New Year’s Resolutions – Valerie

I normally don’t do resolutions because they just make me feel like a failure. But this year was different, as will 2012. Last year, in September 2010, I met a woman who changed my life. She doesn’t know how much, and there’s no way to adequately describe the impact she had on me.

You see, this woman who came into my life unexpectedly, showed me that I had lost myself in years of neglect. Yes, like so many women, I had put my family and my career ahead of taking care of myself. I was left with a shell of my former self. I had packed on so much weight that the ‘real’ me had been lost along the way. I was stuck with this shell and it was depressing.

The woman saw through that faΓ§ade because she’d been there too. Due to circumstances in her life, she’d gained a lot of weight. But instead of whining about it and ‘trying’ to lose weight, she actually DID it. She got off her duff and DID it. To me, this was a revelation. Nothing, NO thing, NO person had ever impacted me so deeply as this woman did. She got it. She GOT me. More than my husband did, who, God bless him, loved me unconditionally, but never understood the depths of disappointment and sorrow I was in. This woman did.

So last year, but mostly this year, I got off my fat ASS and did it. I stopped snacking. I started to pay attention to what I ate. I watched my portions. No, I didn’t DIET. I changed the way I ate. And in June, I got an elliptical machine and was actually using it. You see, I have an exercise bike. It hurt my ass, so I never used it. I got a treadmill, but that hurt my feet, so I never used it. But I still lamented (prior to this woman coming into my life) about how hard it was to lose weight. Woe was me. Nothing ever works. Well, I never really DID anything. Until her.

In one year – I lost 50 pounds. Granted, that’s not an amazing accomplishment considering I still have another 50+ to go. But it was an incredible accomplishment for me. Why? Because I stuck with it. I made it happen. Yes, I splurged on occasion – I wasn’t giving up my movie theater popcorn, or my occasional Coldstone ice cream – but I stuck to an exercise routine and forced myself to do it. And if I felt like quitting, I’d remember this woman and what she accomplished.

Rhian said something to me at Romanticon this year that solidified all my efforts of the year. She hadn’t seen me in person since 2009. Her first words to me were, “You are a completely different person.” And that was the best compliment I could have gotten. My personality changed along with my body, and I’m so much happier.

My life changed because of this woman and I will be forever grateful. She saved me. She saved my life.

Michelle Boone, I love you more than words will ever be able to say. Your impact on my life – even if you don’t think it was a lot – was life changing. Literally and figuratively.

So, now, my goal for 2012 is to lose the rest of the weight. Fifty pounds. More would be great, but 50 is the goal. For a grand total of 100 pounds. I say it here so I can be accountable, but I know I can do it. I did it in one year, I can do it again.

Easy peasy, right?

πŸ˜€

14 Responses to “New Year’s Resolutions – Valerie”

  1. Michelle is a very special and talented person. I’ve enjoyed talking with her and thoroughly enjoy meeting up with her at conferences.

    Congrats on loosing 50 pounds. And, I know you will get rid of the next 50. Then, you will have lost an entire person. I need to loose just as much and I got lazy. But, it’s never too late so I have to get back motavated. (But, that will happen after the holidays as I love all the good food this time of year.)

  2. Congratulations to you. Losing weight is difficult … sometimes seemingly impossible. LIke you, thanks to the wise words of a good friend, I finally sucked it up and starting doing instead of whining about it. (I’ve lost 35 of 75 pounds.)

    Keep up the good work, we’re rooting for you.

    • That’s awesome Katie! I’ve packed on a few holiday pounds, but I’ll be back to my routine and hope to lose the rest of this weight.

      Then, the really hard part. Keeping it off! πŸ˜€

  3. You SO can do it, Valerie. Glad you had Michelle to inspire you, and I know someday you’re going to be Michelle to someone else. Thanks for reminding us of the power of being a friend!

  4. Congratulations on losing the weight, Valerie, and I know you can lose the rest of the weight and keep it off.

    I want to tell you that you are already the Michelle to someone else – me. I have struggled with my weight for years, all my life in fact, but the past 5 years have been so bad from medicines and arthritis, I had pretty much given up. In the past year, I’ve finally realized that it really comes down to choices. My choices. When I get up in the morning, do I choose to immediately start working at the computer, or do I choose to start walking to loosen my joints up enough to stop hurting? Do I choose to eat a healthy meal, or do I choose to eat a bunch of calorie laden comfort food that leaves me feeling ill afterwards? Thanks to things that you’ve said on the HW list, I am making more of the right choices these days. I may never lose the weight my doctor wants me to lose, and I may never be able to do all the fun things I used to be able to do when my joints weren’t so messed up, but I can still choose to put healthy foods in and walk enough to feel better. And sometimes even lose weight – 40lbs in the past year! I’m not going to make a resolution to lose weight because I’ve been stuck at the same weight for over a month and who knows how long this will continue, but I will make a resolution to keep making more and more of the best choices for my health in the coming new year.

    Thank you!

    • Susan, thank you for that. Made me sniffle. πŸ™‚

      At the end of the day, it’s all about making choices. And hopefully the good choices will outweigh the bad ones. We all know what to do. Wanting to do the good thing is the hard part.

      Every day it’s a struggle and this past week’s been hard for me but I know I’ll get back on track. I’m not going to stress about it over the holidays, but I’ll be back to my routine soon.

      Good luck Susan! We can support each other! πŸ˜€

  5. This is so moving V!! Congrats on your weight loss and woohoo in advance for the 50 lbs you’re about to lose. I have no doubt you can do it.

  6. Awe I love Valerie Tibbs too. I’m so grateful I can call her one of my very best friends. She is without a doubt one of the nicest and most giving people I know. You were and are a beautiful person inside and out and if losing that 50lbs made you feel half as beautiful to yourself as you are to the ones who love you then I say good for you. I’ll always be the leader of your cheering squad. So if you want to lose another 10-50 I’ll be here to cheer you on. I can’t wait to go shopping this spring for new clothes for ya;) Thank you so much for your kind words. They truly made my day, and I got an impressive eyeroll from my 18yr old lol.

    Love Ya Right Back
    Michelle

    • πŸ™‚ Words are truly inadequate to describe what you did for me. But I’ll stop getting all mushy.

      Thank you doll and I can’t wait to go shopping too! πŸ˜€

  7. You are completely different.
    Instead of that smile just touching your lips it sparkles in your eyes.
    Instead of being dragged around behind us you’re leading the charge and I’m gladly following.
    You glow with such enthusiasm and life and I just want to bask in that light. I’m just sorry I live so far away and only get to see you once a year.
    I’ll be standing here cheering you on and I CANNOT wait to see you again in April.

  8. Oh, RC. Now, I’m crying. Thank you so much. I wish you lived closer too! I can imagine the mischief we’d get into.

    Love ya! And can’t wait to see you in April! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

