Music to write to

So in keeping with “See You In My Dreams”  and the whole rock star/music theme, today I thought I’d post a few more songs that have inspired me while writing.

K, first up, the song that I played endlessly while writing Winter Fire: Lady Antebellum’s Need You Now. (God, I LOVE this song!!!)

Next one on the list is Lifehouse’s All In. This one, I confess I only heard after writing  Going All In, but I adore it, and can’t help but think how perfectly it goes with the book. I played it repeatedly while writing See You In My Dreams, Hidden Fire and Office Affair

.

Now this song, K’NAAN’s Waving Flag would inspire you no matter what you were trying to achieve. Played for the Soccer World Cup last year, it was also a favorite of mine while writing Island Idyll. Go on, admit, after hearing this, you’re grinning from ear to ear.

My last fave song to write is Maroon 5’s Won’t Go Home Without You. I’d like to specify which books I wrote to this, but honestly? I played it repeatedly through every book I’ve written since the song released.

So, how about you? Do you have any favorite songs that you simply have to work to? Or listen to repeatedly in the car? (You know, the ones that you sing with so much passion, the drivers in the car next to you start giving you funny looks.)

I’d love to hear them.

Jess

9 Responses to “Music to write to”

  1. My favorite song is I Won’t Let Go by Rascal Flatts. I always think of my kids when I hear it.

    Lisa

    • Lisa, Just clicked on the link. It’s playing right now. So beautiful, I’m in the process of downloading it from iTunes. (Is this the same song you mentioned before?)

      • It is one of them & it is my favorite. I also mentioned Bless the Broken Road & Life is a Highway. There are a so many more I like by Rascal Flatts, but who can list them all?

    • Oops, and now I just bought “What Hurts the Most” by them too.
      Um, and “Here Comes Goodbye.”
      Thank you!

  2. Great songs, Jess! So cool to hear what you were listening to when you wrote Island Idyll, the song is definitely grin-inducing.

    Lately I’ve been going through a country phase so I’m listening to Jake Owen, who I think is too yummy.

    “Don’t Think I Can’t Love You” http://youtu.be/1WNmmF9MCQc

    And I also really adore Gavin DeGraw, especially “I’m in Love with a Girl” http://youtu.be/3of_EN0XpxI

    and “I Don’t Wanna Be” http://youtu.be/8gFCW3PHBws

    • I agree, Jake Owen is yummy. Check out Barefoot Blue Jeaned Night by him.

    • Ok, Liz, so I’m not a country music fan, but man, Jake Owen can sing. How is that voice? Wow, kind of lifts you up and carries you away.

      And I’m ashamed to say I’ve never heard of Gavin DeGraw before, so thank you for introducing me to two new artsits.

  3. Oops, I forgot to put the links:

    Bless the Broken Road

    Life is a Highway

    Barefoot, Blue Jeaned Night

    BTW, Joe Don Rooney (blond guitar player in Rascal Flatts) is also good inspiration for See you in My Dreams

Leave a Reply

