Sneak Peek Week, Day 2

I’ve been working on a new series with Lexxie Couper (who is made of awesomeness) called Foreign Affairs. The first two books in the series, Misplaced Princess and Misplaced Cowboy are coming out this summer, then two more will follow in a few months. Misplaced Princess releases on June 20, so I thought I’d share a bit from that story today.

Foreign Affairs, Book One

Annie Prince has impetuously flown halfway ’round the world to visit a sexy cowboy she met online-only to find herself stranded in Sydney. Seems she and Dylan crossed wires, and he’s on his way to New York. His twin, Hunter, saves the day and whisks her back to the family cattle station. Hunter’s as easy on the eyes as Dylan, and even easier to talk to. Annie might have flown to Oz to meet one brother, but soon sparks are flying with the other.

Hunter considered Dylan a dumb arse for jetting off to America for some stranger-until he met Annie. Turns out the New Yorker is a smart, funny, hard-working jillaroo . . . and hotter than the Aussie desert. Hunter’s not normally one to poach his brother’s women, but he can’t keep his hands, lips, tongue and other body parts off this sexy city girl.

When raging lust leads to emotional attachment, where does that leave Annie and Hunter when her vacation comes to an end-or when Dylan finds out?

Sneak Peek:

Hunter ran his finger down the pretty blonde’s arm, enjoying the flirting and easy banter. He’d hit the bar after seeing his idiot brother off at his gate. They’d flown the station helicopter to Sydney, leaving so early this morning it had still been dark. Hunter had a couple of hours to kill while he waited for the flight mechanic to refuel the chopper and clear him for take off.

“So you live on a cattle station?” the blonde asked. He’d forgotten her name the second she’d said it. One of these days he was going to have to learn to pay attention to details like that.

“Yep. Farpoint Creek. My family’s owned it forever. Established it back in the 1800s.”

The woman feigned interest, but Hunter could see the disdain in her eyes. She was clearly a city girl and the idea of living out whoop whoop in the Outback was less than appealing to her. Lucky for both of them, he wasn’t considering taking this game of slap and tickle out of the airport.

She leaned closer, accidentally brushing the side of his arm with her breast. They’d started their flirting at different tables. Then he’d joined her. After a few minutes of sexual innuendoes, he’d given up his seat across the table and moved over to share her side of the booth.

“You know, I’m a member of the Qantas Club.”

“Is that right?” he asked.

“I was actually thinking of heading over there and freshening up before my flight. They have showers in the lounge.”

“Showers, eh? Bit bloody fancy.”

She dragged her hand along his leg, starting at his knee and working her way up. He liked a woman who knew what she wanted and wasn’t afraid to grab it. His dick twitched when her hand crept closer.

“Wish I had someone to wash my back,” she purred.

He started to offer his sudsy services, but something on the PA caught his attention. “What did she say?”

“What did who say?”

The PA announcement was repeated. Dylan Sullivan, please meet your party at the customer service desk located at terminal one.

What the hell? Dylan wasn’t here. At least, he bloody well shouldn’t be.

Hunter reluctantly pushed the woman away while silently cursing his brother. “Sorry, love, but I gotta go do something.” Dylan would pay dearly for costing him a shower with this beauty in the high flyer’s club. He retrieved his hat from the table and put it back on his head.

“You’re leaving?”

Hunter nodded regretfully. “Yeah. Afraid it can’t be helped.” He threw enough cash on the table to cover both of their drinks and a generous tip for the waitress. “Sorry.”

He walked toward terminal one, trying to figure out why Dylan wasn’t jetting away from Sydney, getting closer to making one of the dumbest mistakes of his life. He’d loaded his brother on a plane headed for New York over an hour ago.

Hunter had spent most of their morning trek to Sydney trying to convince Dylan that taking off halfway around the world to hook up with some broad he’d met on one of those stupid online dating services made him look pretty desperate.

