Dreams

We all have them, right?  Whether it’s the ones that happen when you sleep or the ones you try to achieve while you’re awake.

My dream when I was a little girl was to be a nurse.  Well, that’s what my dad always told me.  I have no recollection of this.  I always remembered that I wanted to be a stewardess (yes, that’s not the PC term now, but it was when I was a kid).  As I got older, and talked to people, I realized that flight attendants (as they are now called) were really waitresses – not that there’s anything wrong with that – but that really wasn’t the path I wanted to take.

I wanted to travel.  See the world.  My life changed drastically at 10 years old, when my mother sent me to live with my dad.  We lived in Virginia, he happened to be living in Sicily at the time.  I spoke no other language than English, so it was certainly an adventure.

Through the years I was able to travel a lot, either because of my job, or because of my location in the world.  That’s when I realized that I wanted to be an interpreter for the U.N.  Live in NYC and just have a fabulous life. One of the benefits of living and going to school in Europe is that I did get to learn several languages.  The UN seemed like the perfect plan.

Well, that never happened.  Life happened instead.  Time in the military, marriage, having a child, moving, and all the other things that happen in life.

Now I’ve found that I have a new dream.  Definitely not one I had expected or intended as a child.

What are your dreams?  Did yours come true?  Is it time for a new dream?

 

One Response to “Dreams”

  1. I always wanted to be a history teacher and travel to see where the history was made. I did finish my degree in history and I did travel but I’ve never been a history teacher and a lot of time the travel was not for fun. Still, I’m not dead yet and I may be a teacher one day but my dreams of travel are alive and well. Now to just win the lottery so I can afford to go to the numerous places I want to go!

Leave a Reply

