Sneak Peek Week, Day 3

And the Foreign Affairs continues…

Misplaced Cowboy, book two, will release in August. After that, there will be two more books in the series called Misplaced Lessons (anyone up for a bit of BDSM) and Misplaced Hands (how do you feel about a menage with two alpha cowboys?).

What happens when an Aussie stockman finds himself lost in the middle of New York City after crossing wires with his American Princess? Lucky for Dylan Sullivan, he meets up with Monet, a beautiful, talented artist. Monet knows all about Dylan from her best friend, Annie. After all, he’s in New York to meet Annie. Problem is Annie’s in Australia looking for Dylan. So what is Monet supposed to do with the alpha cowboy? She’s never felt such an immediate overwhelming attraction to a man. These Foreign Affairs are about to get very sticky…and sweaty…and hot!

Sneak Peek (Misplaced Cowboy has not been edited yet so apologies for any typos and just a wee warning that what you read here may not be exactly the same in the final book):

Forty-five minutes later the doorman stormed over to him, squishy face set in a menacing glare. “Listen, buddy—”

Dylan stuck out his hand. “Dylan Sullivan.”

The doorman blinked. Jerked his glare—now a slightly confused glower—to Dylan’s extended hand, and then back up to Dylan’s face. “Err…Tommy. Tommy Taberknackle.”

Dylan gave Tommy a smile and a nod. “G’day, Tommy.”

The doorman blinked again, his hand slipping into Dylan’s.  “I…you shouldn’t be…that is, Ms Prince isn’t…”

A naked, entwined couple moving behind Tommy caught Dylan’s attention.

He frowned, watching the utterly erotic sculpture of a man and a woman making out jiggle across the footpath. Or rather, jiggling in the slim arms of someone he couldn’t quite see. The sculpture stopped on the side of the road. The arms joggled it some more, as a leather-clad and finely boned knee came up to balance it precariously before one of the slim arms waved about in the air. A husky female voice called out, “Taxi!” a fraction of a second before the utterly erotic sculpture tumbled sideways.

Dylan leapt forward. He snared the sculpture—bronze? Was it bronze?—just as it fell from the unseen, husky-voiced woman’s arms.

She spun to face him, a gasp escaping her full lips, black sunglasses hiding her eyes, and then let out a hiccupping laugh as Dylan held up the sculpture for her to see. “Don’t worry, love.” He gave her a lopsided grin. “I got it.”

Those full lips of hers curled into a smile. “Thank you,” she said, her accent subtle and—to Dylan’s ears—very very sexy. She reached out to take the sculpture back but he shook his head.

“It’s alright.” He repositioned the artwork in his arms, definitely bronze judging by its weight and surface temperature and smiled some more. “I’ll keep a hold of it until you get a taxi.”

“Thank you.”

He nodded. “Welcome.” Damn, she was pretty. Even with the sunglasses hiding her eyes he couldn’t help but notice. The kind of pretty that came with a finely structured face, thick black hair that fell about her shoulders in an unruly mass of waves and a turned-up nose just made for dropping a kiss on.

“Are you Australian?”

Dylan grinned. “The hat doesn’t give it away?”

She laughed, the sound warm and relaxed and thoroughly…stimulating. A tight heavy pressure pulled at his groin, making things down there a tad tight. “The hat may have helped. But I have to admit, it was mainly the accent.”

Dylan did his best to ignore the completely unexpected physical reaction to her laugh. “Bugger. I was hoping I’d blend right in around here.”

The woman’s lips twitched. Dylan got the distinct impression her sunglasses-hidden gaze was taking him in from head to toe. “I think,” she leaned forward, like she was sharing a secret, “the chance of you blending in anywhere is fairly remote.”

Dylan’s cock jerked. He swallowed, his grip on her sculpture tightening. His sleep-deprived brain told him she’d just paid him a compliment. His red-blooded male hormones told him just as quickly what to do about that compliment. His common sense however, told him he’d flown halfway around the world to meet with Annie Prince and whoever the woman with the sexy voice, kissable lips, gorgeous mane of hair and all-together too concealing sunglasses was, she sure as hell wasn’t Annie.

He swallowed again, unable to think of a single bloody thing to say.

Fair dinkum, Sullivan. How ‘bout ‘Do you know Annie Prince?’?

Before he could open his mouth, the woman before him said, “So, what’s an Australian cowboy doing in New…”

Her question stopped dead. She stood motionless for a split second, her lips parted, and then pushed those dark sunglasses of hers up onto the top of her head and stared at Dylan with eyes the color of a cloudless summer’s day. “You’re Australian.”

Dylan frowned and nodded. Hadn’t they already established that?

Her blue gaze roamed over him from the tip of his hat, to his boots and back up to his face. “You’re a cowboy.”

“Stockman,” he said. “We’re called stockmen back home. Or graziers. But yeah, I guess over here you’d call me a—”

“Cowboy,” the woman said, an almost breathless quality to her voice. “You’re an Australian cowboy, the Australian cowboy. Although I have to say, Annie was right. There’s nothing boyish about you at all.”