He’d also pointed out that precious little could come of this trip, besides getting a piece of New York tail. Dylan lived and worked on Farpoint Creek cattle station. In Australia. Trying to hook up with some American chick wasn’t exactly practical.

Dylan, ever the romantic idiot, seemed to think Annie had the potential to be his soul mate. Jesus, his brother had actually used those words—soul mate—and was supposed to be headed to New York to prove that asinine fact.

Had Dylan missed his plane? Hunter couldn’t figure out how. They’d made it to the departure gate in plenty of time. And if so, why would he page himself rather than ask the customer service rep to page Hunter? Maybe Dylan had given his own name as well and the lady had fucked it up.

He glanced at the crowd standing around the service desk as he walked toward the terminal. He and Dylan weren’t lacking in the height department. If his dickhead brother was around, he sure as hell wasn’t standing up; he’d tower over these people. Add the fact he and Dylan hardly ever took off their bloody hats and Hunter should be able to spot him a mile away.

He started to get in line at the desk to ask who’d paged Dylan when a woman walked up to him.

“You’re here!” she said.

Hunter tried to place the woman’s face. She looked vaguely familiar. “I am?” His mother claimed he’d been cursed with a sarcastic streak as wide as Farpoint since the day he was born. While his mum found it annoying, Hunter had never found a good reason to curb that personality trait.

The pretty woman smiled. “I was starting to worry.”

Before he could tell her she had the wrong bloke and should go ahead and hang on to her anxiety, she took a step closer and threw her arms around him.

The hard-on Hunter had managed to batten down as he’d walked away from his potential shower partner reemerged when her firm breasts brushed against his chest. Bloody hell. Who knew the airport was such a great place to pick up women? He might have to fly to Sydney International more often.

Never one to pass up an opportunity, he accepted the embrace, loosely wrapping his arms around her back. The lovely lady was just the right height for him and had some sexy curves. He liked a woman with meat on her bones.

She pulled away slightly and he started to release her, but she kept her arms wrapped around him and upped the ante, kissing him.

It started as a sweet, friendly kiss, but Hunter wasn’t having any of that shit. She smelled and tasted too good. He grasped her soft face and held her close. He turned his head and deepened the kiss, pressing her lips open so he could get an even better taste. He was thrilled when her tongue met his halfway. Jesus. This chick could kiss.

Misplaced Princess is available for preorder on Amazon and Barnes and Noble.

And for today’s question (remember–leave a comment and have your name thrown in the hat to win an autographed book), if you could travel to another country, what country would it be and why?

33 Responses to “Sneak Peek Week, Day 2”

  1. Phuong Says:

    I’ve always wanted to travel to Paris because it’s supposed to be the city of love and being the avid romance reader I am, I figure that would be perfect.

  2. Angie M Says:

    My dream is to go to Italy, to visit all the museums & cultural sites. I want to visit Venice most of all. It’s beauty in pictures calls to me & I want to see it in person!

  3. I would like to travel to Canada. The Canadians I have met have been extraordinary people and the country has such diverse topography and weather that I think it would be an outstanding adventure to travel across the country from coast to coast.
    Please enter me in the drawing.

    Thanks,
    Donna
    donnafisk@bellsouth.net

  4. Mary Preston Says:

    I have not yet been to New Zealand & all my family rave, so I should probably visit Middle Earth first.

  5. I’m not sure where I want to go. I’d love to visit New Zealand but I’d also like to visit Ireland. Some day I’d like to return to Chile and Germany. Slovacia is on my short list too. Heck, I just like to travel.

  6. My husband’s family is from Germany and it’s our dream to one day go there and look up his distant family and enjoy the country. I really like the excerpt from Misplaced Princess. Can’t wait until it comes out!

  7. Jessica canoto Says:

    I would love to go to australia since we were little girls me and my cousin have talked about going it would be our ultimate dream maybe one day

  8. I’d like to go to Australia. I love to accent and have always wanted to visit there.

  9. Before RT this year I would have said Australia then I found out there are giant spiders and deadly snakes everywhere. So I’d say Ireland and Norway are top of the list now. I’m a mixture of both. The two whitest nations combined to make me. Lol

    KittyKelly

  10. I would love to visit Ireland and Scotland-my family’s roots are there and I’d love to explore.

  11. I cannot wait for these books! I actually am featuring the covers tomorrow on my blog. I’d love to visit New Zealand… smiles!

