Suzanne Brockmann

Okay…I will be the first to admit…I wasn’t sure on starting the Brockmann Troubleshooter series. BUT…Brockmann is on of Jayne Rylon’s ALL time favorite authors and since Jayne is one of MY favorite authors…I gave it a shot. I mean…Jayne told me she thought Magnus had a similur feel to it as Brockmann’s military books and that is a BIG complement from her. So…I took the plunge. I liked the first book, Unsung Hero. My favorite part was the WWII flash backs. I LOVED those. So…okay…I went on to book two, Defiant Hero. Again…good book, but my favorite parts were the WWII flash backs. I loved them! Then it was on to book 3, Over the Edge and Stan. Oh…man…I LOVE Stan. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE him. *sigh* I want a Stan of my very own. lol After reading book three…I couldn’t put them down. One after the other.

The reason I wanted to push through the books is…Jules. I knew he was getting a bigger story and I loved the little that I’d seen of his character. His wedding…TOTALLY awesome. *sigh* Robin really pulled himself together. And I even read the Adam and Tony story that came with my autographed copy of the new book. I want MORE of a story on Adam and Tony. I’d like to see what she could do with a Seal that is active duty and gay.

Top three guys:

Stan

Cosmos

Sam

Izzy is right up there too! I’m on book 13 right now and Izzy is shining. I only have 3 books after this one to be up to date.

Females that I like in the series

Eden – She needs to grow up a little, but I already like her. I’m not too happy with her brother. *sigh* lol

Teri

Lindsey – OMG…Big girl crush on this character. I LOVE her.

You know…I’m really liking her girl characters more and more. I did NOT like Lys at first. But…she grew on me and Sam loves her…so…you know…AND…she is Jules best friend. Gotta love that. Oh…Ric and Annie. Annie ROCKS! I want to be her when I grow up.

Favorite characters – Jules and Robin. I wanted to slap Robin a couple times, but he had a lot to deal with. Jules is just…the ULTIMATE character. I love him. He kind of reminds me of Carol Lynne’s Nate from her Cattle Valley series. Not sure why…he just really does.

Yes…I know it sounds crazy and yes I know these aren’t REAL people…lol But I had to break it down. I’m VERY happy I listened to Jayne and read this series. The suspense in Brockmann’s later books is OFF the chart. It had me on the edge of my seat in a few books. This is just a REALLY solid series and thank you Jayne for telling me to read it. Β πŸ™‚

Are there any series out there that you were reluctant to read, but when you did…WOW…you loved it? A series you aren’t sure of that maybe someone has read that they can convince YOU to take the plunge and read it?

16 Responses to “Suzanne Brockmann”

  1. Mary Preston Says:

    My daughter is reading a Robin Hobb series she is raving about & insisting I read. I don’t know the name of the series. Maybe I will, maybe I won’t.

    • jambrea Says:

      You know…I think I’ve heard of that series. It is hard for me to get into a genre that I don’t normally read. With Brockmann it was easy because I love those types of books.

      I think a good rule of thumb with a new series is give it at least 3 books before you give up. Because by then the author has gotten into their stride and if they can’t convince you…then it is time to start something different. πŸ™‚

  2. Susie B Says:

    I think your right about the three books if its a long series, but if it’s a short series 3 to 5 books, then they only get three to five chapters of the first book.

    I love it that we can now check out some digital books from libraries. I am hoping eventually that Carol Lynne, T.A. Chase, Amy Lane, Bronwyn Green, Brynn Paulin, Andrew Grey, Anny Cook, Jambrea and other favorite authors will be able to have books checked out at the library, but not yet in my local area. I love to try before I buy.

    An acquaintance friend at the book store recommended The Sons of Destiny which is a Fantasy series by Jean Johnson. Most libraries either have some of them or can get them in from other libraries to borrow. I own all of them and most of her other books now. I LOVE them. She is now almost up there with Carol and TA on my list of favorite authors.

    • jambrea Says:

      I think even if it is a short series, I’d at least give them to book 2.

