Men in Uniform Day!

JAMBREA

Who doesn’t love men in uniform. *sigh*

Book one in the Semper Fi Series

Hoorah! Take no prisoners.

The military is Marine Colonel Joe “Magnus” Rivers’ reason for being. Protecting the United States of America from all threats is his sole purpose in life. His world is turned upside down when a woman is assigned to his team of elite Marines and his attraction to her threatens his career.

NCIS Special Agent Emily Patterson’s orders: infiltrate Colonel Rivers’ team and find the culprits behind a rash of kidnappings connected to a sex slave ring. Her mission parameters didn’t include an attraction for Colonel Rivers but nothing in Emily’s career could have prepared her for Magnus. Her job becomes more difficult as she gets to know the man behind the uniform and Emily finds herself wanting to prove herself to him, potentially exposing her identity before she clears Magnus.

Magnus and Emily struggle against their growing feelings for one another, both knowing the consequences of giving in to lust. Magnus is Emily’s team leader and fraternising is against the rules. Emily is investigating Magnus and his team; getting involved with him could ruin her investigation and her career.

Reader Advisory: This book contains some violence and lots of swearing and sexual assault.

Publisher’s Note: This book was previously released at another publisher. It has been revised and re-edited for release with Total-E-Bound.

Excerpt From: Magnus

To observe a Marine is inspirational. To be a Marine is exceptional.

“Get the fuck outta my face, right now, maggot, before I skin you alive and wear your ass as a hat. What the fuck do you think you’re doin’?” Colonel Joe ‘Magnus’ Rivers yelled at the recruit and snatched the M4 out of her hands.

“Colonel.” Gunny Paul Roberts tried to calm him, but Magnus was furious.

Of all the fucking stupid things. Damn it.

“Fuck that shit. She got Stewart shot! This is why women shouldn’t be on the front fuckin’ line. Fuck!” Magnus ran a hand over his face and handed the gun to Corporal Moore. “No fuckin’ way is this going to work.” He turned to walk back to the barracks. He couldn’t stand to be around her for a second more. Fuck ups like her got people killed. Sloppy didn’t cut it in his unit.

“Mag, Private Stewart wasn’t really shot.” Roberts rushed to keep up.

“I know that, Gunny. It’s the principle of the matter.”

“Oh, he knows another word besides fuck.” The words were almost too faint to be heard, but they reached the Colonel’s ears.

Magnus whipped around and got up into the recruits’ face. In a quiet voice, he addressed the woman.

“What did you just say?” There was no need to speak louder, his voice seethed with anger and he was about to snap.

She stared straight ahead and didn’t look him in the eye.

The only smart thing she’s done so far. Take a deep breath, man. Calm down. No one was really hurt.

Reasoning with himself sucked, but luckily for the recruit, he was able to leash his anger or she’d be down for the count, woman or not.

“Not so tough now, huh, Patterson? Drop and give me twenty.”

Without hesitation, she dropped to the ground and started counting out her pushups. Magnus would expect no less and his team knew it. No one fucked with Mag, at least not to his face.

“Moore, take over PT.” He turned back to Roberts and gestured for him to follow. “Roberts, I don’t think I can keep this up. What was the General thinking? This woman doesn’t belong here. She’s some military brat trying to prove herself. How are we supposed to make her into a soldier?” Magnus said in frustration.

Roberts looked back at the woman doing pushups.

“I don’t know, sir. Looks like you’re doing a good job to me.”

Magnus glanced back as well and waved his hand. “Physical exercise does not a soldier make. You saw her at the range. How the fuck did she make it out of boot?”

“Mag, it’s only been a few weeks. Give her a break,” Roberts tried to soothe him.

It wasn’t taking. He was still too furious. What if they’d been on a live exercise?

“I can’t. I wouldn’t let the guys get away with that shit. No fucking way am I giving the wannabe warrior a break. She’ll do it my way or I’ll kick her ass back to Daddy’s. We’re supposed to take her on fucking missions for chrissake.” He shook his head. “She’s going to get someone killed.”

“We have a month before we hea—”

Mag glared at Roberts. Without another word he entered the building, trying to forget the woman doing pushups in the yard.

Trouble with a capital T is what that one is.

Mag led Roberts to his office. “We need to go over the training schedule. I want us tight before we head into Sri Lanka. We’ll have to compensate for Patterson.”

“I don’t think you’re giving her enough credit. She made it through boot camp. Not even her dad’s rank would get her through that.”

“So she has guts, but can she really cut it?” Mag worried his lip with his teeth.

These soldiers were his responsibility and their families trusted him to bring them home alive, if a little dinged up.

