Dragons, Covers & Weres, Oh My!

The easiest part of being an author is the writing itself. Never thought I’d say that, but it’s really true. Some of you may know that all my dragon novels are being re-released. It started with MAIDEN FLIGHT in late August and BORDER LAIR last month, and will continue with THE ICE DRAGON on October 30th, then PRINCE OF SPIES in late November. The end of December will bring the reissue of FIREDRAKE and the end of January will see DRAGON STORM re-released. This is all leading up to the new book, KEEPER OF THE FLAME, which will be released at the end of February 2013.

Plus, there will be two new short stories released next year as well. The first one is already written and we’re editing it now. It’s called THE DRAGON HEALER and it tells the story of Silla, the healer who lives at the Border Lair and how she came to be there. I haven’t written the second short story yet, but I suppose I’ll be getting to that in a couple of weeks.

The reason I mention all of this is that every one of these books, except the new ones of course, all got new covers. That means a lot of work updating and replacing/changing covers on my website, my blog, my facebook pages… just about everywhere I have a graphic presence now needs updating. I know I’m never going to find them all, but I’ve at least made a start on my website. I updated the “splash” page for the series this week and am slowly updating each of the individual book pages. Here’s a peek at the splash page, in case you’re not sure what I’m talking about:

When I first was published in 2006, MAIDEN FLIGHT was my first book. I’d written lots and lots of stuff before that book, but that was the first one to be published and therefore holds a special place in my heart. But way back then I had no idea how much promotion and behind the scenes stuff was involved in writing. I also had no idea that my knowledge of HTML and graphics would come in so handy – some might say vital – to aiding my writing career. In the years since, I’ve had my eyes opened as I realized just how much non-writing goes into a writing career.

I’m in the process of planning out next year’s World Domination Strategy and IH’s own Valerie Tibbs figures greatly into my plans. [Insert evil laugh here.] She’s already shown me some of her ideas for an amazing cover that will be used for the next were book, which I hope to have out sometime this month. It’s Rocky’s story. Rocky is the weregrizzly we first met in LORDS OF THE WERE and I’ve had his story on the back burner for a long, long time. It’s about time he got his day in the sun, don’t you think?

So I’ve got a lot of non-writing work cut out for me and to top it all off, I caught the “con crud” at RAW this past weekend and have been really sick for a couple of days. (I slept all day yesterday, which is why there was no post from me. Sorry!) I’m on the mend, but still feeling pretty awful. Yich. Conventions are great, but you get so run down from not sleeping and the stress of it all that a lot of the time you come home just in time to get sick. That’s no fun at all. 😦

Still, the con was great and yesterday, I got to listen to (I won’t say “watch” because my eyes were shut and I was mostly dozing) a full day of Ancient Aliens on the History Channel. Love it!

Leave a Reply