Something hard and hot smashed into Dylan’s chest. “Annie? You know Annie Prince?”

“You’re her Aussie cowboy,” the woman continued, as if Dylan hadn’t said a thing, her gaze taking him all in, her eyebrows knitting in a slight frown. “And you’re here. You’re here and she’s…” Her stare returned to Dylan’s face, her teeth—white and even and perfect—catching her bottom lip.

Dylan’s heart beat faster. “She’s what?”

The woman let out a shaky laugh. “Oh shit, you’re here and Annie is in Australia.”

Yesterday we talked about different countries we’d like to see. Today I thought we’d go more American. Dylan is in New York for the very first time. If you could travel anywhere in the US, where would you go and why?

25 Responses to “Sneak Peek Week, Day 3”

  1. Mary Preston Says:

    NEW YORK CITY tops my places to visit. I want to dive right in for about a week – sleep optional.

  2. I want to go to Wyoming. I loved Utah when I visited and I was told to go to Wyoming for mountains and no cities. I am so not a city person.

  3. I’d go to Colorado to the Rockies. I love the mountains. We’ve lived on both coasts and passed through Colorado on trips, but never stopped long enough to visit.

  4. I want to go to Niagra Falls. And ride along Route 66 on the back of a Hog. And attend a rodeo in Texas. Oh and visit New Orleans. 🙂

    • Niagra is awesome…..did that last summer. I went to my first rodeo last year too……in Houston, TX with the Lorelei James Gang. We rode several segments of Route 66 on the Harley several years ago. But, I still haven’t made it to New Orleans. Of the ones I have done, I can assure you that you will love them.

  5. Vanessa DeJesus Says:

    I would love to go to Great Britain. I grew up reading romance novels set in English ball room and the Scottish Highlands so I would love to be able to see those kinds of places.. plus it doesn’t hurt that I love history and Great Britain is full of history. 🙂

  6. wolphcall Says:

    I want to go to Tennessee. I love country music so Nashville would be a city I would love to see, but I’d also like to go see the Appalachian mountains.

  7. DISNEY!!!! What does that not count? Fine Florida where I will go to Disney and to the Harry Potter land too!! 🙂 lol

    KittyKelly

  8. Phuong Says:

    I would love to go back and visit New York again.

  9. Monique Ito Says:

    I have been to a lot of places. There are some places I have not been, I would love to see all the states I have not been too. If I have to pick one it would be Alaska. I would love to do one of the cruises that takes you through Alaska.

  10. Joanne B Says:

    I really want to go to Hawaii! Walks on the beach, hot guys, a couple of drinks. I’m there.

  11. Hi
    I would love to visit New York City someday, fun to see the city lights. But then again Hawaii looks fun also 🙂

    Thanks for the chance
    Pam

  12. flchen1 Says:

    I always kind of wanted to do an extended road trip around the US, and drag the kids to see all kinds of different sights, including stuff on the East Coast (DC, Massachusetts–all those historical sites!), stuff in the middle of the country, New Orleans, all the mountain ranges, the Grand Canyon… As DH pretty much detests traveling long distances by car, I think we can write off this possibility 😉

    • Monique Ito Says:

      That sound like fun. That is something that I would love to do too. I been to a couple of those places but I would love to take the kids and show them the historical sites.

  13. StacieD Says:

    I’ve always wanted to visit New Orleans or Savannah. I haven’t been to NYC yet and I think it should go on my list.

  14. elaing8 Says:

    I’d want to go to SC.That’s where a friends lives and I’d love to go visit her 🙂

    Thanks for sharing the excerpt.

  15. sandie2 Says:

    I’ve seen more that half of the states including Hawaii on vacation or business trips. But I’ve always wanted to see sunny Florida and all it’s ocean frontage.

    Sandie

  16. caitymack Says:

    I’ve never visited any of the southern states, and with all the talk about the upcoming conference in New Orleans, I would love to visit there some day.

  17. mathlady68 Says:

    Can I answer by saying that I would love to visit all of the National Parks? There are some amazing parks out there!

  18. I am a midwestern girl and haven’t traveled much out of the middle of the country. I would love to visit Niagra Falls and Hershey, Pennsylvania. Just sounds like lots of fun.
    Mel
    bournmelissa at hotmail dot com

  19. June M. Says:

    I have not traveled much at all. I would love to see all the states, and especially Alaska (during summer) and Hawaii.

  20. Jessica canoto Says:

    I would love to go to Texas I wanna go to a live rodeo and bar hopping eat their traditional foods and stay at a ranch

  21. Cheryl S. Says:

    New York City! It seems so exciting, plus I’d love to see all the 9/11 exhibits and memorials.

  22. Katherine Says:

    Hawaii. Le sigh. I dream about scuba diving and swimming and exploring the islands…

  23. I’ve never been to the east coast! I think I want to go there anywhere on east coast during the fall- I live california I want more seanal chance lol.

Leave a Reply

