Horrotica Here I Come (Petrified, I Have To Admit)

This Friday my horrotica, Endless Lust, is released at Ellora’s Cave. I’m honestly petrified. I am utterly proud of Endless Lust but, let’s be honest here, it’s NOT a light and fluffy rom-com. It’s NOT Triple Dare. It’s Stephen King-meets-Edgar Allen Poe-meets-psycho stalker-meets Vincent Van Gogh. I honestly have no clue how the romance reading world is going to respond to it. Hopefully no one will send an exorcism team to my door.

But, because I am a nice person, I thought I should give you all a little snippet as a warning (if you will). Any thoughts or opinions will be greatly appreciated (if nothing else, to prepare me for what will come after the 25th)

Seven Deadly Daemons, Book Two

Cate Sinclair’s life is ruled by lust. Day and night, awake and dreaming, an unseen force plies her with pleasure to the point of pain. Each orgasm wrenched from her exhausted body stealing her energy, her very essence, until insanity seems a sweet relief.

When Eamon enters her life, Cate’s uncertain if the gorgeous, enigmatic man is her salvation…or the cause of her worst nightmares.

Reader Advisory: Our heroine endures endless amounts of forced seduction. But how do you fight advances from an enemy you can’t see?

***

It took Cate a good fifteen minutes to pluck up the courage to slide her key into her apartment door lock when she made it home. The trip had been uneventful, with no traffic jams, rude Mercedes drivers or impatient, elderly Volvo drivers to torment her nerves. But by the time she’d turned onto her street—a quiet, one-way lane crowded on one side with parked cars—her heart had started slamming against her breastbone again.

She stood motionless, the fingers of her left hand curled around the doorknob, the key like ice against the fingers of her right, the silence of the hallway around her a deafening roar that made her want to scream.

Gnawing on her bottom lip, she stared hard at the plane of wood before her. “What are you waiting for?”

The door didn’t answer.

“Is there something waiting for me on the other side?” she whispered, her throat thick. “Like, maybe my sanity?”

Still the door remained silent.

Jesus, Cate. Get a grip.

Grinding her teeth, she slid the key in the keyhole with one swift shove and pushed her door wide open.

Her living room sat before her in the exact condition she’d left it that morning.

Left? Don’t you mean fled?

She huffed out a disgusted sigh and crossed the threshold before closing the door and throwing her keys—now not so icy cold—on the side table. Stomping over to her armchair, she dropped into it, snatching at the television remote as she did so. Nothing was going to happen to her. Nothing. This was the real world and in the real world, women didn’t have unexplained orgasms at work. In the real world, the words one typed on one’s keyboard were the words that appeared on one’s monitor.

In the real world, she wasn’t scared of her own apartment.

With a nod, she turned on the TV, squinting a little at the sudden bright light as she flicked through the stations, stopping when she found a rerun of a mindless sitcom. “Just what I need,” she murmured, scrunching down into the familiar comfort of her chair and tossing the remote aside. “Canned laughter and predictable zingers.”

Onscreen, the promiscuous bachelor insulted his divorced brother about his chosen attire for a visit to a strip joint.

Cate released a slow breath, letting the banality of the moment wash over her. Whatever had been going on today, it was finished. Done with. Tomorrow she’d start the day refreshed and her computer would write exactly what she typed. Period.

“Going to fuck you now, Cate.”

She jerked her stare from the television—and gazed up at a man standing before her.

He towered over her, his features shrouded darkness.

“Going to make you mine.”

Her heart leapt into her throat, her pussy constricting immediately at the sound of his voice. “Yes,” she moaned.

He grabbed her wrists and yanked her from the chair, spinning her around to throw her against the wall. Hard. His hands ripped at her clothes, her shirt first, tearing her neckline apart, the soft cotton screaming as he jerked the garment over her shoulders. She moaned again, the raw sound captured by his brutal mouth, his tongue plunging past her lips before she could stop him. He sucked at her bottom lip as his hands moved to her breasts, cupping each curve of flesh with greedy hunger.

She bucked against him, her pussy wet. So wet.

He pinched her nipples, his fingers working the distended points of flesh, pulling, flicking until she bucked again, her sex throbbing and heavy with a caustic desire she couldn’t deny.

