Why I Write What I Write ~ The Horror Edition

You’ve been here with me before, haven’t you? To the dark, twisted, disturbing place in my mind where my horror tales live? The place where simple canvases can become instruments of sexual assault, where blood-red marble sculptures of naked women can propell a simple man into decadent, demonic hell with just a single touch…

It often surprises me that my mind is responsible for the “creepy as sh*t mind-f*ck” (Kelli Collins, my Ellora’s Cave editor) that is Endless Lust. I mean, I am quite a loopy, silly person by nature. I don’t walk around seeing the macabre in all things. I like to laugh and love the light (Go into the liiiight). I am responsible for the “hilarious” erotic comedy (also Kelli) Copping A Feel after all.

I do however, look at an old house and ponder how many ghosts walk its tired hallways. I do wonder about the way a cat’s eyes reflect green light (the liiiiiight, child. Go into the liiiiiiiight) and how it would be easy for a dispossessed soul to hide within the feline’s warm body…

Perhaps this is because I started reading Stephen King when I was eight. Perhaps this is because my brothers, God love them, held me down and made me watch Dr. Who when I was five (the Cybermen scared me so much I still have nightmares about expressionless metal men). But I think it’s because the adrenaline rush of being scared is on parr with the rush of being aroused. Yes, I know that sounds weird, but there it is. I’ve discussed this in great length in a post way back in May last year. To really get into my mind, check it out. For now, I’m leaving you with my Top Five Horror tales…just be sure you have a torch. It’s going to get dark.

1/ Stephen King’s IT

The ultimate scary-as-sh*t story. Seriously, King is a master. If only I could write one-tenth as amazingly as he does. Pennywise has forever made me petrified of clowns.

2/ Candyman

This movie scared me witless as a teenager. I think my best friend at the time almost broke my fingers squeezing my hand so tightly while we watched it during one particularly insane horror movie marathon-slash-sleepover. To this day I cannot stand in front of my mirror and say “Candyman” three times.

3/ Poltergeist

Do I need to say anything else?

4/ Edgar Allen Poe’s The Pit and the Pendulum

Seriously, I read this in my second year of English Lit. at university and it gave me chills. Chills.

5/ Stephen King’s Pet Sematary

The first horror book of my reading life and, quite possibly, the greatest influence on my writing style when writing horror romance.

Still with me?

BOO!

🙂

 

 

9 Responses to “Why I Write What I Write ~ The Horror Edition”

  1. Stephen King was the first author I had a serious crush on (yes, I know, bizarre) – I DEVOURED everything he wrote (I was probably 15 when I first read his books)…I loved horror movies as a kid – Halloween was my absolute favorite and to this day, I can’t listen to Blue Oyster Cult’s Don’t Fear the Reaper without having chills…oh and because of Friday the 13th movies, I am TERRIFIED to camp outside with my son in the woods! Neurotic, hell yeah! Thanks for the post Lexxie, awesome as usual!!!

    • I was a huge Jason fan….right up until they made that Friday the 13th film where he’s in space? WTF? 🙂

      I’ve just finished King’s Under the Dome. Man, there’s some chilling writing in there…

  2. Nancy Gilliland Says:

    I think the two scariest books Stephen King ever wrote were Cujo and The Stand, because they are things that could actually happen. I’ve always feared that the givernment would lose control of an experiment or two, and King gave is such a realistic turn-scared the daylights out of me. But I do love the book.

    • Oh, Cujo. That book gave me the heebee-jeebees big time. But I sobbed like a baby after I read it because I felt so sorry for the dog. Not having rabies in Australia made it really hard for me to understand what the hell was going on at first. Still, poor dog…

  3. *shudder* I am a total wimp when it comes to horror. I do read some romantic suspense but that is as far as I go. I am so suggestive that I end up with nightmares or in a bad mood if I read/watch scary stuff.

    I wonder if I wrote scary stuff if it would help that??? Questions to ponder…

  4. I can’t watch scary stuff to save my life, but I’d happily read your horror, Lexxie! (With the lights on, of course!)

  5. OMG! Love It. Even the adaptation was great. Have you ever seen The Hitcher with Rutger Hauer? Holy cow! I have seen it at least a dozen times and it still scares me! Your book Endless Lust still makes me too nervous to read it. I am such a wimp!

  6. I don’t mind scary and creepy in my books..but not in movies.(Although I’m not a big movie fan to begin with.)

  7. Lex- while I LOVE your endless Lust cover that clown just gave me the creeps!! I hate IT- I still have nightmares as an adult of that clown.
    Books I can handle it in But those movies … I can’t handle.

Leave a Reply

