I have a secret…

Okay… it’s not that big of a secret.  Here it is: I’m a writer too.  Not a published writer, mind you, but a writer nonetheless.  I’ve actually submitted a book.  I got an R & R (revise and resubmit).  It’s been resubmitted.  Eeek.

I’ve actually been writing for a long time.  I’ve got folders and folders filled with stories and ideas. I just never got from A-Z in the stories.  Until recently.  Some of them are A-B-C.  Some are B-L-Z.  And all flavors in between.

So why start writing now?  Well, oddly enough, I was recently diagnosed with sleep apnea.  I now have a sleep machine.  What does that have to do with writing?  Believe it or not, dreams.  This machine gives me the ability to sleep and have REM sleep.  The dreams are vivid.  Extremely detailed and vivid. 

Now I have an outlet for these dreams.  Writing.  As soon as I get up, I write down the basic plot points from the dreams.  And when I have time (ha!), I sit down and write.  Wild, huh? I thought that maybe I could have a chance at becoming a published author.

One story is at the editor’s now.  And another story is going to be submitted for an anthology call at Samhain. 

Crazy?  Probably.  Fun?  Yes.  Immensely.

Who knows what the future holds?  I have no idea, but the journey sure is fun. 🙂

5 Responses to “I have a secret…”

  1. Mary Preston Says:

    That’s a great secret. I hope it will not stay a secret for long & that the world will soon discover you.

  2. Junegirl63 Says:

    Good luck! I hope both stories get picked up:)

  3. That’s wonderful Val I wish you much much luck!!!
    Zina

  4. I don’t doubt you can do anything you set your mind to, Valerie. 🙂 Can’t wait to hear about your “call” story! Best of luck with your submissions…please keep us posted!

  5. Marika Weber Says:

    Sorry so late to the party but that I wanted to say congratulations and good luck. My dad has a sleep machine and his dreams are pretty vivid, too. Let us know the outcome one way or another.

Leave a Reply

