What’s up with all these covers?

I’ve been working on a lot of new covers lately.  I did a count the other day and I’ve created 289 covers over the last two and a half years.  Holy moly.  That’s a lot of covers.  Some are awful.  Truly.  Some are pretty cool, if I do say so myself.  Here’s a sampling of the good ones.  I’ll spare you all the horror of the crappy ones.  😀

   

   

I’m lucky that I have several publishers who gave me a shot back in 2008.  I look back at the covers I did then, and sometimes I’m surprised that they did.  Several of the publishers I work for now rejected me back then, and for good reason.  But I kept on trying.  And trying.  Until I got better and was able to really give them my best work.

The moral of the story here?  Don’t give up.  Whatever it is you want to do in life, stick with it.  Yes, you’ll get rejected.  Dust yourself off.  Step back. Take a class or twenty, and try again. You’ll get there. 🙂

5 Responses to “What’s up with all these covers?”

  1. I just love these covers! And you’re right- never give up

  2. Very inspiring words. Very nice covers. You have arrived and are a force to be reckoned with. Watch out world, lol.

  3. Anne Rainey Says:

    Gorgeous covers as always, Valerie! 🙂

  4. Phuong P. Says:

    Wow!!! These covers are BEAUTIFUL! Keep up the great work.

  5. the covers are great

Leave a Reply

