Next up… project backsplash!

I’m not sure exactly what happened, but one day I woke up and looked around and thought… I’m always so busy and putting stuff on hold that I’ve been leaving things as they are in my house instead of really making them my way.  Then I decided that slowly but surely I want to get some projects done, no matter how I have to find the time.

Okay, so on Sunday I showed you some of the work I’m trying to do in my office to make it into my dream space, but the magnitude of that project is kind of overwhelming.  In the meantime, Angie’s list had a great deal on tilework that I want to take advantage of to install a kitchen backsplash.  This is fun!  I’ve been wanting to do this since we built our house seven years ago but just haven’t gotten around to it.  No more procrastination!  I got a few samples yesterday at lunchtime and a ton more are going to be delivered over the next few days.  But as worried as I was in the showroom that I wasn’t picking off the top of my head something that would blend our natural wood cabinets and floor with the black and tan countertop and the stainless steel appliances we’d someday (can’t justify it until the current ones break and they’re still going strong!) like to have, I actually liked a few of the ones I got so…

What do you think?  Have a favorite?  Any that make you shudder and say, “No way! Don’t do that!”?

PS… please ignore my cluttered kitchen, these pictures made me realize I need to streamline!

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

If I had to choose right now I’d pick this last one.  I love how the glass is cracked looking inside and gives it an extra sparkle that doesn’t really pick up in the pictures but makes the under cabinet area look brighter in real life.  So what do you think?

Jayne
http://www.jaynerylon.com

6 Responses to “Next up… project backsplash!”

  1. Mary Preston Says:

    I would personally go brighter. More blue than brown. Red would be great. I’m no help I know.

  2. I personally like the one where you are holding it against the wall. I think its just light enough to pick up the colors but not dark enough to make the kitchen look dark.

    If you think your kitchen is cluttered you should see mine lol.

    ~*Drea*~

  3. Rebekah kelton Says:

    The third one from the left in your first picture goes the beat with your countertop and i think i would be the one that would stand out and make your space look bigger too.

  4. 2nd to last picture looks like it brings out the cabnet colour and the counter colour. You do realize we will all probably confuse you even more. LOL

  5. Ivelisse Says:

    Agree the last one is awesome! 🙂

  6. Courtney S Says:

    I like the ones with the larger tiles. To me, they’re more (visually) interesting.

Leave a Reply

