Dear Lila: The guy I’m falling for is a monster, should I end it now?

Dear Lila,

Not long ago, I met this great guy through work. I didn’t think there was any business future, but I was attracted to him, so I asked him out to dinner instead. He was so cute–one of those guys who seems a little unsure of himself, but in a sexy way. He made me laugh, and he wasn’t fake, which is really saying something in Hollywood. The night went well, really well, and I took him back to my place. The problem is that the next morning, well, he turned into a monster. Not a real monster of course, that would be…HOLY FUCK TERRIFYING…so, you know, a metaphorical monster. But he’s not always a monster, most of the time he’s that same great guy I had dinner with. On top of it all, it looks like we will be doing business together. Normally I’d end the personal relationship, but when I’m with him I feel calm, cared for…and the sex is OUT of CONTROL. I never thought I’d feel this way. Should I break it off for the sake of our business dealings? And do you think a relationship with someone who’s a monster some of the time is doomed?

-Blushing for the Beast

Dear Blushing,

First of all, what kind of monster? If you mean he’s hurting you, either emotionally or physically, then just let me know because I know plenty of romance heroines who are armed, dangerous, and Batman-like in their willingness to take the law into their own hands.

But I don’t think that’s what you mean, so let’s assume he’s monstrous in another way (wearing white socks with dress shoes or something). I think there are plenty of people who are able to maintain both business and personal relationships. The trick is making sure that you’re really interested in him, you’re going to be working side by side no matter what happens in the relationship.Besides, you work in Hollywood, and I’ve seen Entourage, the same rules that apply to the rest of the business world have nothing to do with SOP in Hollywood.

As for him being “monstrous” some of the time, I have to tell you that we’re all monstrous some of the time. My beloved Farm Boy, for example, jiggles his leg while he’s thinking. I’ve occasionally contemplated stapling his pant leg to the table so he can’t do it, it’s so annoying. However, I’ve been able to overlook this monstrousness, and I’m sure you can overlook what it is your guy does. I can’t imagine that a man as sweet as the one you describe is really that monstrous. And besides, if the sex is really that good you need to hold on to that man with two hands! 

Lila

So wrong, so very, very wrong. 

Read more about Lena and her monster Luke in Lights Camera…Monsters

Luke is desperate to save his people. A lifetime of sneaking in to human houses and watching movies has convinced him that if he can make a great movie about monsters, humanity will change its opinion of them. With his friends at his side, all in shiny new human bodies, Luke heads for Tinsel Town.

A rising Hollywood producer, all-business Lena knows a good story when she sees it. Luke? He’s just another amateur who wants to get famous. But Luke’s too gorgeous to pass up. And there’s something vulnerable about him that leads her to throw caution to the wind and invite him to dinner.

One night of incredible sex later, Lena wakes up next to the surprise of her life. She’s sleeping next to a monster. Literally.

Appearances aside, she finds herself wanting to help Luke save his people. But they’ve got more to worry about than just human prejudice.

Some of the monsters would rather stay in the closet—and to make them all stay there, they’re willing to kill.

2 Responses to “Dear Lila: The guy I’m falling for is a monster, should I end it now?”

  1. Awesome addition, Lila. Intense, I find myself wanting more.

Leave a Reply