“We have training time. Push her to the limit. You know the General isn’t going to take her off the team. We work with what we’ve got. That’s all we can do. Remember, this is a peacekeeping mission. If we do it right, a shot won’t even be fired.”

“Well, listen to you, the voice of reason. Fuck, Roberts. When did you get so smart?” Mag asked with a smile, letting the other man know he was teasing. He was finally cooling down a little. That’s why Roberts was his right-hand man. He wouldn’t want to go into a fight without him.

“Never mind that, I thought you had a training schedule you wanted to go over.”

Mag pulled up the chart on his computer and got to work.

You can buy this at Total e Bound http://www.total-e-bound.com/product.asp?strParents=&CAT_ID=&P_ID=1515

BIANCA D’ARC

I seem to have a fascination with warriors too, but then again, who doesn’t? Quite a few of my books feature men in uniform of one kind or another. I actually have a lot of military men in my family, so I’m writing from experience as well as admiration. 😉

The one book I want to talk about today is a novella called WARRIOR’S HEART. Here’s a little bit more about it:

In love forever with her brother’s best friend, Casey thinks she doesn’t have a shot with the strong and silent Special Forces unit leader, Hal Halowell. But he’s back from a mystical military escapade in the ancient city of Babylon that has left him gifted with strange abilities and things have changed drastically. All bets are off when Casey’s life is endangered by the people who are after him and he can no longer deny his need for the woman he’s loved secretly since she was just a kid.

EXCERPT

He took her in his arms and though she teetered on sexy, blue satin stilettos, he moved her around the floor as if she were born to be there. She’d never been so graceful, or so incredibly excited.
They executed a complex turn, and the beat of the music seeped into her pores. He twirled her out, then back in, curling her tight against his chest. Her flowing skirt tangled sensually around their knees, making it feel even more intimate. The dance itself was color and light and his muscular body kept her safe, secure and cherished while he guided her through its intricacies.
The music changed and he started tap dancing. Somehow, she knew the steps too. She danced perfectly in time with him as he smiled encouragement.
RING!
Casey groaned, lifting her head from the couch. Blearily, she realized she’d fallen asleep in the middle of the day again. This had to stop.
RING!
Dammit. The relentless ring of the phone woke her up. And it had been such a good dream too.
RING!
She checked the caller I.D., yanking up the phone with a disgusted curse.
“Dammit, Mark. I was dancing with Gene Kelly.”
There was a slight pause before a sexy male voice came over the line.
“I’d rather you danced with me.”
Her knees turned to jelly. Good thing she was sprawled on the couch. This wasn’t Mark. It only took her a moment to place the voice calling from her brother’s familiar number. It was her brother’s obnoxiously handsome friend. The one who had tormented her since she was a little kid. The one whose face still haunted her dreams.
“Hal.” She sighed heavily. “When did you get back? And why are you calling me from Mark’s? Where is he?”
“He’s watching over the grill out back and asked me to give you a ring. I just got in, and we’re having an impromptu barbeque. Wanna come over and play?”
The sexy purr in his voice sent shivers down her spine. Too bad he was only kidding around with her. She’d known him for too many years to read anything into his flirty banter. She was glad he couldn’t see her disappointment. He was the star of her most vivid fantasies, but he’d always treated her like a pesky little sister.
“Sure. Give me an hour, and I’ll be over with a bottle of Merlot. I can’t drink that beer he’s been brewing in his basement. It makes me sick.”
“I am duly warned. Actually, though, it tastes pretty good.”
“Oh, it tastes good at first. Just watch out tomorrow. You’ll be praying to the porcelain god if your stomach is anything like mine.” She laughed, remembering the few times her brother had gotten her to drink some of his home brew, and the sad consequences.
“You forget, I’ve been eating Army chow for the past twelve years. My stomach is cast iron.”
“Well, don’t say I didn’t warn you.”
“Yes, ma’am. Now get yourself off the couch and put on something sexy. I haven’t seen you in far too long, Cas.”
“How’d you know I was on the couch?”
He chuckled in that masculine way of his. “Old habits die hard. I remember finding you curled up on that old couch in your parents’ house in the middle of the day more than once. You always reminded me of a kitten, basking in the sun coming in through the picture window.”
“Maybe I don’t have a couch or a picture window in my apartment. Did you ever think of that?” She didn’t know why she was being contrary, except that Hal had always known how to push her buttons. Five years of not seeing him apparently hadn’t changed that.
“You forget. I’ve been to your apartment. I know exactly what it looks like. Down to your daisy-covered couch.”
“They weren’t daisies. It was a lovely yellow and white paisley pattern, and it’s gone now.”
“What happened? I liked that couch.”
“Oh, I still have the couch, but I had to have it reupholstered. And to answer your question, Mark happened. He got mud, oil and some kind of glue on his clothes working on his boat then flopped down on my pretty couch. No matter what I tried, I couldn’t get the stains out.”
“The moron.” His chuckle made her feel oddly better about losing her pretty fabric, even though it was a sticking point between the siblings. “I’ll have to beat him up for you. I’ve had fantasies about you on that little daisy couch.”
“I’ll just bet you did.” She laughed, hoping she could disguise the instant heat in her veins by treating his comment lightly. He was only kidding. Had to be. He’d never seen her as anything more than his friend’s kid sister.
Then why was he flirting so hard? That was three potential come-ons in one conversation. Either he’d changed drastically in the last five years, or he was trying to get her mad.

