Giving Thanks–Rhian and Mari

Rhian and I are taking our turn on the blog today, sharing our lists of what we’re thankful for this year.

Mari: For me, this list is the same every year. I’m most grateful for my family–their health, their happiness, their humor. I am truly blessed. I’m also thankful for the roof over my head, the food in the fridge, warmth in the winter and cool air in the summer! I’ve had an incredible year as a writer. I pinch myself daily, still amazed to wake up in such a wonderful place. I’ve been very fortunate this year. Happy Thanksgiving to the American readers and hurray for the beginning of the holiday season.

Rhian: We don’t celebrate Thanksgiving in Oz. The one holiday that kind of follows a thankful vein is ANZAC Day. It’s held on April 25 every year and it began as a day to commemorate those Australian and New Zealand soldiers who landed on the sands of Gallipoli in 1915. These days it’s the day we thank and pay tribute to those who fought and served in any conflict. Every day I’m thankful for those who sacrificed it all for their country. To those that came before and those that will come after, I’m in awe of your courage and mateship in the face of such danger. In my family every generation from my father up to my great-grandfather has in someway served, even my grandmother served in WWII, and I’m thankful for that each of them made it home alive.

4 Responses to “Giving Thanks–Rhian and Mari”

  1. Mary Preston Says:

    ANZAC DAY & Remembrance Day are intertwined for me. A moment to pause & say thank you.

  2. Way to be all serious about this…As soon as I get back from the grocery store I’m adding pictures of what you two are REALLY thankful for to this post. You have been warned.

Leave a Reply

