Body, Mind and Spirit – or New Age Nonsense?

The second book in the Speed series releases soon. (Well, in two months.) Colors Of Love (the sequel to See You In my Dreams) is slightly different from my other books in that it touches on the whole New Age theme.  Or perhaps, as romance readers will perceive it, it has just the tiniest, teeniest hint of the paranormal.

You see, the heroine in Colors Of Love, Kaz Flaherty has a special gift. She can read people’s auras. And those auras tell her more about the people she meets than chatting to them for hours on end ever would. Now, I promise to give you a sneak peek at her talent tomorrow, when I showcase the book, but today I thought I’d touch on my New Age abilities – or lack thereof.

Years ago, when I was barely out of my teens and my father was diagnosed with a terminal illness, I was left in a quandary. I could not believe this was all there was to life. You’re born, you live and then you die. The end. So I struggled to find meaning in his illness and his pending death. I searched for it everywhere. I set up appointments with Rabbis so they could explain why such a terrible thing was happening to such a good person. And although one Rabbi gave me some pretty amazing insight, it just wasn’t enough.

So I looked elsewhere. I began reading up on life after death and reincarnation. I read as many books touching on those subjects as I could. I read the Celestine Prophecy – which at the time was exactly what my exploring mind needed – and was blown away by how much I got out of it. But then, regardless of all my research and searching, my father died, and that was that. He was gone, and he was never coming back.

A few years later, there was that pull again, tugging me back to finding meaning. My research into death and afterlife had led only to devising personal theories, not to anything solid. I wanted something more tangible. So I began to do courses in alternative healing. I started with an Indian Head And Shoulder Massage, and moved on to aroma therapy. I learned heaps about the use of touch for healing, and the use of different essential oils.

I took a course in Reiki, which blew my mind. I loved it so much, I did a second course, and even qualified as a Second Degree Reiki Practitioner. I also became interested in crystals, and used them while practicing Reiki. Now believe me, I know very little about these amazing gemstones, but I love them to bits, and I believe they have incredible healing properties. (Even as I type, I’m staring at the three crystals that live by my computer: An amethyst, a rose quartz and a carnelian. I couldn’t write without them.)

Then one day a friend phoned, and asked if I wanted to do a course on aura reading. My gut told me this was it. This was exactly what I needed to do. I knew, I just knew I was going to be brilliant at it. So, anticipation high and excitement racing through my veins, off we went.

And guess what?

I was bloody useless. No matter how things were explained or how much I tried to see those elusive colors shimmering around people, I simply could not. The closest I ever got was seeing a vague, colorless shadow around someone’s head. But that only happened if that someone was sitting in front of a white wall. Try it yourself. Focus hard on someone’s face. Then let your gaze relax, as if you’re still looking but not really seeing, and you’ll also notice that colorless shadow. But darn, I wanted to see those colors, and I couldn’t let it go. So again, I started researching. I read books, I found meanings of colors, and I searched again for auras. I never found them.

Years later I still try  – without any luck – to find those colors. And finally I decided…If I can’t see them, well then someone else will have to see them for me. And Kaz was born.

Now I know that if my hubby ever read Kaz’s story, he’d roll his eyes and call it psycho-babble mumbo-jumbo. (Er, that’s if he ever got over the shock of reading an m/m & m/m/f romance – but that’s completely beside the point.) Which leads me to wonder how the rest of the world will perceive it. Will they see it as a:

1) A contemporary, erotic romance with a hint of paranormal,

2) Psycho-babble mumbo-jumbo nonsense, or finally,

3) A wonderful, romantic love story featuring a heroine who has the ability to see things most of us can’t.

I’m looking forward to hearing what you think.

Remember to look out for the sneak peek right here tomorrow.

Jess

2 Responses to “Body, Mind and Spirit – or New Age Nonsense?”

  1. Jacki C Says:

    I, like your heroine, have the ability to see things most people can’t. I’ve seen spirits, ghosts for as long as I can remember. I look forward to this story. It sounds like 3) A wonderful romantic love story featuring a heroine who has the ability to see things most of us can’t. I am drawn to these kind of stories.

    Jacki

Leave a Reply

