Favorite Things: Books – Mari and Lila

Mari’s top five favorite books. Man…I thought choosing favorite authors was tough. This one is brutal. Okay…here are my top five (and yes…I’m sort of cheating):

  1. The Harry Potter series. I’ve re-read them all. Love them all. Amazing world JK created. I’m in awe of her.
  2. The Outlander series–the first four. I sort of fell out of the series after that. Brianna and Roger never interested me as much as Claire and Jamie. My absolute favorites in the series are Outlander and Voyager. Embarrassed to tell you how many times I’ve read those two books!
  3. To Kill a Mockingbird. I’ve probably read this book more times than any story in my life. I bet I’ve tackled it nearly a hundred times. And I still cry at the end. Every single time.
  4. The Men of August series by Lora Leigh. This is the series that turned me on to erotic romance and changed my life. I was captured by the romance combined with red-hot sex. After reading these books, I knew I wanted to write erotic romance.
  5. Meg Cabot’s Mediator series. Love those books. I can’t tell you how depressed I was when I realized the series was over after book six.

Lila’s editorial comments on Mari’s picks:

Seriously, I do not get The Outlander series. I’m safe to say this, since last time I said this, to Mari’s face, she threw stuff at me, and I almost got back-alley jumped by some of the other IH girls who considered my lack of appreciation sacrilege. But I just wanted to scream at both of them most of the time. I’ve been told I need to re-read it in five years. You know what those books need? Cellphones. Those two could WORK SOME SHIT OUT if they had cell phones. True story. *ducks*

To Kill a Mocking Bird? Seriously? You’re putting that on your list? In that case I’m going to include A Clockwork Orange. Not. You’re kind of a dork. 😀

Lila’s list:

  1. The Amelia Peabody series by Elizabeth Peters. I love those books so very, very much. When I went away to camp (yes, band camp, you sickos) with people I didn’t know and was really homesick (I was 11) my Mom had slipped Crocodile on the Sandbank into my bag. I called home looking to be rescued and instead she told me to find the book she’d given me. I opened that book and lost myself in a world I’d never imagined. I was also a naive reader, and I really DIDN’T get what the hero’s dark glances met, because at that point the heroine didn’t either. I was SHOCKED and THRILLED when he professed his love. I will always love that book because when I re-read it I remember what it was like to not know how to read between the lines, or assume anything the narrator didn’t think or feel.
  2. Saving Grace by Julie Garwood. This is my go-to comfort book. I love, love, love this story. While I love all Julie Garwood’s historicals, and when/if I totally crack I’d probably kidnap her and lock her in a basement until she went back to writing Scottish historicals like I want, this is my all time favorite book.
  3. The Eyre Affair, by Jasper Fforde. This book is a must-read for Jayne Eyre fans. It’s an absolutly self-indulgent chance to run around inside that world, and imagine a reality were people can walk in and out of books through the Prose Portal.
  4. Sophie’s World, by Jostein Gaarder. This book blows my mind every time I read it. Also, no, it’s not Sophie’s CHOICE, it’s Sophie’s World, basically a book on philosophy. This book grounds me and helps me remember how big and small our world is. That’s right, I’m hella deep, people.
  5. Night Train to Memphis, by Elizabeth Peters. Okay, I know I’ve done this author already, but this is one of the best mystery and adventure books I’ve ever read, ever.

Mari’s Rebuttal to Lila…

Pfltttttttt!

Lila’s Rebuttal to the Rebuttal

You have to admit the cellphone thing had merit. Also, :p

Valerie’s comment:

I’ve never read the Outlander series either…  *ducks for cover*

J.R.s with Lila.

Started Outlander a few times and never made it very far. Bored. To. Tears.

K…who’s next on this post? hehe

Lila Says

I’ve got ma posse at my back. Marshall your offense, Mz. Carr. (also, we’re writing this is OCTOBER. What will this post look like when it actually goes up in December?)

Rhian is team Lila!

Jambrea Says:

I liked the first couple…then I got bored. I’m team Lila on this! It could have been one book and I’d have been happy. 🙂

Lila Says:

You know what I realized? We’re an instant gratification group of people. We want shit NOW. Look at the books we write, review and make the covers for. Subtly is wasted on us. None of this years and multiple books for happy endings. SWEET SWEET LOVING BY CHAPTER 3!

Jess says:

Okay, so I’m coming in late on this debate, but cell phones Lila? Really?

REALLY?

Did you have any understanding of the books whatsoever? Cell phones?

Jamie is one of the sexiest alpha heroes EVER. And when he sees Claire again, after she returns to him, and he faints…

OMG, I loved that scene!

 

6 Responses to “Favorite Things: Books – Mari and Lila”

  1. Mary Preston Says:

    If you are writing this is OCTOBER, I wonder if anyone has changed their mind since. I would have changed it over & over by now.

    This was the craziest post & I LOVED IT.

  2. HA HA HA HA … it’s like reading a HW thread in one blog!!!! Sorry, never read Outlander either, but Harry Potter RULES – that’s all!!!

    …and why is there snow falling on this page? Mari? Are you looking to get out of work? I know it’s NOT snowing where Lila lives – well, maybe it is…IDK

    LOVED this blog idea btw!!!! You gals are wonderful! CROWNS all around – it’s snowing again…damn

  3. I’m DYING!! Y’all are hilarious, as always!

    We are quite enjoying Harry Potter–I’d only gotten through the first bit of book 5 years ago, and am now reading these aloud with the kids. We’re halfway through Goblet of Fire, and boy, I’d forgotten a TON! If only we could drop out of the real world for a week and just READ! The kids are quite enjoying these and the older ones keep wanting to sneak off with the books and read ahead…

    Haven’t read Outlander, and from what I can tell, have no desire to. Too many other gratifying books on my TBR, including a bunch by you IHers (btw, write, everyone! WRITE!)

    I do love To Kill a Mockingbird–that was a fabulous book, even if I had to write papers about it in junior high and high school!

    Lila, I’ve never read Elizabeth Peters, but it sounds like I must!

    Love the snow!

  4. Ok, since I’ve been MIA this is the first post I’ve read in awhile and you all are hilarious. I too like TKAM and I would probably cry at the end too. I love Garwood’s The Secret it’s one of my comfort reads. Most of the others I havena read.
    Zina

  5. Jasper Fforde is great! Well, all of the Thursday Next books are a great deal of fun.

    Read about 1 1/2 books in the Outlander series. Just couldn’t go any further than that. Sorry about that Mari. As for the HP books, I actually haven’t read the last book because I don’t want it to end and that’s my feeble way of keeping it alive.

  6. Add me to the list of people who haven’t read Outlander. It really doesn’t interest me, but everyone I know who has read it loves it.

    Lora Leigh’s Breed series is what lead me to erotic romance.

Leave a Reply

