Dear Lila: I have feelings for the magical creature I enslaved to be my bodyguard

This week on the blog I’m going to try something new, that I hope will be fun. I’ve gotten into reading advice columns–they’re like emotional crack. You name it, I read it. I love Dan Savage, and reading his column helped me understand that each and every one of us is a closeted sex freak. Dear Prudence is fun when she tells people to get it together, and I never have any dang clue what Miss Manners is talking about.

All this gave me an idea for an advice column of my own.

Today I’m starting “Dear Lila”–an advice column for all those confused romance novel heroes and heroines. Here we go.

**May contain light spoilers, but nothing more than you would have guessed after reading the blurb**

Dear Lila,

I’ve done some things I’m not proud of in my life, but I won’t apologize for them–I’m doing what I have to do to survive. Recently things have escalated, and I took action to protect myself, but that meant I had to magically bind a centaur. It wasn’t an easy spell, and the centaur is understandably angry with me. The problem is that I don’t see him as just a bodyguard. I want him, I think I might even be falling in love with him. He’s saved me more times than I can count, and when he touches me…well I think the feelings might be mutual? The problem is, I can’t afford release him from the spell, if I did he could leave and I wouldn’t survive what’s after me on my own. Is there any way to know if his feelings are real while he has no choice but to help me? Am I foolish to think he has feelings for me?

-Witchy and Worried

Dear Witchy,

I think you need to get your priorities straight–survival comes before hot sex with a centaur. While this is good advice, I also know you won’t follow it. All that running around fighting acid spewing lizard-monsters can make even the most practical, uh…girl… crave some physical affection. You seem to know that what you did is wrong–magical enslavement isn’t good, no matter the reason. That being said, a super hot, sexy, centaur warrior is a solid choice.

His feelings for you are probably pretty complicated. You need to examine his actions, and ask yourself if everything he’s doing is because of the spell, or if he’s risking life and limb more than is called for.

The truth is that you’ll never know his feelings until you release him. Let him go, and hope that what’s between you is real, and that it’s enough to keep both of you alive.

-Lila

Luckily, I know she takes my advice.

Calling the Wild

Moira doesn’t know who’s hunting her, but she knows why. In her youth she unleashed a deadly force that killed everything within range—a strange power she has vowed never to use again.
Needing protection, she risks a bit of the old magic to call for backup. She gets more than she asks for. A lot more. A proud, sexually magnetic, enraged centaur who’s far from a quiet, obedient servant.

Kiron at first tries to intimidate the witch into freeing him, but she possesses more backbone than the average human. When she’s attacked again, he realizes she’s not a real witch. In fact, she’s not even human. And the sparks flying between them have nothing to do with the magical shackles that bind them together.

Curiosity grows to admiration, then to a love that in the end may not be enough to protect her. Moira’s enemies are closing in, intending to harness her power to restore a dark kingdom that has lain dormant for a thousand years.

There’s only one, heart-wrenching way out—give herself over to the full extent of her powers hoping that her true destiny lies with Kiron, and not in fulfilling a prophecy of death…

Read More about Moira and Kiron here

6 Responses to “Dear Lila: I have feelings for the magical creature I enslaved to be my bodyguard”

  1. Lol…fun post!

  2. j.r. patrick Says:

    This is awesome! lol

  3. You have a talent for advice Lila! Great post!!!

  4. Hilarious, Lila! And I quite enjoyed Calling the Wild–any chance of other stories set in that world?

  5. Reblogged this on Lila's Locale and commented:
    I’ve started my own advice column over on the International Heat blog.

  6. Lila, you are such a hoot! Calling the Wild is a perfect title.

Leave a Reply

