Super Sekrit Sneak Peeks!

I have three completed books hanging “out there” in the publishing world. They’re all at various stages of the game. Western Ties is written, edited and ready to roll out on March 6. Because It’s True is still in the submission phase and I’ve basically chewed off every fingernail waiting to see if my editor wants to buy it. Screwdriver is accepted, contracted and is currently being edited. That’s the thing about writing–when you type the words “The End” it’s actually far from over!

Yesterday I asked you which of the stories you’d like a “sneek peak” of. Fact is…I’m really proud of all these books and I can’t wait for them to release, so I’ll give you a glimpse all three. Please be aware–two of these books aren’t edited yet. Sorry about any errors.

Western Ties

“Leah?” a familiar male voice behind her said.

Leah closed her eyes and prayed she’d imagined it. There was no way. No possible way—

“Leah Hollister?”

She sighed. Fuck. What were the chances?

Turning, she realized her night wasn’t going to end as she’d planned. She should have saved her money. Should have stayed inComptonPass.She was screwed.

“Sawyer.” She didn’t bother with the pretense of being happy to see him. “What the hell are you doing here?”

“Leah,” Stacey whispered, her voice full of warning.

Sawyer narrowed his eyes, refusing to answer. His gaze started at the top, taking in her dramatic makeup, before drifting lower to her breasts, accentuated by the tight corset Stacey had loaned her. She willed herself to remain still as he finished his visual tour with a long look at her short leather skirt and stocking-clad legs.

“Enjoying the view?” she taunted. “You still haven’t answered my question. Shouldn’t you be inSan Francisco? What are you doing here?”

He scowled. “That’s my question for you. A BDSM party inL.A.is a long way from a kindergarten classroom inComptonPass.Last time I saw you, you were leading a pack of five-year-olds around my family’s ranch.”

A couple of years earlier, Sawyer had helped her organize a field trip to Compass ranch. It had been one of the highlights of the year for her students—and for her. It was also the last time she’d seen Sawyer. Two years was a long time. She certainly hadn’t expected their reunion to take place inL.A.

She sucked in a deep breath and tried to hide her disappointment. He was right. She’d purposely put herself as far away from home as possible, so that she could indulge in these two nights. One weekend to confirm a few suspicions she’d always held in regard to her sexual preferences. Sawyer was going to put a wrench in the works.

She gestured at her outfit. “I would think my role here would be obvious.” For the first time, she allowed her gaze to travel over him as well. Her body heated with arousal as she noted how unbelievably sexy he was. He wore tight dark jeans and a black T-shirt that hugged his muscular chest to perfection. No one in the place would fail to read the dominance in his stance, the aura of power he projected.

On the surface, she was shocked to find her friend in a place like this, but there was another part—deep inside—that wasn’t a bit surprised. He belonged here.

“So you’re a Dom?” She fought the urge to laugh as she asked the absurd question. Of course he was.

His gaze drifted to her arm. He grasped her wrist, pulling it up and toying with the white wristband the host had given her upon arrival.

“You understand what this means, right?” he asked, gesturing to the bracelet.

Sawyer completely ignored her Dom question. It didn’t matter anyway. It had clearly been rhetorical. He was aCompton. Anybody and everybody from their neck of the woods knew that name was synonymous with alpha male.

She gave him an annoyed look. “Of course I do.”

It was evident from his tone he didn’t think she belonged here any more than Stacey. One of the reasons she’d planned this adventure far away from home, surrounded by strangers who didn’t know her, was because rumors spread like wildfire in their small hometown. She knew about Sawyer’s sexual proclivities, and she’d always wondered if she shared a few of them.

Besides, her sweet disposition didn’t inspire the more adventurous cowboys back home to ask her out, so her opportunities for exploration were seriously limited. Julie was right. She was a goody-goody.

Sawyer didn’t appear to like her answer, so he restated the obvious. “It means you are an unattached submissive who’s looking for a Dom. This wristband has declared it open season on you.”

She shrugged, unconcerned. “Sorry to shatter the illusion, Sawyer, but I think I can handle whatever this party dishes out. It’s not like I’m a virgin.”

He frowned. “You lost your virginity in the backseat of a Pontiac to Les Prescott after Compton Pass won the district football championship our senior year. The guy was a shithead. You should’ve chosen better.”

Leah laughed, though a ripple of desire slammed into her. It was always this way with Sawyer. Though they were just friends, there’d never been a time when she hadn’t felt his gaze on her. He’d scared off more than a few would-be boyfriends in her lifetime claiming they were only after one thing. Les had fallen into that category, but Sawyer had been playing on that championship team and had been a bit distracted that night.

