Second Chances

I guess it’s no secret that I love series. Love to read them and write them. Today, I thought I’d share a few deets about a new series I’m starting at Samhain in December called Second Chances. Yes, I know December is a long way away, but I’ve been doing edits on the first book, Fix You, this past week, I’ve seen a mockup of the cover (OMG–love) and well, I’m too excited about all of this to wait until December to talk about it!

There are six books planned for the series. In the first book, Fix You, you’ll meet six women who have been getting together for months. They live in the same townhouse complex. One of the ladies, Kristen jokingly calls it “Loser’s Lane.” Close friendships have developed between the women who are at different stages in their lives, but they are also all at a precipice. It’s the afternoon of New Year’s Eve and none of them have plans for the evening. They decide it’s time for a change in their lives. They all decide it’s time for a second chance.

Here’s the blurb to Fix You (releasing on Dec. 11):

What if love can’t heal all wounds?

 Second Chances, Book 1

After too many years of secretly loving her best friend, Zoey realizes she’s been shortchanging herself. It’s time to take action. This New Year’s Eve heralds the year she’s going to tell Rob the truth. Even if he is on the road, reaching for musical stardom with his band.

Her plan is derailed when she discovers a lump in her breast—and it’s not “nothing to worry about”. How can she ask Rob to take a chance on love when her future is so uncertain?

Rob has spent his entire life chasing his dream, but the moment he hears Zoey’s voice on the phone, he realizes he’s been running the wrong race. Zoey never sounds like she’s been crying. Ever. Without a second thought, he books a flight for home, determined to give her everything she needs. A shoulder to cry on, a hand to hold…and nights of intensely emotional, passionate sex.

His biggest challenge, though, is convincing his best friend that he’s in it for the long haul. Because he finally knows what he wants, and it’s not fame and fortune. It’s her—and her love.

Warning: This book runs the emotional gamut between scorching-hot passion and the pain and fear associated with cancer. Keep a box of tissues next to your glass of ice water.

Then the rest of the series will be as follows:

In Book two – Full Moon – Josie’s recently gotten out of a bad marriage. She got married right out of high school and her hubby cheated on her. She gets hurt, then she gets pissed off, then she goes wild. She decides to do all the things she’s always wanted to try sexually on the first night of each full moon. She calls it her time to howl. Twelve full moons, twelve adventures. First on the list is a one-night stand. Problem is she hooks up with a bartender, Jake, who decides he wants all her full moons…and Josie.

In Book three – Status Update – Laura is also newly divorced. She raised her kids, then realized she and her husband on 23 years had nothing in common. She longs to find the girl she used to be before she let her marriage and motherhood define her. When she meets up with an old boyfriend, Brian, from high school on Facebook, the old Laura slowly reemerges…

In Book four – The Back-up Plan – Kristen is a career-minded partner in a law firm. She has made a back-up plan with her colleague and friend, Jason, that if they’re not married by 40, they’ll marry each other. Unfortunately as time begins to slip by and she hasn’t found “the one”, she starts to realize she might have to institute…the plan.

In Book five – Never Been Kissed – Shelly has never been married or dated. For one things, she’s very shy. For another, she’s overweight and struggling with severely low self-esteem. When Zoey proposes they all take a second chance at life, Shelly starts losing weight and reinventing herself. She says she’s been the fat girl since fourth grade and she’s tired of trying to make herself invisible. As her figure shrinks, her confidence grows and she’d asked out by her kick-boxing instructor, Lance, AND the guy at the office, Christian, she’s always had a crush on. Suddenly the wallflower is the pursued.

In Book six – Third Time’s a Charm – Georgie Sanders owns local flower shop called Georgie’s Garden. She’s been engaged three times, but she’s broken up with them for various reasons that she’s now questioning. Georgie decides she can’t move forward until she goes back to find her three fiancés (Philip, Sam and Nick) to see if they’re worth a second look.

4 Responses to “Second Chances”

  1. WANT. NOW!!!!!

    These are going to be amazing 🙂

  2. Jacki C Says:

    I love a good series!

  3. You’ve hooked me, I will surely read each and every one. I especially will be curious to read book 5. How much will Shelly have to change before someone sees her value as a woman? Hopefully not too much. Looking forward to the new series.

  4. What a great premise for a series. I love series too, and this one sounds a little different than the usual. Book four is my fav, book 1, 2 and 3 also sound great. Bring on December!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: