It’s the End of the World as We Know It, and I Feel…

…like celebrating. Couper style. With a fellow Cooper. Hee hee hee. yep, the awesome Karina Cooper is here in the International Heat House to help us celebrate the end of the world. If you don’t know who Karina Cooper is, you’re seriousy missing out. Insane. Funny. Naughty. Talented. Four words that immediately spring to mind when I think about Karina. She writes dark and sexy paranormal romance, steampunk urban fantasy, and writes across multiple genres with mad glee.

Now, onto the Cooper/Couper End of the World Bucket List. Ready?

End of the World Shenanigans

It’s the end of the world with Lexxie, and you know there’s nothing but trouble when she’s involved. Am I right?

It’s come on us so suddenly. Do you remember those questions back in the day? People always asking, “What do you want to be doing when the year 2000 hits?”

The correct answer, obviously, was driving around in our flying cars, but since that didn’t happen, we’ll have to console ourselves with an end of the world bucket list.

What’s that phrase all the hip young kids are shouting these days before they do something incredibly stupid? YOLO. You only live once, right? Unless you believe in reincarnation, in which case, better luck next time! (Harder to shout BLNT, though.. bilnt? Blent? Beelent? Whatever…)

So in the spirit of beelent, let’s celebrate the end of the world with one blazing hell of a party!

Surf’s up, Brah!

I always wanted to learn how to surf. I’ve also never, ever been to a beach party, despite growing up around various beaches. You know what this means?

You. Me. Waves. Booze.

I have zero athletic capability, my hand-eye-coordination is so bad, I can’t even figure out a stick-shift in a car, but I will be waxing down a board and out there on the waves with the best of them! Er… unlike the best of them, I’ll be ass-over-tea-kettle in the water, but that’s fun, too, right?

We’re talking torches, bonfire, good food, music, drinks, and company that doesn’t mind looking like total idiots as we crash-land on the tides! I’d say take pictures, but pfft, who cares? We aren’t surviving this one, so all you behind-the-cameras wallflowers, come out and play!

And if I get eaten by a shark, well, at least I won’t be around to watch the world go topsy-turvy.

Plus, then I can check “eaten by a shark” off my list.

Light ‘Em Up!

You know those commercials that show entire landscapes being lit up by tealights, Christmas lights, lanterns, whatever? I totally want to do that. I want to light up every inch of a coastline, get thousands of people together with lights, fires, flashlights, whatever, and then get up in a hot air balloon and see it from above.

If we can’t get to the stars, then we should make stars on the ground.

I’d bring the mancandy, and we’d snuggle up in the balloon with all of the other balloonists dotting the sky around us, and it’d be super romantic and very, very cold.

Then we’d jump out! (Because admit it, married folks, sometimes you really, really want to jump…)

Bonus: I can check out “ride in a hot air balloon” and “skydiving” off my list!

We’re All Mad Here

Biggest. Tea party. Ever.

You’re invited. Your friends are invited. I’d invite Neil Gaiman, Amanda Palmer, and all their fans. Chuck Wendig, Stephen Blackmoore, Kevin Hearne, Delilah S. Dawson, Cherie Priest, and all their fans. I’d invite whole cities, every world leader. Celebrities, too, but only the chill ones.

It would be the most epic tea party. I’d make it “fancy hat required” and see who came with what. I’d have open mic and lots of finger sandwiches (made with real fingers! … well, maybe) and everyone would have to bring a book to swap with someone else.

And, you guessed it, that’d check “tea with Neil Gaiman/Chuck Wendig” and “fancy hat party” off my list!

I’m so practical that way.

One Last Book

It’d be a good thing that the world would be ending, because there’s no way any of you would let me live another day without writing the sequel to December 26ths release of Gilded.

In the follow-up to Tarnished, we get to visit with our intrepid collector heroine, Cherry St. Croix, and see what she’s up to. It’s a lot of the usual—murder, mystery, mayhem—but wait! We can’t just let her have the same old, can we?

Gilded forces some decision-making on the determined Society miss. The Mayans may not have called this one, but with clandestine killers on the loose and Cherry up to her blackened hair in debt, this is one unfortunate series of events that could end the world as she knows it.

Gilded mm cGilded: the St. Croix Chronicles

In the gleaming heights of Victorian London, a world of deception awaits an unconventional Society lady whose taste for adventure makes her a most formidable adversary…

Though Society demands that I make a good marriage, I, Cherry St. Croix, have neither the time nor the interest. I am on the trail of a murder with no victim, a mystery with no motive, and the key to an alchemical formula that could be my family’s legacy. Yet the world is not so kind as to let me pursue simple murder and uncomplicated bounties. Above the foggy drift, an earl insists on my attention, while my friends watch my increasingly desperate attempts to remain my own woman.