Sawyer had appointed himself her personal guardian in third grade when Jordan Haskiell had shoved her down on the playground after she’d beat him in a footrace. As a result, Sawyer had endured an afternoon in the principal’s office and God only knew what kind of punishment at home after issuingJordana very physical, very painful warning of what happened to guys who messed with Leah. While Sawyer hadn’t pursued her romantically, he’d certainly taken the bonds of friendship to a new extreme.

Despite the fact they’d existed in different cliques at school, Sawyer hadn’t let social status stop him from being one of her best friends. He’d run with the jocks and cheerleaders, while she’d been firmly encamped with the brainiacs, less affectionately referred to as nerds by their peers. “How could you have known about Les?”

“I told you. He was a prick. He was bragging about it at school the following Monday.”

She flushed. She’d never heard of Les spreading rumors about her. “I didn’t know—”

Sawyer grinned. “Luckily, he started his boasting with me. I took him out behind the school and gave him a reason to shut his fucking mouth.”

His admission held a hint of humor, but she could tell he was angry. She decided to test the waters to see how screwed she was.

“Well, it was great to see you again, but Stacey and I were going to pop over to the bar for a drink.”

“I’ll go with you.” He confirmed her fear.

She smiled and shook her head. “No, I don’t think that’s a good idea. You’re scaring off all the other Doms.”

His wolfish grin let her know that was his intent.

Her temper sparked. “God dammit, Sawyer. Go away.”

Stacey lightly touched her arm, alerting Leah that she’d spoken too loudly. Several people glanced in her direction and frowned. She was never going to achieve her goal at this rate.

Sawyer was the only person in the room who didn’t take offense at her faux pas. “You realize this is a weekend party?”

She nodded. It was starting to look like it would be a long two days.

Sawyer reclaimed her hand, slipping off the white bracelet.

“What the hell are you doing?” She tried to pull her arm free, attempting to grab the wristband back.

Sawyer’s grip was implacable. He reached into his pocket and pulled out a green bracelet. Suddenly, she felt dizzy. There was no way he would—

Sawyer slipped it around her wrist.

“No,” she whispered when he lifted her hand.

Western Ties is available for preorder at Amazon and Barnes and Noble.

Because It’s True

“Why did you lie?” Jacob asked quietly.

“Tonight was your night, Jake. I didn’t want to take that away from you.”

“Do you honestly think I’d begrudge you your miracle, your happiness? This is what you’ve worked for, Rod. I don’t see how you being cleared to return to New York would take away from the party.”

“Don’t you?” It was a pointed question and as close as Rodney had ever come to calling Jacob on the carpet about his feelings. Rodney wasn’t blind and he wasn’t stupid.

Jacob cleared his throat, then looked away. He faced the makeshift dance floor, careful to avoid looking at him. “I have no hold on you.”

Rodney chuckled mirthlessly. “God. I wish that was true.”

Screwdriver

“God bless it, Jordan. I apologize if this offends you, but it’s hot as hell in here.” Reaching for the hem of his t-shirt, he whipped the thin cotton over his head, fanning himself with it.

Her now-familiar blush returned and Casey felt compelled to prod, to see if his suspicions about Jordan’s underlying naughty side were true. “Just so you know, I absolutely will not be upset if you decide to follow suit and work shirtless for the rest of the afternoon.”

She narrowed her eyes, but the twinkle in them let him know she enjoyed his joke. “I’m fine with my shirt on.”

“You sure?” he teased, taking a step closer. “I don’t mind helping you peel it off.” He reached out, but she darted away, her smile growing wider.

“Casey,” she said, swatting his hands away. She dodged behind the AC unit and he followed.

The two of them played a quick game of cat and mouse, as Casey chased her around the storage closet.

He’d just captured her, Jordan squealing loudly, when the door to the closet opened.

“Jordan? Are you okay?” a deep voice asked from the hallway.

Gabriel peered around the door and Casey wondered what his best friend thought he was seeing. They certainly presented a risqué picture—Casey, shirtless, with his hands on Jordan’s upper arms while she laughed.

“Hey Gabe.” Casey released Jordan and pulled his shirt back on. “What are you doing here?”

Gabriel’s response was slow in coming as his gaze traveled from Casey to Jordan. “I was checking on your progress.” Gabriel’s eyes landed on his face and they narrowed angrily. “Looks like you’re making some.”

