Favorite Things: Movies – Bianca and Lexxie

Buckaroo Banzai
Ha ha! Got here first! So I get to list my five favorite movies. In no paricular order…

1. The Adventures of Buckaroo Banzai: Accross the Eigth Dimension – What a cast! Peter Weller, Ellen Barkin, Christopher Lloyd, John Lithgow, Clancy Brown, etc. Such an awesome movie!!!

2. Force Ten from Navarrone – LOVE Harrison Ford in this role!

3. Independence Day – LOVE the Bill Pullman speech before they go off to kick alien ass!

4. Men In Black – Both of them, though I think I like 2 better than 1 for the hilarious scene at the Post Office.Force 10 from Navarrone

5. The Daughter of Rosie O’Grady – This was my favorite movie when I was a little kid. No idea why. I just always loved old musicals where everyone ended up living Happily Ever After, I guess. So really, you could put any old time musical in here – especially any old Fred Astaire movie – Top Hat would do. I also like a lot of the old Danny Kaye (The Court Jester, Hans Christian Andersen), Gene Kelly, Esther Williams, etc movies. Anything with a good score, song and dance numbers and happy endings for all involved. I’m an old romantic at heart, I guess.

 

Lexxie

Firstly, argh!!!! I messed up and had this written down for the 14th. God, I’m stoopid.

Secondly, I love love love Independence Day, B (only watchd it two nights ago) and the Men in Black are in my top Ten sci-fi list.

Okay, on to my Top Five Movies. Ready?

1/ The Shawshank Redemption. I fell in love with Tim Robbins because of this movie. I taught it to senior English Lit student four years in a row. It’s powerful, profound, disturbing and beautiful. Also the BEST Stephen King adaption, period. I think there should be a law that only Frank Darabont (the director) is allowed to make films based on Stephen King books.

2/ Jaws. Two words. Da da.

3/ How to Train Your Dragon. Yeah, sure it’s a kids movie but it makes my heart clench, my throat tight and my face split into a smile. I am equal parts petrified about the sequel and so excited I can barely breathe when I think about it.

4/ The Fifth Element. Honestly, I have no idea what it is about that movie but I love every damn second of it. Every damn second. Perhaps it’s Bruce being Bruce with yellow hair. Perhaps its Gary Oldman chewing the scenery at a ravenous rate, whatever it is, I love it.

5/ Love Actually/The King’s Speech. I can’t split these two. They both are amazing, funny, sad, poignant and wonderful. They both star Colin Firth. ‘Nuff said 🙂

 

10 Responses to “Favorite Things: Movies – Bianca and Lexxie”

  1. Buckaroo Banzai is such an awesome movie! I watched it way too many times through high school. It was weird and quirkly and spoke to me in a way few movies did at the time.

  2. Hey Katherine – I agree with you! I had almost the same experience. I guess I was a sophomore in high school when a friend came over, armed with a VHS tape and said “You’ve GOT to watch this movie!” It became an instant classic among my group of friends and for my birthday a little while later, that same friend gave me a copy of the paperback book. If you ever get a chance to read the book, do it! It’s very, very different from the movie and very, very good. 😉

    Now on another topic… where is Lexxie? She didn’t add her favorite movies? Hmm. I guess she forgot. 😦 Sorry, guys!

  3. Mary Preston Says:

    I have never see; “The Adventures of Buckaroo Banzai: Accross the Eigth Dimension”. I love INDEPENDENCE DAY.

  4. Courtney S Says:

    LOVED Buckaroo Bonzai!!! It’s such a cult classic…lol One of my fave quotes comes from that movie: “No matter where you go, there you are.”

  5. Ooh – forgot to tell Lexxie – I think Clancy Brown was the guard in Shawshank and he was also Rawhide in Buckaroo Banzai. And um… the badass bad guy in the first (and best) Highlander movie. Great actor! I’m so glad so many of you have heard of Buckaroo. If you haven’t – you “need see Buckaroo!” LOL!

Leave a Reply

