more paranormal romance.

Rocky is a novella that picks up on a supporting character from one of my early books, Lords of the Were. Rocco Garibaldi is a weregrizzly who comes to the rescue of a woman he’s loved since they were both teenagers, growing up together in Montana. She married his best friend and he left town for his own peace of mind. She arrives on his doorstep years later, pregnant and grieving for her murdered husband. Oh yeah, and the killer is on her trail.

Rocky helps her with the babies, the killer who is pursuing them and with the grief they both feel. Together, they forge new bonds and find a way to move forward, creating a family out of the wreckage. If you haven’t picked up your copy yet, you can buy it from Amazon, B&N, Smashwords and other fine etailers.

Then on 1/1, The Mammoth Book of Futuristic Romance came out, which contains a story of mine called End of the Line. You can get the story either as part of the anthology or as a standalone ebook. Not sure how to count that release-wise… maybe count it as 1 and a half releases? So that’s something like 2.5 releases around the New Year, which puts me on the scoreboard toward my resolution to get more books out!

End of the Line is related to my Arcana novellas, King of Swords, King of Cups and King of Clubs. It’s a short story, but it’s already one of my favorite little tales. Here’s a little bit about it:

Enemy Captain Val downs a female fighter pilot out near the Galactic Rim. Her name is Lisbet and she’s about to rock his world.

Their attraction is mutual and explosive. She can’t resist him, but she hates being a prisoner. Lisbet doesn’t know a lot about his culture and it’s clear he doesn’t understand humans.

It’ll be fun educating him about just how fierce… and loving, a human woman can be.

It’s available in print in the Mammoth anthology or in ebook in both the anthology and as the 99-cent standalone that goes by the name of the story. You can get either from Amazon, B&N and other fine retailers.

I had resolved to write more paranormals, but I also want to write at least one more novella in the Arcana series this year and figure out how to put them all into print. The last of the Arcana books will be called King of Stars and I already have a cover for it and everything! Now I just have to write it. 😉

Isn’t the cover yummy? It’s another stunner from IH member Valerie Tibbs, who also did the covers of Rocky and End of the Line for me. Kudos to Valerie!!!

As far as personal resolutions go for this year, there are the usual: eating right, losing weight, getting in shape, etc. But I also need to see a few more doctors. I hate that, but it’s necessary. I ended up in the ER the day after Christmas and though I don’t think it’s anything life-threatening, I probably need some further tests to figure out what exactly caused the symptoms and how to treat them. 😦 Not looking forward to it, but I resolve to take better care of my health. I think that’s a resolution we all should make for ourselves, don’t you?

I think I’ll do okay with my resolutions because last year, I actually stuck to mine! For the first time in years, I made strong progress on my New Years promises to myself and I couldn’t be prouder. Last year, I had two main resolutions: 1) to find a new primary care doctor, & 2) to start the process of getting Invisaligns so my teeth could be straightened. Well, I got the new doctor, whom I like. And I also did extensive work with both a dentist and orthodontist to prepare for the year-long treatments that I started in late December. By this time next year, I hope to have a new, prettier smile!

It may have taken me most of the year, but I kept my resolutions last year. I hope I can do the same this year! And I wish you all the best of luck with yours. Just for kicks… why don’t you leave me a comment on this post telling me your resolutions – or even just one of them – for this year and how you plan to attack it. I’ll pick a random comment to win a FREE copy of End of the Line in their choice of ebook format.

Comment away! And good luck on your resolutions!!! 🙂

Bianca

Come over to The D’Arc Side… www.biancadarc.com

17 Responses to “Happy New Year!”

  1. My resolutions are mundane and common. I want to lose weight, get more exercise and be more fit, AND get organized. I would love win a copy of your book.

  2. my resolution is common lose weight, get healthy, tackle my tbr pile. I am starting slowly by added two days of exercise a week and adding as many veggies and fruit as i can to my diel. I plan on starting weigh watcher to help me out. I also am taking one book at least one book out of my tbr pile per week.