Today’s question has absolutely nothing to do with books. I know that the Super Bowl is coming up. I’ll confess right now…I do not watch football. At all. Ever. In fact, if you asked me right now who was in the Super Bowl, I wouldn’t have an answer for you. I don’t have a clue. However, I never (and I mean never) miss the Super Bowl. Why you ask? Three reasons. The work betting pool, the commercials and the food! LOL

What do you look forward to most in regards to the Super Bowl?

23 Responses to “Super Sekrit Sneak Peeks!”

  1. ***Sawyer*** double sigh…

    BTW, the New England Patriots and the New York Giants in the Super Bowl this year. Should have been the Houston Texans…anyway…I like the half time show and the commericals.

    Marika Weber

  2. Mary Preston Says:

    I’m in Australia. Got to say, I honestly have no interest in the Super Bowl at all.

  3. Sorry Mari. I know only don’t know who is playing but I don’t even know when it’s being played……nor do I care. Most years, it never get put on so I expect that it will be the same this year. Now, come world cup time, I could probably give you which teams are playing and when and where the finals are!

  4. I watch the Superbowl every year and that’s my excuse to indulge in pizza and finger foods…LOL

  5. Like you (and probably a lot of women) I don’t really keep track but I always watch the Super Bowl. My favorite thing about it is simple….it gives me a reason to throw or go to a Super Bowl party!
    I love it! Good friends, good food and yes I pay more attention to the commercials than the actual game.

  6. Regina Ross Says:

    thanks for sharing the sneek peeks and i love watching the superbowl 🙂

  7. ooooh, I LOVE that excerpt from WESTERN TIES…I cannot wait!! OMG!

    Superbowl…absolutely, the commercials!
    smiles…

  8. Monique Ito Says:

    I have watch the Super Bowl since I was a kick. Even after I got married and my husband does not like football, we watch the Super Bowl. The commercials and Half time. This year it is going to because my son who is 9 years old, has turn it to a football junkie and I can not wait to watch the game with him. We will watch it has a family and my son will want the New York to win and My daughter will want New England to win. I do not care. It is fun to watch them.

  9. Hi

    Thanks for sharing! I enjoy the Superbowl parties – a chance to get together with friends and family – and the food that goes along with it 🙂

    Thanks
    Pam

  10. Thanks for sharing the excerpts.
    Although the Superbowl is as popular here in Canada as it is in the US.I have no interest in it in any way.

  11. I never watch the Super Bowl. I don’t watch sports unless I am with my 11 year old nephew (sports FREAK!, LOL). I have been known to watch part of the Puppy Bowl on Animal Planet though, lol. All it is is just puppies playing, so cute!
    ~June

  12. Kaylyn Davis Says:

    My favorite part is the commercials but the food is close second! I agree with Susan about looking at those “tight ends”. LOL

  13. I LOVE football so I always watch the Superbowl. I also love the party and the food. The trash talk with my family should be fun this year since I will be rooting for the Giants and the rest of my extended family will be rooting for the Patriots, whom I loathe! I also hope to win the betting pool! My favorite part is the hanging out with people I love, regardless of who wins!

  14. I never miss the Super Bowl. I think I enjoy it because it is an excuse for friends and family to get together. It’s just a big party. I also love the commercials.

  15. We watch more NASCAR and Supercross than football, but I know that the Super Bowl will definitely be on. I watch it for the commercials, and in between those, I will be reading.

  16. We look forward to the commercials and this year since my hometown team is playing I’ll be more interested in the game itself.

  17. The pats winning again. Beer. And superbowl 2002 is the first time I met my husband. And the patriots won

  18. Can’t wait for Western Ties. Sounds hot hot hot! My hubby is a Giants fan so I’m looped in by default. I love the Superbowl, though, especially the commercials and having a great spread of fun finger foods and snacks.

  19. Courtney S Says:

    I watch the Super Bowl for the half-time show & the commercials. Other than that, I could give a crap about football…lol

  20. Hate football. The only good thing about the Super Bowl is that we get a few weeks without football afterward. If I seem like I’m in pain it’s because I am forcing myself to not read the excerpt. Mustn’t read it. Must be strong and wait for the book. UGH!

  21. Cheryl S. Says:

    I usually read while hubby watches Super Bowl, but we do have some yummy snacks! Can’t wait for all these books!!! But, need to finish your latest release, first!

  22. I watch the commercials and the last five minutes to see who won.

  23. I don’t watch football, either, except for the Super Bowl. It’s because of the food and the half time show. I always want to see who they have performing and how they can screw things up. This week has been a lot of fun.

    e.balinski(at)att(dot)net

Leave a Reply