 

From the silken demands of the Midnight Menagerie—to whose dangerously seductive ringmaster I owe a debt—to the rigorous pressures of the peerage, all are conspiring to place before me a choice that will forever change my life.

About the Author

After writing happily ever afters for all of her friends in school, Karina Cooper eventually grew up (sort of), went to work in the real world (kind of), where she decided that making stuff up was way more fun (true!). She writes dark and sexy paranormal romance, steampunk urban fantasy, and scribbles across multiple genres with mad glee. One part glamour, one part dork and all imagination, Karina is also a gamer, an airship captain’s wife, and a steampunk fashionista. She lives in the beautiful Pacific Northwest with a husband, a menagerie, a severe coffee habit, and a passel of adopted gamer geeks.

On the Web

Website: http://www.karinacooper.com

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/karinacooper

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/authorkarinacooper

Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/teatimeiniquity

 

Now, what’s on Lexxie’s End of the World Bucket List, I wonder?

Get Drunk

You know that stereoptype of Aussies being able to handle their alcohol? Me? I’m not one of them. One drink and I tend to get happy straight away. So as boring as it sounds, if the world is ending in…how many days, Lila? Eight days, I want to be drunk for one of ’em. I’ve never been drunk. Ever. Happy, yes. Giggling, you betcha. But drunk? Nope. Never. If I’m going to be drunk, I think I’d like to do it on the very last day so I don’t have to suffer the hang over the next day. Yeah, even up to the end I’m a wuss for self-inflicted misery.

Get My Husband a Ferrari

Note I say get. Even as the end of the world approaches, I would not have enough money to BUY a Ferrari, but I reckon I could do a pretty good job of procuring him one. I know for a fact there’s a red one in the garage of a house not five minutes from where I live. I’d get my husband that Ferrari and let him pretend he was Magnum P.I for a day. He’s got the moustache to go with it (okay, there’s also a beard attached but hey, I reckon I could convince him to shave off the beard so he could pretend he was Magnum, right?) And while I was “getting” my husband a Ferrari, I’d “get” my girls a pony each. Once again, I know of some pretty impressive racing horses not far from my home. A Ferrari and two gallopers would be perfect to kill a few hours as the final hours tick down. We could race each other. Then I’d teach the girls how to drive in the Ferrari while my husband pretended he was the Old Spice guy on the back of one of the horses. Look at me. Now look away. Back to me again…

Send Colin Firth a Message

I desperately desire Colin Firth. I think it would be wrong for the world to end without Mr. Firth knowing how many of my heroes he’s influence. I’d send him a lovingly written message about his amazing talent as an actor and include with it the scene from Copping a Feel where the hero brings the heroine to a climax under a poster of Colin Firth as Mr. Darcy. That’s pretty classy, right?

Let My Girls Eat What They Want

For a day. Only a day, mind you. Ask my girls what’s the one thing I’m the fun police about and it’s food. My eldest daughter (Peanut. 8yrs) had major allergies to artificial ingrediants and additives when she was younger. That meant anything with a number in it (especially the 200s and 100s) were a no-no. Consequently, my girls don’t get to indulge often on the kinds of foods most kids love to indulge in: lollies, Maccas, lollipops, fairy floss, lemonade. I’d walk them into a supermarket and let them pick whatever they wanted. Whatever they wanted. Mind you, even as I’m writing this my toes are curling at the thought. Hmmm, may have to rethink this one.

How many days does the world have left, Lila? Eight? Jesus, wonder if it’s too late to start a diet?

CONTEST!

Today’s Contest

Prize: An amazing prize pack that includes a packet of Tim Tams (because what better way to celebrate the world NOT ending than with Tim Tams), two ebooks from Lexxie’s backlist and an ebook from Karina’s backlist of the winner’s choice.

It’s easy to go into the draw for today’s prize (after all, I know you are all stressed about the End of the World so I thought I’d make it easy on you).

Tell me here in the comments which famous person you’d send a message to and why. Easy. One lucky person will win today’s prize. See? Told you it would be easy 🙂

Grand Prize Contest

Prize: $100 Gift Card

Grand prize winners will be drawn on December 22nd, 2012. To enter you can like us on facebook, follow on twitter, tweet, and comment! You can tweet and comment once a day for the duration of the contest. In order to enter click the party logo below, or enter on Facbook. Good luck!

