Dear Lila: My family is really traditional, but the girl I like is a free spirit, what do I do?

Dear Lila,

I recently got a job offer in L.A. I live in China, so it was a big risk coming all the way to California. The risk paid off, I love the job and the people I’m working with, and I met a great girl. She’s smart, beautiful and incredibly artistic. She’s full of life and colors in a way I’ve never seen before. We both need a little break from work, and I want to take her to China to show her where I’m from, but I don’t want her to meet my family. They’re very traditional, and I don’t think they’d approve of, or understand, her. Except for my sister, who I bet would love her. Is it safer to just go someplace else and not risk her meeting my family? Just staying home isn’t an option, because when we’re here we’re both too busy working to really spend time together, and if I don’t get to make love to her soon I’m going to lose it.

-Lusty but Leery

Dear Lusty,

Planning a romantic getaway to show the woman you’re dating your favorite spots in you hometown for the express purpose of getting laid is…a pretty good plan. I don’t see any reason why that shouldn’t work. That being said, there are plenty of romantic places you could go, where there would be no likelihood of running into your family, that would also get your laid.

One option would be to pick another sex-inducing spot, but I don’t think that’s going to help you. The fact that you want to show her your hometown means you’re already at least 70% in love with her. More than likely, sometime in the near future you’re going to be at a point in the relationship where you’ll need to introduce her to your family. I’m not saying that you have to introduce her on this trip, but you should start thinking about it. When introducing people who come from vastly different places both physically and mentally it’s best to have a well thought out plan. The last thing you want is for them to meet accidentally. That would probably be a shock to everyone involved. If you think your sister will like her I’d start there, and introduce them before anyone else, that way if things get hairy you have your sister in your and your girlfriend’s corner. But it won’t come to that, you have plenty of time to come up with a “meet the parents” plan!

Lila

You can find out what Tokaki does on October 9th, when Have Monster, Will Travel releases.

She’d always heard Hollywood was full of monsters. She didn’t know they meant actual monsters.

Monsters in Hollywood, Book 4

All of Hollywood is talking about Calypso Production’s new top-secret action movie, and Joanna is tapped to be the Production Designer. There’s just one big issue: the lead actors are monsters. Literally.

Bound by tradition and discipline, Tokaki’s clan of shapeshifers has maintained the old ways even as they’ve retreated from the human race. When members of another clan come up with a plan to expose and explain their hidden existence, he agrees to help. As the warrior who trains all others, he knows how to inflict both the maximum, and minimum, amount of damage. Because of this experience he’s asked to become something they call a “stunt coordinator”.

When Joanna and Tokaki meet it’s electric, and not just because Joanna watches him shift from a massive white tiger into a handsome, naked man. Tokaki is fascinated by the outside world, especially Joanna, who’s colorful in more ways than one. When he takes Joanna to a hidden temple deep in the Chinese mountains, neither expects she’ll be risking her very life. In order to save the woman he loves, Tokaki must turn to his family for help, risking the secrets his clan has kept for a millennium.

 

 

2 Responses to “Dear Lila: My family is really traditional, but the girl I like is a free spirit, what do I do?”

  1. AWESOME! I loved this book!!! Great advice – keep up the fantastic work!

  2. This sounds really good – can’t wait for it to release!

Leave a Reply