Buy now in ebook from: Amazon, B&N or Samhain

 

Anne Rainey

My man in uniform is my very first published work. It’s still holds a special place in my heart. 🙂

Sometimes it’s love at fist site, sometimes it’s lust! LOL

Blurb:

Every good girl longs for a chance to be a little naughty.

Raw from an ugly divorce and wrung out from her demanding job, Haley Thorne needs a break. When Haley’s doctor urges her to take a vacation, she heads to her secret cabin in the woods.

The very first night, Haley dreams of an erotic threesome that leaves her panting and aroused. When sexy police detective Jeremy Pickett shows up at her door, she’s shocked: He looks like the man in her midnight fantasy! Levelheaded Haley unleashes her inner seductress and has a little fun—handcuffs and all!

Buy From: Samhain | Kindle | Nook | Fictionwise

Excerpt:

Jeremy walked for what felt like miles, sweat dripping down his spine, his T-shirt sticking to his ribs, cursing his brother’s shitty advice every step of the way. Then it appeared, like a beacon of light. Not his brother’s cabin, but a smaller log house that sat off the road, and it was beautiful.

“Civilization!” he moaned in relief. “If they have water, I’ll kiss their blessed feet. If they have a phone, I’ll think I’ve died and gone to heaven.” His mouth was dirt dry, and he was starting to wonder just how long a person could go before dehydration or sunstroke set in.

As he stepped off the gravel and onto the cool grass, Jeremy realized his shoes were ruined. The melting tar had done a real number, and bits of rocks and grass stuck to the soles. “Brad, so help me, when I get my hands on you…” Jeremy let the sentence trail off and stopped dead in his tracks as he saw what had to be a mirage.

She was sunning herself and she was so fucking sexy it hurt. Even from a distance it was clear she had a sweet little hourglass shape. Now he knew he was delirious. No way would a babe like that be way out in this neck of the woods.

Jeremy was rooted to the spot as the vision in the white bikini rose to a sitting position, stretched like a lazy cat and turned over. Now he stared at her ass.

“Damn,” he mumbled. “Brad, you’re a friggin’ genius, bro.” Maybe the weekend wasn’t a lost cause after all.

Jeremy started across the yard, impatient to get closer to the enticing creature, but slowed as he approached the porch. He didn’t want to scare the lady half to death. He had to admit, even as his tongue started to take on the texture of sandpaper, he wasn’t nearly as concerned about getting to a phone or water anymore.

Once he was within a few feet of the porch, he could see her face was turned away from him and he took advantage, letting his gaze wander.

Her body wasn’t darkly tanned, but more the color of honey with a slight redness at the tops of her shoulders. Her hair was swept into a messy pile on top of her head. Little brown curls had escaped and were scattered around her nape. That wasn’t what had him as hard as a railroad spike, however. It was the tiny white suit she wore. It had those little ties at the hips, just daring a man to pull the string and find the treasures beneath. Jeremy stopped his perusal, wishing like hell he could stop his raging boner, and cleared his throat. That got her attention. She fairly jumped ten feet in the air.

“Whoa, easy there, honey. No need to get all rattled,” he said, trying to look charming. He probably looked more like a prison escapee with his hair and clothes a sweaty mess. “I promise, I’m not a serial killer. I just, well, I broke down and I’m really hoping you might have a nice, cold drink of something. Of anything. Because, damn, I’m thirsty.” He left off the part about the phone.

She stared, wide-eyed and nervous, and started to look a little pale. It was as if she’d seen a ghost or something. He reached out a hand and touched her shoulder. It was hot from the sun and slippery from the oil she’d rubbed all over. A mental picture of her rubbing herself down sprang to mind. Which, of course, caused his dick to spring readily to life. Down, boy.

“You okay?” Jeremy asked. “You’re white as a sheet.” He frowned, wondering if she’d gotten too much sun. That quickly, his own troubles fled as concern for this strange beauty grew. “Maybe you ought to get inside where it’s cooler. You aren’t looking so good.”

