What does Halloween mean to you?

This year is the first time that my over-seas hubby and I have the opportunity to partake in Halloween festivities. He’s only been in the US with me one other Halloween–last year, but my friend had her engagement part Halloween weekend, so we were more involved in wedding prep than ghost hunting.

This year I was determined to show my Irish hubby the best of American Halloween. (He’s still trying to figure out why one of my publishers is named Halloween/November.) He’s not a hard-core partier, so my old standby of ridiculous costumes and getting wasted wasn’t going to cut it.

Instead, we will be attending a college football game (this feels like a Halloween tradition, because when I was in school there were almost always games). Then we’re going to Knott’s Scary Farm–better known as Knott’s Halloween Haunt tomorrow night. On Monday we’re going to a friend’s house (they live in an affluent suburb) to gawk at trick or treaters.

If you were going to introduce someone to Halloween, what would you do?

2 Responses to “What does Halloween mean to you?”

  1. I think you can’t really go wrong with passing out candy for trick-or-treat. It’s such a treat for the adults to see the kids as their eyes light up and they go racing from house to house. Sit on the porch with the pumpkins (after you carve them of course!), sip hot spiced cider and laugh at the costumes and the kids.

  2. Mary Preston Says:

    We don’t celebrate Halloween here in Australia. I get my Halloween fix via the Internet.

Leave a Reply