      I’m with you…I like to try before I buy too. lol I’ve done that with a few series. Checked them out at the library. Then…bought them. πŸ™‚

      I’ll have to look at the Sons of Destiny. Thanks Susie! πŸ™‚

  3. Susie B Says:

    Oh I forgot! I wanted to say I absolutely LOVE Jules!
    My Dad who used to only read Mysteries, Westerns and a few Thrillers, now reads some Suspense Romances because I talked him into reading Suz Brockmann’s Troubleshooters. He even read the Wedding book and said it was okay. Of course he only started reading the series because he was completely Bored, but hey, now he goes and checks them out of the library himself.

    • jambrea Says:

      That is so totally cool! Suspense Romance is my favorite. Probably why I write so much of it! lol πŸ™‚ Brockmann really do have great story lines.

  4. Courtney S Says:

    OMG!!!! I LOVE the Troubleshooters!! My faves are WildCard, Sam (of course), & Jules. Sam, Cosmo, Max, Jules, & Izzy are my fave books.

    • jambrea Says:

      WildCard is good too. I loved Mark’s story and Jenk’s too. I’m slowing down some…just a little. I like the Izzy story line, but am trying to get into the main couples story. And Gill…I’m TOTALLY not happy with him. lol And I’m not done yet, but I TOTALLY want Dave to get the girl. I didn’t at first…but…Deck is making me upset. She deserves better…and um…if you’ve read the series….I hope you know what I”m talking about. ROFL! So I’m crossing my fingers that Brockman gets Sophie and Dave together. *sigh* And…the Nash story line…Darn it. He needs to talk to Tess. AND to Deck. Even Dave. He needs help.

  5. The In Death series gets raves (it’s Nora, what’s not to love), but there are so many books I just can’t see starting now.

    I’ve also heard good (and bad) things about Christine Feehan’s Carpathian series, but again, that’s a lot of books just to catch up.

    Agency pricing has also stopped me from trying new series and even continuing with series I already enjoy.

    • jambrea Says:

      I LOVE the In Death series. BUT…I don’t read a lot of Nora books. lol Just the JD Robb ones.

      I’m not a fan of the Carpathian series. BUT…I like her military one.

      I agree…pricing has gone crazy! lol

  6. Courtney S Says:

    Jambi, I know EXACTLY where you are in the series & I can safely (no spoilers) say that won’t be disappointed. Suz has said that Izzy’s book is her last Troubleshooter story “for a while”, so you have plenty of time to catch up…lol
    I still needs to read Adam & Tony’s book (gonna get it when it comes out in ebook in June) though. I’d like to see THAT douche (Adam) meet his match.

    • jambrea Says:

      Jayne did say that Izzy was the last for a while. πŸ™‚

      I actually like Adam. He needed to grow up. I just wish his story was longer. *sigh* I really, really, really like Tony. πŸ™‚

  7. I love Troubleshooters. I want to be Jules best friend. I love Cosmo. He is so…Ohhh. I have some songs on my iPod that always make me think of the series. I am so glad Adam got his HEA.

  8. I absolutely LOVE Suzanne Brockmann and have almost read everything she’s written! I didn’t read all the above comments so you may know already but in June she is releasing an ebook titled “When Tony Met Adam”. Yes it is the same Adam that dated Jules and messed around with Robin in prior books but in this one he catches the attention of Tony Vlachic a handsome Navy Seal and it will no doubt be a great short story! Since Suzanne says she is taking an extended break from the Troubleshooters series and I’m a junkie for it I’ll take whatever I can get LOL! Oh and you could move right on to her Tall, Dark & Dangerous series which is just as awesome!
    Enjoy πŸ™‚
    Cindi Mitchell

  9. jambrea Says:

    I have read When Tony Met Adam. I read it right after the wedding book. I got it when I purchased the newest book through Brockmann’s virtual signing. πŸ™‚ I’m almost done with Into the Fire. So only a few more left. πŸ™‚ I don’t know about starting the other series. Um…I have to get back to writing SOMETIME. ROFL!

    Thanks Cindi! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

