Giving Thanks Week

We’re staring down the barrel of American Thanksgiving. This means many things–from now to Thursday it’s time to no-carb no-sugar crash diet, come Friday it’s full on materialistic holiday shopping glory, and across the airwaves and intertubes we’re getting “what I’m thankful for” theme-y, sweeping along even those who will not be doing profane things to poultry on Thursday.

Here on the IH blog it’s no different. Starting today each IH member is going post a little something they’re thankful for. I’m right now declaring “I’m thankful I don’t have to celebrate your politically incorrect American holiday” a cop-out answer from the Australians.

What am I thankful for?

Friends who don’t take themselves too seriously, and don’t let me do that either.

Life is dramatic and scary and hard. It’s easy to become bogged down in the drama, swept away by tension.

Shut up you stupid preachy graphic!

Unless you have friends who can help you keep it real.

This is the kind of keep it real stuff I'm talking about. Even if that woman looks like a Zombie-snake. Seriously, what's wrong with her FACE?

It’s easy, as a writer, to get lost in my own head, and I’m grateful for my friends in International Heat and Heat Wave Readers for helping me stay focused and grounded. Laughter, a vent session that’s met with uplifting silliness, and unending streams of photos of mostly-naked men are the kinds of things that keep me from becoming a Telanovela character.

Evil pie. Beware.

And gluttony. I’m also thankful for gluttony.

Edited to add:

I’m thankful that my mom is doing well post scary broken ankle surgery and that my friend rock and hit the NYT bestseller list!

7 Responses to “Giving Thanks Week”

  1. Mary Preston Says:

    I’m rather thankful that we don’t celebrate Thanksgiving in Australia, because the mere thought of trying pumpkin pie & I want to retch.

  2. Glad to hear mom is well. I thankful my mom n dad both made it safe through the Baja 1000 yesterday.

  3. Glad to hear that your mom is doing well. Oh Mary, pumpkin pie is actually really good. Especially with whipped cream on top.

  4. I’m glad your mom came through her surgery ok.
    I am thankful for my health (one of my co-workers was just diagnosed with stomach cancer @ age 25 & another is having brain surgery on Monday) & my family (both by blood & by choice).

  5. I’m so happy to hear your mom’s doing well, Lila! And LOL–friends ARE the best, aren’t they? Enjoy some good old-fashioned American eating this week 😉

  6. Thank you everyone. Now, if I could just convince my mom that she can’t cook thanksgiving dinner from a wheelchair when she’s supposed to be lying with her leg up, I’d be happy.

  7. Good luck convincing your mom wheel chairs don’t roll in the kitchen.

Leave a Reply