She blinked and appeared to give herself a mental shake. Jeremy sighed with relief.

“My name’s Jeremy Pickett, by the way. Sorry if I startled you.”

“No, um, you looked familiar is all. Like someone I know,” she explained, sounding sort of husky. Her voice had a deeper pitch, as if she’d just woken up. Christ, even her voice was sexy.

“He must not be anyone you want to see again, considering the look of sheer panic on your face just a few seconds ago.”

“Who?” she asked, still staring at him as if she wasn’t sure if he was there or not. His eyebrows rose inquiringly. Maybe she was in worse need of a cold drink than he.

“Oh, right!” she exclaimed, finally grasping the thread of the conversation. “Well, actually he’s not real.”

What was that supposed to mean? Jeremy wondered. Not real?

She looked at him from head to toe. “What on earth happened to you?”

Jeremy smiled. “Unfortunately, my car broke down and I walked for awhile. Yours is the first house I’ve come to.” He offered her a friendly wink and was pleased when she smiled at last. Then a nasty thought wiggled into his mind, ruining the blissful moment.

“So, you alone out here?” he asked, wondering if there was a husband around. The beauty stopped smiling and the startled look returned. Damn his big mouth anyway.

“I swear I’m not a crazy person or anything,” he clarified as he offered his hands up in mock surrender. “I just wondered if there was a Mister in the cabin who would greet me with a shotgun or something.”

She seemed to become aware of how much skin she was showing, because she bent down and grabbed the towel she’d laid on. She wrapped it around her lower half, and Jeremy agonized over women and their silly sense of modesty.

“Well, you can relax, there’s no shotgun and I’m not married.” She snorted. “Not anymore, anyway.” She glanced back at the cabin and said,

“I live in the city. I’m just staying here for the weekend.” She stood and held out her hand, finally allowing the smile to slip back into place. “I’m Haley Thorne.”

He readily took her hand, wanting to touch her again. Even if it was just an affable handshake, it was better than nothing. Unfortunately, the touch was brief as she released him and moved toward the screen door.

Swinging it wide, she told him, “And I do happen to have bottled water, iced tea and cola. So, what’s your pleasure, Jeremy Pickett?” She grinned teasingly at him.

Oh, hell, yeah. Jeremy would dearly love to show little Haley Thorne what his pleasure was.

Buy From: Samhain | Kindle | Nook | Fictionwise

15 Responses to “Men in Uniform Day!”

  1. Courtney S Says:

    Mmmm…I do love a man in uniform (or out of it). These sound good.

  2. kaylynd Says:

    I love a man in uniform…..seriously my hubby is in the Army. lol I love reading men in uniform stories. They are always super hot and take charge. The action makes everything more intense and who doesn’t love that.

  3. Me! I love a man in uniform! And out of one, too! 🙂 My hubby was in the navy so I’ve got a soft spot for blue camo. The books sound great, but I expected no less! Another great day!

  4. wolphcall Says:

    I love a man in uniform. Out of one even more. These books sound incredible. They are going on my TBR list.

    Lisa

  5. OMG!!! Who does not love a man in uniform?? My former husband was in the Forces, and the uniform drew me to him. Books sound great!

  6. StacieD Says:

    There is something so swoon-worthy about a man in uniform. I love their bravery, honor code and loyalty. Any man who would put himself in harms way to protect another person is my kind of hero.

  7. *hangs head in shame* I haven’t read any of these and would love to read them. I love a man in uniform or out for that matter.

    Marika
    maw1725@gmail.com

  8. caitymack Says:

    Have a soft spot for men in uniform, with all the men in my life in one unform or another, and boy, do they clean up nice.

    Thanks for those great excerpts.

  9. tazfl001 Says:

    I espeically love a black ops man in and out of uniform. Awesome excerpts but no surprise there with y’all. 😉

  10. men in uniform..yum yum.
    Great excerpts.

  11. Julianne Says:

    Who doesn’t love a man in uniform. But isn’t better to have him out of his uniform? hehe I love reading about a strong man, doesn’t matter what kind of uniform he wears. Just what’s in his heart matters.

  12. June M. Says:

    There is something very sexy about a man in uniform. These guys are ones who are strong, dependable, generally alphas. They will usually do whatever it takes to protect/defend others.
    Btw, the uniforms look even better in a pile on the floor, lol.

  13. Kris M. Says:

    There is definitely something about a man in uniform. It may be the authority figure or the discipline, I am not sure, but it definitely is hot 🙂

  14. All three are awesome books. I’m pretty partial to Magnus. Can’t wait for Finn.

  15. flchen1 Says:

    Happy sigh. There’s nothing like a man in (or out of) uniform 🙂 So true!

Leave a Reply