She whimpered, the sound escaping his ravishing kiss. He snarled, jerking back just enough to spin her until she faced away from him. His hands reclaimed her body, rough and unforgiving. He slammed her against the wall again, one hand groping her breast, the other wrapped around her neck, forcing her head to the side.

“I’m going to fuck you now, Cate.”

The words didn’t leave his lips but he spoke them all the same. A promise she ached for him to deliver.

Still forcing her head to the side, his eyes ablaze with lust, he pressed her upper body to the icy concrete wall, the heat of the hand on her breast a burn she would feel forever.

“I want you so badly.”

His hand raked from her breast to her fly, yanking it open, his fingers plunging between her legs. He entered her, two fingers. Delving deeper. Deeper.

She felt his palm grind against her clit, concentrated pleasure shooting through the swollen nub of flesh into her very center. Oh, yes…yes…

He plunged his fingers in and out of her sex, his hot breath ragged against her neck, his cock rubbing against the cleft of her ass cheeks, the denim of her jeans an insubstantial shield. And then his dick pressed her bare flesh—skin on burning skin—and she stood crushed between him and the wall, naked and whimpering words she couldn’t fully understand. Pleading words, beggin him to stop, to give her more.

For a split moment she wondered where her clothes had gone, her heart hammering into her throat, her nipples so hard she was in pain. Where had her clothes gone and how had he made them disappear? But his hungry mouth assaulted her neck and that brief moment of lucidity was ripped away when a raw cry escaped her lips. A word she did understand—yes.

She cried out her acquiescence in a single sound and his fingers drove deeper inside her. Wriggling. Squirming. Seeking her very womb. Stretching her.

Filling her.

“You’re mine, Cate. Mine!”

The statement sank into her ear. Even as her climax detonated in her core and incinerated her to—

Cate jolted awake, her scream echoing in her ears.

****

So there’s a little snippet. It’s a fairly tame one but the books standards. But it does give you a clue as to the tone of the book. Any thoughts? Should I be worried? Go into hiding? Make a T-shirt that reads “I’m Disturbed’?

And for those interested, Book One of the Seven Deadly Daemons series can be found here (a rather disturbing book called Timeless Wrath which won the Just Erotic Romance Reviews Silver Star Award for awesomeness when it was released *grin* Not that I’m boasting or anything.)

13 Responses to “Horrotica Here I Come (Petrified, I Have To Admit)”

  1. Marika Weber Says:

    I guess I’m weird because I liked it. I’m thinking that she is dreaming this but it is real to her. I find that interesting not weird. I honestly can’t wait to read it. Its different and edgy. Plus, I love Stephen King!

    • Marika, I will never ever consider you weird for liking something I’ve written. Ever. I promise 😀

      And oh, God, Stephen King is my idol! I so wanted to be him when I grew up. Roland of Gillead from the Dark Tower series is my favourite favourite favourite character EVER!

  2. YES! I love it. I think it’s frightening and sexy. I love horror.

    I’m working on one for this line, and like you, I have no idea how the romance world will react to it. It’s been enormously fun to write though. Good for you for putting yourself out there. I can tell you I’ll be buying this one for sure!

  3. Definitely different. Not sure good different or bad. The writing is excellent. The scene well done. The emotions come across well. The tension grew fantastically. And it’s really dark and scary. You should have some really interesting reviews.

    • LOL It’s those “interesting reviews” that I’m worried about, Terri…and excited about at the same time. There’s another five books in the series after this (the next one is titled Molten Pride) so whether good or bad reviews, there’s so much more to come 😉

      Thanks for the feedback. Made me feel infinitely more calm 🙂

  4. Mary Preston Says:

    It is NOT light & fluffy but hot & heavy. I was concerned until I actually read the excerpt. Maybe I am the disturbed one, I did not find it too much for me to handle. Do I want to read more? Not too sure about that just yet.

  5. It made my insides shake. Is that good? I guess becuase it elicited a strong response. I need to know more. Also a good response. Congrats on the new release.

  6. Hahaha, well everybody needs a little scary in their life. I’m buying it, so i’m ready 🙂

  7. Patricia K Says:

    it sounds like a great book

  8. I read it and its utterly fantastic! I cannot wait to read more. 🙂

Leave a Reply

