Welcome to October!

Just a quick note to say “Hello from Bianca!” Yes, it’s my week to entertain and inform here on the blog. I’m getting off to a bit of a late start because I’ve spent the last five days at Lora Leigh’s annual Reader Appreciation Weekend, held in Pittsburgh this year. While there, I got to hang out with my dear friends Jayne Rylon and Mari Carr, plus a whole bunch of other great people. It was a blast!

I’m not the best photographer in the world – meaning, I usually forget to take pics at all! – but I did manage to document some rather shocking behavior by the Joyfully Reviewed bunny. On Wednesday, I will post my exposee on his grievous lapses of judgment and how Mari Carr led him down the road to ruin. 😉

Meanwhile, I’d like to inform you all that I saw Autumn arrive on my way home. Here it is:

When I drove to Pittsburg from Long Island last Thursday, the trees were all mostly green and the weather was warm. On my way home yesterday and today (I stopped in the middle overnight), the trees at the higher elevations were VIBRANT oranges, reds, golds and yellows with only a bit of green. The closer to sea level we got, the greener things remained, but Autumn is definitely on the way and this pic shot out of my moving car on my iPhone really doesn’t do justice to the colors I saw with my own eyes. It was gorgeous!!!

Now I’m home and I discovered to my horror that my freezer door was ajar all weekend. Ack! And I’m going around turning off all the ceiling fans that were set to go on automatically when I turned lights on. I’m even wearing a sweater! A sure sign my favorite time of year is on the way.

And I bought a pumpkin on the way home. For the first time since my mother took ill in September of 2009, I’m going to have a pumpkin for Halloween. Slowly but surely, I’m coming out of my grief over her passing. In the old days, I’d probably be in “half-mourning” wearing grays and purples instead of black. And since purple is one of my favorite colors… well… I’m sort of doing that anyway. LOL.

But this weekend’s conference really made me realize how far I’ve come in the almost-three-years since all hell broke loose in my life. I’m writing again. I’m enjoying things again and I was even looking forward to a road trip for the first time in years. When I got there, I had a few moments of bittersweet nostalgia, but a lot more moments of serious fun, which included more drinking that I’ve done since… well… a long, long time.

I realized I have some really good friends who stuck with me while I wasn’t much fun to be around and I love them for that. I still have my bad moments, of course, but I’m getting better every day and this weekend was a successful one for me in many, many subtle ways.

Wow. Didn’t mean to get so serious there. Sorry.

Don’t forget to stay tuned for the shocking photo exposee of the Joyfully Reviewed bunny on Wednesday! (Tomorrow is release day for two of our authors. Yay!)

Bianca D’Arc

Leave a Reply

