Favorite Things: Movies – Jayne and Mari

Mari: Woo Hoo! I’ve been waiting for this week’s topic. Mainly because I LOVE movies. I’m especially fond of romantic comedies. SO…I thought I’d do this countdown style.

5 – I’m going to show my age here, but I would be remiss if I didn’t include Dirty Dancing on my list. I saw this movie in the theater when it first released no less than 7 times! Since then, I’ve bought the DVD and watched it numerous times. I laugh every time Patrick says “Nobody puts Baby in a corner” and I feel energized every time “I’ve Had the Time of My Life” comes on at the end. Damn–what a fantastic ending number. I will admit that I’ve only watched it once since Patrick Swayze passed away. Watched it with a heavy heart. What a talented, handsome man. Such a big loss.

4 – Going to group the next two together because I *think* they released very close together in the early 90’s. I remember seeing both of them when I was in college and I freaking cried my damn eyes out. Steel Magnolias and Beaches are my “go to” movies for nights when I need a girl power mixed with emotional breakdown fix. LOL. The funny lines in Steel Magnolias and the amazing music in Beaches never fails to inspire me and make me cry. Great stories with terrific actresses. They just don’t make them like that anymore.

3 – I love The Rocky Horror Picture Show. Used to attend the midnight showings at college and even beyond then. What a fun, funny, fantastic movie. I know the words to all the songs, I do the Time Warp with disturbing regularity, and I scream the inappropriate lines at the top of my lungs. Brad–ASSHOLE!!! Janet–SLUT!!!!

2 – The Harry Potter series. Okay…I’m cheating again, but I cannot possibly choose ONE movie in this series. I’m actually embarassed to tell you how many Harry Potter movie marathon weekends I’ve done in my lifetime. Let’s just say…it would run in to double digits. These movies…like the books…provide an ultimate escape. And…I refuse to be a muggle!

1 – My all-time favorite movie is Overboard with Kurt Russell and Goldie Hawn. I’m seriously addicted to this movie. It’s like crack to me. Every time I flip through the channels and find it, I am compelled, nay FORCED to stop and watch. I even own the DVD. Watched it with my mother-in-law last summer because she’d never seen it. Had no idea how much good stuff they cut out on the TV version! This movie makes me happy. It’s romantic comedy at its best and Kurt Russell is totally hot in it!

 

Okay, WTF, Mari is lying.  Her top EIGHT movies of all time are HP 1-7.2  Seriously, every time I talk to her something about HP comes up and she’s all over it.  Hell, even her cell phone ringer is the HP movie soundtrack!!!   #2???  Baloney!

So, as for me, this is really hard!  I love to watch movies, they suck me in, but picking the top five ever is pretty impossible.  I don’t ever rewatch them.  Sort of like books.  I am not a rereader either.  On to the next thing.  But… some of the more memorable ones for me in no particular order

5.  The Sixth Sense  Just like in books I adore movies that have a twist.  I never saw this one coming.  AMAZING

4.  Dirty Dancing.  Unlike Mari, I wasn’t allowed to watch this one when it first came out although it’s my mom’s favorite movie ever.  But… when I was old enough… I learned my mom was right.  It’s an awesome movie.

3.  While You Were Sleeping.  A fabulous romance movie and I really like Sandra Bullock.  I had a friend in college (yes, you Sara!) who watched this movie so many times it fell apart.  She would watch it on constant loop in our dorm.  And we were cinema/photography majors so trust me when I say I’ve seen this one a bunch.

2.  In the spirit of Christmas I’m going to go with A Christmas Story.  How can you not love that movie?  My brother is a HUGE fan.  One year we took a family pilgrimage to Ralphie’s house in Cleveland.  No joke.  We also got to meet the elves from the department store and a few of the other actors which was fun.  Of course we all got our picture with the leg lamp too!

1.  Okay… I think it’s going to have to be a series of movies.  Step Up 1-3 (which I saw in 3D with my mom!)  I like dancing movies the best I think and this one is romance and dancing.  How much better could it be?  Plus it has dancers from So You Think You Can Dance which is my favorite TV show ever.  By. Far.  A lot of the contest in Razor’s Edge was inspired by me watching that show.

Jayne

One Response to “Favorite Things: Movies – Jayne and Mari”

  1. Mary Preston Says:

    I Love THE ROCKY HORROR PICTURE SHOW. I now have songs bouncing around my head. I was impressed by THE SIXTH SENSE & I also love DIRTY DANCING.

Leave a Reply

