Crafting

I just realized there’s NO theme to my posts this week. Oh well.

Crafting is my relaxing hobby. Writing used to be a relaxing hobby, but now I’m trying to see that more as a passion and a business.

At a certain point you can’t keep creating crafts for yourself. Your house will look insane. The first step is your family–you make them things. If they’re all crafty too there’s a low threshold for wanting crafty items.

Then you move on to your friends.

My two best girlfriends and I all got married within three months of each other, though I was a year ahead of them. For their anniversaries I made them coasters with the number 1 on them. I will probably forget to do these for their second anniversary, but oh well.

And when your friends start giving you a weird look because of all the crafty items there’s only one place left–work.

My day job–at a prestigious research center, which is very professional and fancy–is starting to look like a craft store.

Here are just a few of the things I made for all the desks.

20120604-115904.jpg

Luckily my workplace is 90% women, and when we’re frustrated we talk about how we’re going to open and etsy store and quit our jobs here.

 

3 Responses to “Crafting”

  1. I knit and crochet. My family is tired of scarves, hats, ponchos, afghans, and the kitchen towels with the crochet top on them. Oh well, the nursing home really appreciated the afghans and I now have great nephews and great nieces to inflict, I mean gift, my crafting efforts.

  2. LOL! You do beautiful work, Lila! I’ll bet you totally could parlay that into a less-evil-day-job 😉

  3. Very cute!! I love crafting. I do so many different things. I love to quilt, sew, cross stitch, decoupage, anything in the general crafing genre. My friends and family know that when I give a gift it is something that I have made. It has become something of a tradition. Even all my Christmas gifts are handmade. I love it!
    Mel

Leave a Reply

