Serial Eater

So, following on from my serial reader post yesterday, I thought I’d focus on something a little different.

Food.

Yep, I’m all about food. I love it. Everything about it. Food makes me happy. It makes me content. It makes me smile.

I love it so much, I even hint at in my tagline for my pen name:

Jess Dee

Dee-liciously Sexy Romance.

(Yeah, I know, pathetic. But come on. What makes you happier than a creamy, dee-licious piece of chocolate? Don’t tell me sex. I won’t believe it.)

I’m not sure about you, but I tend to go through stages with food. Times when I have to have certain foods at least once a day. No, I’m not talking about starches or proteins or anything quite so sophisticated like that. I’m talking about that yummy something, that is so moreish, you just gotta have one (or 21) everyday.

So, of late I’ve had a certain hankering for the following:

Ben and Jerry’s hit Australian shores last year. Right now it’s only available in certain shops and delis, and it costs an untold fortune. (Er, $12 for less than 500ml!) But dear God, it is worth every penny. Over our holiday in Queensland, I found I had to have it everyday. (Yes, I am a junkie, and I was on holiday. So I was allowed.) Flavors are limited here, but seriously? When you have Phish Food there is really no need for another flavor ice cream, ever.

Ah, see coffee never used to be a big thing in my life. In fact I never actually liked the bitter brew. Now? Cannot go a day without my weak, skim latte, one sweetener. If I do, I start to go into withdrawal. Oh, yeah, and I become a snippy little bitch. But put a take away cup filled with that addictive drink in my hand, and I am the sweetest person on earth.

Here’s one I bet you never expected. Olive dip/spread. OMG…YUM! I am so sick of cereal or peanut butter on toast for breaky. I need something different. And olive spread on toast. Mm, mm, mmmm. Satisfies every savory craving I have.

Now here’s a food I never knew existed until I arrived in Oz. Jelly snakes. (Ah, yeah, I can hear you all snickering. I’m talking lollies here, people. Candy. Food. Nothing else!)

These little suckers, er snakes, are so damn good. Ya know when you’re scratching around in your pantry, desperate for something sweet, but not too big? Snakes hit the spot every time. And the ones in this image, well, they’re pythons. Suitable for the larger appetite.  (Yeah, so much more suited to me than plain ol’ snakes.)

What? You thought I couldn’t be healthy? Hey, it’s summer here. The fruit is unbelieveably good. And nothing beats a crunchy, not quite ripe yellow nectarine in my eyes.

Oh, er, um…how did  a pic of Eric Northman get in here?

Okay, I confess. I slipped it in. The man may not be a food, but… if I could lick him at least once everyday, I would.

🙂

So, anyone have any suggestions of moreish type foods I can sink my teeth into? What is that one food you just have to eat every damn day?

Jess

20 Responses to “Serial Eater”

  1. Mary Preston Says:

    I could happily drown in a tub of ice-cream or make myself sick eating nectarines. I can’t get through the day without munching on some nuts – Brazil Nuts are the current favourite.

    • Ah, Mari, initially I thought…a woman after my own heart.
      Then you mentioned Brazil nuts.
      Funny, that. Gimme almonds, pistachios, cashews and macadamias any day over Brazil.
      Guess it’s a personal thing, huh?

  2. I agree that Ben & Jerry’s is awesome, although somewhat more reasonably priced here. About $4 or less for a pint depending on where you live and then some places, like Huntsville (a city I live 30 min from or so) has a Ben & Jerry’s store. Phish Food is darn good, but if you get a flavor called Creme Brulee, you MUST get it. It is a really smooth, creamy custard vanilla ice cream with ribbons of carmelized sugar in it. Sooooo good. 🙂 (If there was possibly a way I could ship it to you without it melting I would, but don’t think that is feasible. lol)

    Some snacks I’ve been partaking more of lately are Goldfish Crackers, Animal Crackers, and like your jelly snakes, there are other gummy treats that I like such as sour gummy worms, gummy bears, and assorted gummy fruit rings (apple, watermelon).

    Healthy stuff that’s a must… Honeycrisp Apples, but they are only prominent in summer/fall and good granny smith apples, grapes, strawberries, fresh juicy peaches. (Gah, I’m so freaking ready for spring to be here it’s unbelievable.)

    So there are some regulars that I have usually if I want a snack I just grab real quick. Now, a constant every day thing I HAVE to have? Coffee, specifically Dunkin Donuts Dark coffee with either Creme Brulee coffeemate creamer or french vanilla coffeemate creamer.

    Alrighty, I’ll zip it now… Just thought I would share some favorites. 🙂

    • Er, Meg? Do you have space for me at your dining room table? Please?
      Reading your comment just made my mouth water.
      Sigh. Creme brulee flavored B and J’s?
      A gift from the gods, for sure.