End of the World Grand Prize Contest Entry Form

As a side note, my own end-of-the-world apocalypse book, Death, the Vamp and his Brother is getting a rebirth. Retitled Dark Destiny: Death, the Vamp and his Brother, it will be re-releasing on March 19th from Samhain and is the first book in the Principatus series. The second, Dark Embrace follows in April. So the world better not bloody end because damn, I worked bloody hard on these books *grin*
DarkDestiny72lg DarkEmbrace72lg

32 Responses to “It’s the End of the World as We Know It, and I Feel…”

  1. Bruce Willis would be my choice. He’s not only age appropriate for me, but I think he would be fun!

  2. I would send a message to each of my favorite authors & tell them what their books have meant to me.

  3. Mary Preston Says:

    I would send a message to Hugh Jackman telling him that just thinking about him makes me happy. His very existence pleases me.

  4. Love today! Like a bucket list on steroids. I’d send a letter to Channing Tatum and ask him to take dancing. So sexy and such a fantastic dancer. After watching Magic Mike, I wouldn’t mind a strip tease, too!

  5. I’d send a message to Jensen Eckles from the show Supernatural to tell him he and his character of Dean sets twitter afire daily on twitter LOL

  6. Love the end of the world bucket list. I better get a move on if I am to get any of mine done! I would love to send a message to Daniel Craig. Just one day is all I would want.
    Mel
    bournmelissa at hotmail dot com

  7. Do you know I can’t think of a single famous person that I need to send a message to. I think part of that is I don’t watch much TV and a seldom watch a movie. I’d much rather read a book. Unfortunately, you can’t send a message to a fictional character.

  8. I would send a message to Jason Isaacs. He plays Lucius Malfoy in Harry Potter plus the villain in The Patriot. I would tell him even though he plays a fantastic villain the camera still shows off his hotness. lol

  9. Not too many ‘famous’ people I’m wanting to connect to, but there is one…Nathan Fillion. Nuff said!!!

  10. I would write a message to my favorite series authors, and ask them what did they have planned for my favorite characters HEA.
    Thanks,
    tl.etheridge31(at)gmail(dot)com

  11. I loved all the lists. This was fun. I don’t know who I would reach out to. Maybe Alexander Skarsgard. That guy is all kinds of lickable sexy. 🙂

    KittyKelly

  12. I’d send a message to Shemar Moore…he’s so gorgeous and too sweet.

  13. I think I would have to agree with Crissy and send a message (or preferably myself) to Shemar Moore….he is HAWT!

  14. I would like to send a message to Matthew McCaughney. I love all of his movies. He is one of my favorite actors.

  15. Dawna Newman Says:

    I would love to send a message to Bon Jovi (the whole band) and tell them just how much their music has helped me over the years and they are still rockin’ hot today :).

  16. I’d send one to Bette Davis because she really had personality and strength. Mainly to talk about courage.

  17. I’m not sure who to pick. I love Shemar Moore. From when he was on Y&R to now on criminal Minds.He’s such an awesome guy and super hot and I’d send a message to tell him that 🙂
    Great post today.

  18. I send a message to Mr Clay Matthews from the Green Bay Packers. I think he deserves to know how much I lust after his incredible body and want nothing more than to spend my last days on Earth stroking that glorious hair…among other things 😉 😉

  19. Loved today’s lists!! I most likely would send an email to a fe authors to find out the endings of some of my favorite series!!

  20. I would contact Anderson Cooper and finally call him “my boo!”

  21. itmfiddler Says:

    Honestly, there’s not really any famous person that I would want to send a message to except perhaps a few politicians I would like to say ‘wtf’ to. LOL

  22. I’d send a message to Betty White because she’s funny and I’d like to see how she’d respond.

  23. I’m pretty shy but I guess if I were going to send a message to someone, hmm. Ryan Reynolds just because he is hot! 🙂

  24. Rhonda Wolf Says:

    I guess I’d send a message to Tim McGraw since he’s my favorite.

  25. I’m just e-mailing all you International Heat authors 😉 You all rock my world, you know 😀 Hmm… maybe I ought to do that anyway…

  26. I send a message to Damon Salvatore in Vampire Diaries to let him know that sometimes bad-boy vamps do get the girl:)

  27. Orlando Bloom because I love a man with long blond hair and elf ears. Or in his Will Turner clothes. Or out of clothes. *blushes* He is so sexy it makes me blush.

  28. chelsea vohland Says:

    Hmmmmmm…thats a tough one. Definitely charlie hunnam. I love some sons of anarchy and it would be fun to see how he differs from his character in real life.

  29. I would send a message to each of my favorite authors & tell them what their books have meant to me.

  30. Mine? If she were alive, id send one to Jane Austen. I adore her books and i love the movies theyve made on her. Shes an amazing author. Love her!

  31. I would send a message to Hugh Jackman telling him that just thinking about him makes me happy. His very existence pleases me.

  32. morgan freeman just to tell him I love his movies, Colin Farrell cause he is sexy and he makes me smile.

Leave a Reply