  12. I have been to lots of countries but not yet Australia which is my next dream vacation. I like reading stories set in Australia and your book sounds really interesting.

  13. wolphcall Says:

    I have always wanted to go to Australia. It’s been a dream destination of mine. If I was really lucky, I’d get to meet the Down Under Divas when I got there.

  14. Monique Ito Says:

    I would love to go to France’s. The reason is there is a Port there called La Rochelle. My maiden name is La Rochelle. The story goes when my family left France they went to Canada and change their name to La Rochelle that is where they were from. I would love to go there to see it.

  15. Hi
    I would love to visit Australia and New Zealand. I have always wanted to visit these two countries, I even wrote reports on them in school.

    Thanks for the chance.
    Pam

  16. Joanne B Says:

    I’d love to travel to Germany, Wales and Scotland to see where my ancestors are from.

  17. sandie2 Says:

    I’ve always wanted to go down under to Australia and see the kangaroes and everything else that would be so different on the other side of the world

  18. I would love to travel and explore England, Scotland, Europe. But I would also love to visit Australia. I had a foreign exchange friend in high school from Australia and loved his descriptions of it, and his accent, LOL.

  19. caitymack Says:

    Would love a family trip to Ireland. Great great’s on both sides were from there, and I would love to tour the countryside.

  20. Jacki C Says:

    The story sounds awesome!
    If I could travel, I would visit Germany for Oktoberfest!

  21. I love to travel and have been a lot of places but I’d love to visit the middle east – not right now of course but there are so many beautiful place there and the food! A more likely place for me to visit soon would be England I will be there mostly next year 🙂

  22. elaing8 Says:

    I can’t wait to read this series.Loved the excerpt.
    I’ve always wanted to go to Australia.See the animals and go to the outback.

  23. Angel Hatfield Says:

    I would love to see Greece. I grew up reading Greek Mythology and it’s still a favorite theme.

  24. Awesome as Australia sounds the photo Lexxie posted of the spider eating a bird freaked me out, soooo I think the land of my ancestors appeals, Ireland. I love their accent.

    • I’ve done my beloved country a diservice it seems. I’ll post some piccies of koalas and kangaroos and all the absolutely gorgeous, stunning, beautiful things I love so much.

      (And yeah, I also love the snake eating spiders and killer jellyfish. But then, I also love Vegemite *grin*)

  25. mathlady68 Says:

    I would love to travel around the world and experience everything. But, on my short list are China and Australia.

  26. Susan R Says:

    There are so many. Scotland, Australia, china, can I add Hawaii??!!!

    Can’t wait to read this series!!!!!!!!

  27. flchen1 Says:

    Exactly what KittyKelly and KayB have said–I’m dying to visit Australia, but on the other hand, I have no desire to actually die there! Those fierce arachnids and reptiles don’t sound like much of a welcoming committee even though I SO want to meet many of my favorite authors on their home turf!

    That said, other countries still on the list include Ireland and Scotland and going back to explore Japan, China, Korea, and the rest of Asia more closely! Hmm… better make sure our passports are up to date… 🙂

  28. StacieD Says:

    I’ve been lucky to travel all over Europe. I haven’t been to Scotland or Ireland yet. I also want to visit India some day.

  29. There are so many countries I would love to visit. Top on my list is Scotland and Ireland. I would also like to go to New Zealand and Australia. Some day I will get there when the kiddos move on. Someday!
    Mel
    bournmelissa at hotmail dot com

  30. Katherine Says:

    I’d love to go back to Oz – it’s been 10 years since I was there. Sad face. But I want to go somewhere I’ve never been. So I’ll choose South Africa.

Leave a Reply