  3. susan lamb Says:

    no resolutions i gave up never keep them so don’t bother making them.

  4. Mary Preston Says:

    I generally don’t make resolutions. I just break them. I’m more for setting goals along the way.

  5. Tamara Hoffa Says:

    I don’t make New Years resolutions, I make daily and weekly goals. This week I am trying to look at the positive side in life

  6. I don’t really do resolutions but I promised my family I would take better care of myself. I started that 4th qtr last year and will keep working on it since it’s a process rather than a quick fix.

    I’m also working on simplifying my life. I have too much stuff that I don’t really need but have trouble letting go of. It wouldn’t be so bad but I need room for the 13,000 books which I am NOT willing to get rid of, lol. Thank heavens for ebooks since that 2500+ doesn’t add any bulk to my TBR piles 🙂

  7. gigi staub Says:

    Okay, my only resolution is to not make a resolution because I am sooo not good at sticking with them 😉
    gigi

  8. My resolution for 2013 is to lose weight, get fit to avoid diabetes because it runs strongly in my family. I already have a gym membership and want to keep going every week.

  9. I try less for resolutions and more for strategies! Now that I have a 9 year and 7 year old who are getting more into extra curriculars, I am trying to streamline life so that I can better support them while being a working mom without making myself crazy in the process. Starting tomorrow we have basketball Mondays and Thursdays with games Saturday and Sunday, along with Daisy Scouts every Wednesday. I’m striving to be a little more Fly Lady in my life because the little things add up. I’ve started laying their clothes out at night, prepping lunches before I go to bed and putting the whole lunchbox in the fridge, etc. Seems insignificant but it’s much less of a strain on me so far. Also, my husband and I have decided that no matter how crazy the schedule gets, we need to make time for a monthly date night, even if it’s just us hitting our favorite coffee house. We need time to remember and celebrate why we fell in love in the first place and that we still love each other. I was a woman and wife before I was a mom and I need to make hubby a priority more often.

  10. Hmmm, New Years resolutions… I’m going to say that my goals for this year are to get healthier and lose some weight. I’m in the worst shape of my life and I’d like to change that.

  11. Every year I seem to set what I call the standard resolutions, lose weight, eat right, etc. But this year I decided my resolution is to make this year about me. I want to finish my degree (that happens in July 2013) and get back into the workforce (that is a bit harder). While I’m not the size I want to be, I’m healthy and satisfied with they way things are going. My husband and I will be celebrating our 20th Anniversary the end of January in Vegas (which is where I wanted to go) with friends from all over, so I’d say my year is off to a good start. HAPPY NEW YEAR EVERYONE!

  12. Rocky sounds great. My goal is to get organized and to walk more.

  13. A couple of my goals are to get healthier (eat better, exercise more, lose weight) and to make a dent in my TBR pile (I have already been working pretty good on this). But they aren’t really resolutions as opposed to goals 🙂

    Congrats on the recent releases and good luck with those to come and your other resolutions 🙂

  14. Terry Scarangella Says:

    Every year I make a resolution to try and lose weight and it never happens, so this year I want to read more. I love reading and why shouldn’t I do more of what I love.

  15. No resolution for me this year, but I would like to be healthier. Good luck with yours. lisagk(at)yahoo

  16. I plan on being healthier (eat better, try to get any exercise once or twice a week, get more rest/sleep, don’t sweat the small stuff) and learning to be happier (find something to be thankful about everyday, spend more time with family and friends, enjoy the moment).
    ivegotmail8889(at)yahoo(dot)com

  17. I’m hopeless at keeping to a New Year’s resolution..so I’ll stick to what I’m good at and just keep reading more books.
    I absolutely love the Arcana series and I’m so glad you decided to continue with it!
    Wishing all the success you deserve. Keep writing Girl!!

Leave a Reply