      • LOL… Suuure… for dinner tonight we are having steak & roasted potatoes. Yum! 🙂

        and yes, the creme brulee is definitely a gift from the gods… Now I need to get some. Oooo, also there are some ice cream bars that are darn tasty. They aren’t Ben & Jerry’s but they are so good. They are Dove Ice Cream bars. It is creamy custard like ice cream coated with a thick layer of milk chocolate, dark chocolate, or milk chocolate with almonds. Yum also! 🙂

  3. Got to have my coffee!!!! It’s a must and it must be immediate. I have been known to fight for coffee. Yes, going through Army basic training the drill sergeants told all trainees that we could have no coffee. I decided to play their silly game until we went out into the woods and it was darn cold. Screw this!!!! I informed a couple of drills that I was cold and old and I was drinking the cup of coffee that I flinched from the mess tent. When our huge 1st SGT came over, I told him the same thing. After being asked how old was I, he informed everyone that I was old enough to have coffee. I was 33.

    I don’t have any other must have every day. I do love fresh fruit and have been known to eat an entire pint of blueberries on the way home from work. Sweets and ice cream, I’m okay as long as I dont’ start eating them. Once started, I will eat every day, several times a day, until gone.

    Ben and Jerry’s do make some awesome ice creams. You do know that you can tour their factory!

  4. I do like Ben & Jerry’s…but I’m sticking with Cherry Garcia and Chocolate Fudge Brownie for right now….I also like Hagen Daz Vanillla…I too live for my coffee and a Starbucks White Chocolate Mocha is my weakness right now…I also like their Skinny Vanilla Latte …with two sticks of honey:)…

    • Oooh, have you tried the Haagen Daz Dulche De leche? I swear, it is sinful. Just wish we could get it here.
      As for Cherry Garcia… you are welcome to every last drop of it. Cherries and choc in ice cream => not for me.

  5. Blueberry Boy Bait (I swear that’s the real name of my favorite blueberry cake). I love it and could eat it every day. It’s great warm with whipped cream, cold with whipped cream, or without whipped cream. I made it this morning and brought it in warm with whipped cream this morning to celebrate Valentine’s Day with everyone in my office.

    I won’t let myself make it unless I am going to a party or bringing it into work because I can eat the whole 9 x 13 pam myself.

    • I think it’s only fair you post the recipe for this Boy Bait, Lisa.

      • You asked:

        Blueberry Boy Bait

        Ingredients
        • 2 cups all-purpose flour
        • 1 1/2 cups white sugar
        • 2/3 cup butter
        • 2 teaspoons baking powder
        • 1 teaspoon salt
        • 2 eggs
        • 1 cup milk
        • 1 cup blueberries
        • ½ cup Cinnamon and Sugar
        Directions
        1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease and flour a 9×13 inch baking dish.
        2. Bake for 40 to 50 minutes in the preheated oven, or until the cake springs back when lightly touched in the center.

        My changes:

        1. Whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose flour
        2. Increase it to 3 – 4 cups of blueberries
        3. Non-stick spray
        4. I never measure the cinnamon and sugar, I just coat the entire top.

      • I noticed all the directions did not come through –

        Mix the first seven ingredients together. Spread in 9 x 13 pan. Place blueberries on top and sprinkle with cinnamon/sugar.

        Hopefully this makes more sense. Sorry about that!!

      • 😀
        Awesome! Thank you. Gonna post this at the bottom of the next blog!

  6. Sorry I’m a pretty mauch plain Jane girl, I love vanilla bean icecream and chocolate chip and moosetracks and banana spilts with just plain vanilla, caramel sauce, whipped cream and nuts. I’ve been drinking alot of pepsi or coke filled to the brim with crushed ice( give me 6-7 cups of crushed ice a day and I’m happy) or sweet iced tea. I like to eat a few red vines everyday if I cold and some milk chocolate. Red vines are red licorice real stuff not twizzlers. If they were laying around where I could grab them and go I’d be eating watermellon and pineapple chunks and strawberries or almonds, cashews, peanuts, pistachios or a good orange that some hot hot guy had peeled for me.
    Zina

    • Pretty plain? Ohmegawd, Zina. I’m reading this at 9am, and am already desperate for anyone of those treats.
      Er, except for moosetracks. What are those?

  7. Chocolate! I can be on my deathbed but I must have chocolate. Yum! Now I want to go have some right now!

  8. There’s this place called 85 degree Bakery Cafe in California and I’m sooo addicted to their Iced Sea Salt Coffee…sea salt in in their whipped cream. There’s only one location here and in Taipei but luckily for me, it’s near my work so I get it all the time. Of course, they also have these amazing fresh, hot sweet breads…yummy.

    Besides this I’m a “berry” girl and have to have my raspberries, red & rainier cherries, and blueberries so can’t wait for Spring to come. Just had some raspberries and blueberries few days ago and was so good.

    For sweets I like Starbucks Espresso Chip ice cream and cream puffs or eclairs. Wow, just writing this makes me want to go and get some of these foods…LOL

    • Ok, you realize you’re killing me here?
      I don’t live anywhere near California or Taipei, so there is NO chance I will ever get to taste the Iced Sea Salt Coffee.
      *Sulk*

Leave a Reply

