Nine Naughty Novelists Day 3

DAY THREE

About Erin Nicholas

Erin Nicholas is the author of sexy contemporary romances for Samhain publishing. Her stories have been described as toe-curling, enchanting, steamy and fun. She loves to write about reluctant heroes, flawed heroines, sex with food and happily ever afters. She does not like to write dark moments, synopses or bios. You can find Erin on the web at www.ErinNicholas.com, www.ninenaughtynovelists.blogspot.com, on Twitter and even on Facebook (when necessary).

Naughty Tip 3: Doing Naughty Home Maintenance
Anything can be naughty if you’re in the right mood with the right person—even checking electrical wiring! It’s important to be careful though when using tools and messing with things like electricity—the tingles you want shouldn’t be the ones you get from being zapped by a live wire! Now, I personally know nothing about home repairs, but there’s nothing sexier than a man who can *ahem* take care of things around the house. If you don’t mind getting dirty and sweaty, naughty home maintenance might be for you! Here are some tips for getting naughty with home repair:

  1. Have the right tools for the job. Sure, screwdrivers and wrenches are good, but some breath mints, cute panties and condoms should be on the prep list too.
  2. Don’t overdress. Yes, you might get hot and dirty—that’s the point right? But don’t take the “work clothes” idea too far. Baggy t-shirts and cut off sweat pants are a no. Showing a little skin is fine. You’re not going to actually be getting any work done anyway.
  3. Positioning is very important. You want to use good body mechanics (wouldn’t want anyone straining anything). But bending and twisting and stretching is fine!
  4. Be sure that if you’re going to use a surface of any kind for anything that it’s sturdy and can hold up under the pressure you’re going to put on it.
  5. Don’t forget to hit the showers afterward. And all of the above tips apply to showers too!

Excerpt: Just Like That

There’s some sexy fixin’ in Just Like That, the second of the Bradford books (out in print May 5th!) Warning: Contains a I’ll-do-it-myself girl who can fix anything, a commitment-phobic guy who can’t fix anything, and a whole new way to use butter. Yes, butter.

“I’ll check the wiring.”

“You’re going to check the wiring?” he said with a smile.

She raised an eyebrow. “Not if you’re going to act like that.”

“Like what?”

“Like you can’t believe that a woman would know how to check the wiring in a ceiling fan.”

“I guess while you’re up on the table I can check out your butt.”

“Good. Be chauvinistic. That will help.”

He chuckled. “I was just kidding. What will it help?”

“Me not like you so much.”

“You can’t help liking me, Dani,” he said, huskily, pulling her closer.

He was right. Unfortunately. “Get me a screwdriver already,” she said, pushing him back before she got too comfortable up against him. “And don’t call me Dani.”

Read more here

*****


Chapter One: The Duke Takes a Powder

Wherein the Duke, upon finding himself in Dun Street, opts for a Daring and Adventurous solution to his monetary embarrassment.

It is a truth universally acknowledged that a duke attempting to avoid his guardian must be in possession of a Very Good Excuse.
“Oh hullo, Uncle,” Colin Darcy, Duke of Earl, stammered as he stepped into the drawing room (where he’d had good reason to believe his uncle was not present), “I was just going…um…hunting. Yes, hunting. For, well, foxes. Or possibly rabbits. Maybe pheasants.”
“Sit down,” Uncle Willoughby growled.
“Actually, I heard there was a wolf in the neighborhood,” Colin continued. “The tenants will undoubtedly expect me to take care of it.”
Continue reading…

13 Responses to “Nine Naughty Novelists Day 3”

  1. Mary Preston Says:

    All this time I’ve been calling in tradesmen. Well, I did need the job done properly.

  2. My favorite part of this book is the banter over “the rules” between guys in the Center’s kitchen. Love the guys!

    “Next, no thinking about her after she is out of sight.”

    “How will we know she’s out of sight if we can’t watch her leave?”

  3. Love the tips. Also, make sure the kids aren’t at home either.

  4. Actually, my DH likes the baggie tshirt and sweatpants. Of course, he also loves when I wear the naughty underthings under the tshirt and sweatpants. Hmmm, have to think about this some more. Maybe do some field tests!

  5. All very good tips, #4 is particularly good, don’t need to wind up in the emergency room!

  6. LOL! Great tips! DH and I really do need to call professionals when it comes to projects we want a hope of being done properly, but I will have to keep the list handy for our next DIY 🙂

  7. I love Just Like That. I read that series three times.

  8. Ain’t nuthin wrong with buttah lovin’.

    My Hubs can fix anything. I sometimes wish he’d leave the electrical stuff to the experts but so far he hasn’t blown himself up. He’s a master mechanic, so I guess anything with parts, whether moving or no, makes sense to him. We couldn’t live in a 60 year old house if he weren’t Mr. Fix It.

  9. Kinsey, such a house would be falling down around our ears 😉 Your DH sounds like he’s awfully good with his hands 😉

  10. Yep, they’re big and rough and handy. Great back rubs.

    Erin, please tell me the butter isn’t used as lube. I read that in a book once. I just think dairy products all up in your ladybits sounds very unhygienic.

  11. Great tips.I totally agree with making sure the surface is sturdy 😉

  12. Butter lovin’ is good lovin’! lol

    Today’s winner is JeanP! Email me at skylarkade@gmail.com with your preferred e-book format.

  13. Katherine Says:

    Naughty home maintenance. I love it! Now I just have to figure out a way to do home maintenance with hubby after the kids are asleep….

Leave a Reply

