Meet Cari Quinn

Cougar?!? I don’t think so!

Thanks so much to Valerie for inviting me to blog here today! I’m a huge fan of her design work and love hanging out with the IH gals.

My next release Insatiable features lifelong best friends in their late twenties, so no cougars there. It also has an amazingly gorgeous and perfect cover done by Ms. Valerie Tibbs so I had to mention it (and of course show off the cover!) It’s due out February 15th from Loose Id so I’m sure I’ll be shouting it all over the internet when it’s released. This was the first story I ever wrote…and boy did I write it, again and again. Actually, the last time I guest posted on this blog I mentioned the glass elevator sex scene at the end of Insatiable, and the positive response I received here encouraged me to submit it. And boy am I glad I did! I still can’t really believe my first story, one that’s extremely special to me for a lot of reasons, will be for sale soon. It’s a dream come true.

But yummilicious books aside, I have a different topic for today. Cougars. Or why I hate that word and am considering a one-woman quest to get rid of it.

My favorite actor is Jack Nicholson. I love him because he always seems like he’s up to no good. Ever seen the movie Something’s Gotta Give? Jack’s character is pursuing a young woman no more than thirty while he himself is sixty plus. Lots of jokes are made but no one uses a predatory term to describe him. Name-calling seems more reserved for women, which really brasses me off.

What’s wrong with a woman embracing her sexuality with a consenting partner of any age, as long as he’s above the age of consent? Why do women get called “cougars” and the men they’re with “cubs” as if they aren’t too bright kittens plucked off a ledge by a voracious animal? To me that insults the men involved too. Younger doesn’t equal naive, at least not in my world.

I love writing so-called cougar stories because I love “non-traditional” heroines. A little older, maybe not in Playboy shape. Women who are competent professionals who have a pretty good idea what they want out of life. My first story, Full Disclosure, was about a cougar at thirty-eight. Well, I recently turned thirty-five and definitely don’t feel like some hungry wild thing. Any more than I used to anyway. 😉

My current work in progress, Dirty Distractions, is about a forty-two year old woman and an almost thirty year old man. And I’m loving writing it! I have another “cougar” book planned as part of my EC series revolving around a sex club called Kink, and she’ll be having a menage with two younger guys. And I can’t wait!

So what about you? Do you like reading stories about older women and younger men? What are your thoughts about the terms “cougar” and “cub”?

Visit Cari at www.cariquinn.com or on her blog at http://cariquinn.blogspot.com

 

Thanks Cari for joining us!  🙂

15 Responses to “Meet Cari Quinn”

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Shele Belle, International Heat. International Heat said: New Blog Post – Meet Cari Quinn http://bit.ly/fZF6P8 […]

  2. Hi Cari. Fantastic blog. I am looking forward to reading your book Insatiable.

    I have to say that I agree with you on the terms Cougar and Cub. I find them both to be very offensive. Having said that I do enjoy reading the stories of older women who find they are comfortable with their sexuality and not afraid to find love with a man, regardless of his age.

  3. Marika Weber Says:

    Hi Cari! I discovered you at Wild Rose when I bough Full Disclosure. In fact, I just re-read it the other night. Love that story and the follow up Ex Appeal. I’m a cougar. Yes, hubby is 7 1/2 years younger than me, so maybe not a true cougar but I did marry someone younger. There is alot to be said about a younger man. He keeps me young. The phrase doesn’t upset me but in the movies and television, not all cougars are sex-straved women. That drives me crazy. Great post and I can’t wait for Insatiable…………bought Reveal Me yesterday……..

  4. I’m with you, Cari — I don’t like the term either. Animalistic, predatory… and ridiculous. Just another way society tries to tear women down for something perfectly normal, and as you point out, something men have done for ages.

    Love your new cover, too. 🙂 Gorgeous!

    Sam

  5. Oh, I agree, the term cougar annoys me to death, and Marika, your hubby might be beyond what some say is the ick factor for cougars – who for some reason should never be more than seven years older than their hottie. As someone who dated younger guys before I fell for my BH (three years younger) I was a little surprised. And that range was set by women!
    What I don’t understand is why it’s okay for Hugh Hefner, Jack Nicholson or even George Clooney to date women young enough to be their daughters, but we can’t date men that young.
    I love the idea of woman embracing their sexuality, owning it and being intelligent enough to accept all that they are. Including being a sexually happy woman of any age.

  6. I completely agree with the issue over negative name calling for women who date younger men!! But, sadly, ….uh, I don’t read this kind of book, because, for me? Uh…I was involved with a younger man, and well, it didn’t end well. So, I think once I get over that huge mistake — I might be able to read the older woman, younger man thing and buy it! LOL

    hugs,
    billi jean

  7. Nancy Gilliland Says:

    I have always dated men younger than me. When I was younger I was referred to as a “cradle robber” every time I went out with one of my young men. So to me, cougar josh no where near as offensive. But why should there have to even be a term for it, anyway? And the only two totally disastrous relationships I was ever in were with guys older than me.

  8. I’m with you Cari. Age ultimately doesn’t matter when two people are committed, or want to be together. And that cougar thing? Not so much.

  9. I do like reading stories about older women and younger men but I really don’t like the lable “cougar”. I find it insulting that women get a nickname like that but it’s just normal for men to do that same….did love that movie “Something’s Gotta Give” ….cracked me up

  10. Hi Carrie
    I was wondering where you had disappeared off to ^_^
    For me, I love romances where the hero is younger than the heroine and proves himself worthy of the heroine in the story.
    And of course it adds a forbidden variety into the steam factor which I absolutely heart, very much so!
    And the terms cougar and cub, so totally retro.

  11. I don’t like the terms cougar and cub but I absolutely adore (or should I say am utterly fascinated by) the trope of an older woman and a younger man. I discovered the trope early on when I started to read in English and reading ebooks (I think it was at Ellora’s Cave) and it’s always stayed a favorite. As soon as I read something that even resembles older woman/younger man, I’m a goner and MUST have the book. It’s the reason I hoard the Cougar Challenge books like a madwoman!

    I think I could do months long daily reviews of books in this trope (that’s how many I have on my TBR mountain waiting to be read and reviewed).

    I’m looking forward to your “cougar” books, Cari!

  12. Marika Weber Says:

    I hoard the Cougar Challenge books, too. Love them. EC was the first e-pub that I found and devored them and the other genres, too.

    That said, I don’t like the way the media protrays them.

  13. I love the older woman/younger man stories, and I agree with the majority of responses here. When it’s an older man/younger woman, it’s a “May-December romance” which sounds sweet, doesn’t it? Why are women made out to be animals? Just my thoughts

  14. Thanks so much to everyone who stopped by and commented. It’s good to know that I’m not alone in my thoughts on this issue. And Marika, thanks so much for checking out my books and rereading Full Disclosure. That made me really happy to hear. 🙂

  15. […] want to say thank you to all my guest bloggers this week, TA Chase, Cari Quinn, and Lena Matthews.  If you didn’t stop by earlier in the week, click on the links to check […]

Leave a Reply

