Those Terrifying Phobias!

Hi, my name is Anne Rainey and I have the following phobias:
Arachnophobia – Fear of spiders.
Altophobia – Fear of heights.
Apiphobia – Fear of bees.

Okay, I hear the first step is admitting it. Now what? LOL

Let’s get serious. I have a terrible fear of spiders. I freak out when I see one and I can’t get close enough to kill them. We buy wasp and hornet spray to kill them because it allows you to shoot a stream several feet away. This way I don’t have to actually touch them or get too close.

Back when I was in high school I had a terrifying incident. I was at home by myself, munching on something and watching t.v., when something out of the corner of my eye caught my attention. I turned my head and looked down at the floor. Something moved! I froze as I realized what I was looking at, a big ugly spider. That sucker was like on steroids or something! I lost it and jumped from the couch and onto the coffee table. Yes, I actually stood on the coffee table for (this is not an exaggeration) hours as I tossed things at the spider. A magazine, a pillow, whatever was within my reach. I just couldn’t bring myself to actually step onto the floor, walk over and kill it. 

After standing there for so long one of my brothers came home and stepped on the spider, rolled his eyes and went to his room. I finally breathed again. I felt like an idiot, but at least it was over. I never told my family that I’d stood on that coffee table for literally hours, frozen by my own irrational fear. I was embarrassed and I knew they’d laugh it off.

The thing about a phobia is that you know it’s irrational, but that doesn’t make it any less real. I wish I could overcome my fear of spiders, I really do. I wish I could be like those people who scoop up a spider and set it outside. Uh-uh, no way, no how! Not in this lifetime. It’ll never happen. The very idea makes my skin crawl.

Now my fear of bees and heights isn’t quite as bad. I think because there are ways to avoid those. But it’s still very much a physical condition. If I get up on a chair to change a light bulb someone has to hold onto my legs because I get dizzy. My feet will start to ache. Soon, I’ll feel myself begin to sway. It’s a few feet of the ground, for crying out loud! Nothing is going to happen a few feet off the ground! But try telling my brain that while I’m up on that chair.

I’m grateful I’m not afraid of more things. I’m not Monk, after all. But it’s still frustrating to feel out of control over your own feelings. I hate that I can’t conquer my fears.

So, what are your fears? Crowded places, germs, needles, closed in spaces…? And what was the worst moment in your life when your fear held you in its grasp? Have you conquered your fear? If so how?

Also for an interesting list of fears, check out this link: http://www.phobia-fear-release.com/phobia-list-definitions.html

10 Responses to “Those Terrifying Phobias!”

  1. I like to joke that I’m short because I’m afraid of heights. Truth is, I actually am afraid of heights. A small ladder, I’m okay with. But once we’re talking more than about four or five feet, I have to concentrate really hard not to look down or think about it.

    Bugs in general. They’re creepy, they’re crawlie, and damn it, they’re just gross. One of my cats is a bugger: she eats them. That’s why we keep her.

    Public speaking. I’ve gotten better over the years, but back in high school when I had to stand at the front of the class and give an oral report, I damn near wet myself with fear. Today, after being in management over and over again, I’m better with it but I don’t like it. I hate the way my heart races and my face flushes.

    Confrontation: it’s a near phobic thing, which is funny because, again, I’ve been–and am–in management. I don’t like it. I don’t do well with it. Maybe it’s not a phobia as much as a loathed thing. Still, I don’t do well with it. Never have.

    My sister is so afraid of snakes, when one got in our house one time, she literally jumped across the room onto the highest surface–which was a book case–and would not come down until it was dead and out of the house.

    • Anne Rainey Says:

      I agree about bugs. Icky! I wish our cast ate them. LOL
      Public speaking, yikes. I haven’t had to do that, but at some point I might need to and the thought gives me cold chills.

  2. This is one of the ways I introduce myself to the high school kids I sub for, by listing some phobias on the board and having them guess what they are. Ephebiphobia is the first one I usually put up then I tell them I don’t have it: fear of teenagers! Paraskevedekatriaphobia: fear of Friday the 13th, which will be in May this year. And the universal teen-aged boy one: caligynephobia: fear of beautiful women. I once had a boy ask if another boy who had this phobia was talking to a girl, was he dissing her? I applauded him for thinking in a unique way, and the answer was yes!

  3. Hey Anne,
    I too have a fear of heights and tend to freak out in glass elevators. Spiders don’t scare me too much unless they are big but I still don’t care for them. My fear of bees on the other hand equals your fear of spiders. Needles also are not my friend and I start to breathe fast when I have to get shots or blood drawn.
    Zina

    • Anne Rainey Says:

      I used to be terrified of needles, then I got pregnant. They take blood so often that finally I just got used to being stuck. LOL

  4. My only big phobia…is sitting with my back to an open door…why…in 1989 there was a shooting at my office. I was sitting at my desk, back to the main door, when it started. I was not only in the line of fire but if the victim had moved just a few seconds faster the first bullet that hit her would have hit me instead, a second got my notebook and desk. Sitting with my back to a door now leaves me feeling totally exposed, and anything but safe.

  5. Glass elevators give me the creeps so I face the doors. My worst fear, however, is going on another blind date with a man who can’t mumble more than a few words of conversation so I have to “interview” him all the while knowing I don’t want to see him ever again!

  6. Anne Rainey Says:

    That sounds like a pretty horrible date. Ugh…

Leave a Reply

