I’m gonna be a serious writer!

Well, okay, maybe I’ll never take myself so seriously.  But… I am in the process of attempting to turn a beige, non-descript, perfectly plain room that I store my promotion in into an office I can be comfortable spending all my time in.  You know, one that makes me feel all creative and ready to write.

There are a few things I know for sure.  I want the color purple to play a part, either as the wall color or major components (like area rugs or furniture).  I also need a HUGE desk… or a desk with storage space.  I have tons of promotional items that need to be stored and compiled for mailing down there so a workstation for that would be great.  Other nice to haves would be a comfy sitting area in case I want to ditch the desk and take my laptop to write somewhere unergonomic, maybe a little gas fireplace, or how about some window seats with storage beneath?  Okay, now I’m getting wild and crazy. 🙂

Here are some of the photos I’ve collected for inspiration.  I’m afraid I can’t pull this off on my own though, so I might try to hire a designer/builder to help.  I would love to have it done right and actually get finished which is not always a skill I’m good at given that I work a full time job and have writing deadlines too!

So what do you think?  Anyone have ideas for me?  Places to look for office furniture or home furnishings?  Favorite paint colors?  Things here that make you shudder and scream, “No, no, no, Jayne!  Don’t make that horrible choice!” ?  I’ll take all the help I can get because I hope someday to be spending an awful lot of my time here if I’m very, very lucky.

If this were an office instead of a kitchen (love the wall color and the furniture color and the idea of a wood desk with a stone top):

Kitchen 6061 traditional kitchen
traditional kitchen design by other metros design-build J.S. Brown & Co.

Love just about everything about this one except if it were a little more grey/purple instead of straight up grey:

Home Office modern home office
modern home office design by toronto photographer K West Images, Interior and Garden Photography

This one gets me with the wall color and the white bookshelves:

Study traditional home office
traditional home office design by portland interior designer Tina Barclay

The materials for the desk in this one are great, and I like the light fixtures but the desk would have to be a lot bigger!

Home Office Computer Room traditional home office
traditional home office design by seattle kitchen and bath Kayron Brewer, CKD / Studio KB

The promo station and built in storage would be great, but might cut into the space a lot (the room is 18′ x 33′).

S. Boatman contemporary home office
contemporary home office design

Under window seating/storage could really work in this room! It has two windows on one of the long walls.

jamesthomas, LLC contemporary home office
contemporary home office design by chicago interior designer jamesthomas, LLC

I like the desk configuration and storage space in this idea (plus more under window seating/storage).

Malka In The Closet contemporary home office
contemporary home office design by san francisco closets and organization Malka / Closet Innovations

The style of the chairs in this one suits me but they could be a bit more purple 🙂

Home Office eclectic home office
eclectic home office design by dc metro interior designer Heather ODonovan

The T desk is neat and I like the way the colors accommodate both natural wood and the white accents.

Home Office for Two eclectic home office
eclectic home office design by new york interior designer B Fein Interior Design

So do you think I can mash all these together and come up with my perfect office?  Any advice is welcome!

Jayne
http://www.jaynerylon.com

3 Responses to “I’m gonna be a serious writer!”

  1. It depends on how open minded you are. I love having office space with one wall that is chalk board or white board. Perfect for making lists, outlines, whatever. Dark or bright walls and white furniture or shelves are a great combo.

  2. Mary Preston Says:

    I just keep thinking why doesn’t my home look like this?

  3. golf online tee times…

    […]I’m gonna be a serious writer! « International Heat[…]…

Leave a Reply

