Dumped Like Garbage

 I posted this on Facebook yesterday and figured I may as well post it here as well. I know you all are animal lovers like me! 🙂

Last week my daughters and I were on our way home from the grocery store. It was cold and raining, the kind of rain that’s almost like ice. We weren’t too far from home when we noticed something black in the field, near a bridge. It caught my eye because it stood out against the snow. It moved and as I watched I noticed more movement so I slowed down until I came to a complete stop. Four dogs were huddled together in the snow next to the road. They were soaked, shivering and barking up a storm. One of the dogs, a big white one, looked starved and scared. Abused, if you ask me. The two little ones were hovering near the black one as if for comfort. They were all obviously dumped.

Our first thought was to feed them, of course. Luckily we’d just come from the store and we had a bag of dog treats. My daughter opened them and dumped them on the side of the road, the dogs devoured them. My youngest daughter had some grilled chicken pieces left over from her Chipotle dinner so we gave them that too. It was gone in seconds. I think the three of use were in tears by this time.

I drove up to the closest house and knocked on the door, hoping that maybe they belonged to someone nearby. The dogs didn’t belong to them, the lady who answered the door said, but she was as upset as I was at these poor creatures left to freeze to death. We weren’t sure what to do, but the woman said her husband would be home soon and maybe he could get them in the barn for the night. It would be shelter, at least. She said they would call the Humane Society in the morning. It was something, but my heart still hurt for these animals. I went back to the car and we drove home. On the way we discussed different options. We were determined to help these dogs. We didn’t want them out there in the cold and rain all night. The first thing we thought of was Facebook. Strange, right? The thing is, both my daughters have a ton of FB friends. So, they came home and posted on their Facebook pages that there were four dogs that needed a home. Can anyone help? They shared the name of the road and gave a general description of where they were. Okay, it was something, but not enough. They were still out there, cold and wet.

When my husband came home we ate a quick dinner, then we all went back to the bridge to see if maybe we could get them back home with us, at least for the night. In the meantime, one of my daughter’s friends had already talked to her mom and they were happy to take the two little dogs. Yes!!

Unfortunately, when we got back to the bridge the dogs were gone. Our hearts sank. I was afraid they’d wandered off. We checked with the neighbor lady again to see if her husband had indeed put them in the barn, but no luck. With our flashlight in hand, we drove slowly up the road looking for the dogs. We didn’t find them, but we did find two teenagers carrying a flashlight and walking along the side of the road. My oldest recognized one of them, so we stopped and asked if they were looking for the four abandoned dogs too. They smiled and said the dogs were in their barn. I think we all let out a huge sigh of relief at hearing that.

Today, I found out that the two small dogs are now with a very caring woman who is working on getting them healthy again. A woman that lived on that road (near the bridge) took the black one, and the white one apparently was some sort of Great Dane mix because The Great Dane Rescue in Toledo, Ohio is taking him. 

I haven’t been able to stop thinking about that white dog, looking so scared and hungry. I would’ve taken him in a heartbeat, but we already have 2 dogs, 4 cats and a snake. We’ve reached capicity, I’m afriad. Still, thanks to some fast texting teenagers and the power of social networking, all the dogs were taken care of. Please keep the white one in your thoughts and prayers.  

Animals are a blessing, not a burden. It breaks my heart to see cats and dogs dumped off like they’re garbage. They deserve a warm bed, a full belly and a loving family.

12 Responses to “Dumped Like Garbage”

  1. How very well put. Not a day goes by that there isn’t some sort of story on how some poor animals were found abused, neglected, abandoned, what have you. I’ve had cats all my life, and each one has been like a family member to me. Thank heavens for good-hearted people who helped take care of those dogs.

  2. Anne Rainey Says:

    All four of our cats are strays and they’re part of our family. I don’t understand how someone can just dump a pet on the side of the road. Worse is dumping four pets. Horrible.

    It warmed my heart to see so many people willing to help those dogs. All we ever hear these days is stories about teens and their *damn* texting habits. This is one time when the texting was a blessing!!

  3. Fantastic post- never fails to amaze me how mean people can be to animals

  4. christine stephens Says:

    People who does this needs to have the same thing done to them to see how it feels

  5. Oh that is terrible. I really had tears in my eyes thinking of those poor things. I’m an animal lover, all my animals — three cats and one dog are all adopted. It’s just awful that people do this. In Colorado, I had people dropping cats and dogs off near my ranch all the time. It was hard, I mean you just want to help them and fear taking them to the Humane Society in case no one adopts them. What a wonderful and thoughtful idea to use Facebook! Truly you all are heroes.

    hugs,
    billi jean

  6. Anne Rainey Says:

    Maria–I know what you mean. My gut says that white one was abused. The way he stood, like he’d been beaten. It just broke my heart.

  7. Anne Rainey Says:

    Christine–I agree 100%! If they had to sit out in that icy rain, in the middle of nowhere, no food, no shelter from the bitter cold, they might think twice about doing it again!

  8. Anne Rainey Says:

    Billi Jean–The woman whose house was the closest said she sees this sort of thing all the time. You could tell it hurt her to see it happen so often. It must be the idea that there are two farms so close together. They figure someone will take them in.

    It’s a cold-hearted person that could just dump four pets and drive off without a care in the world.

  9. I simply don’t understand that mindset and I suppose I’m glad that I don’t.

    We live out in the country and animals are “dropped” around here all the time. I suppose people tell themselves that cats, dogs and ferrets can survive out in nature, but that just isn’t true. They starve to death or become food for larger animals.

    You are doing a great job in teaching your daughters about our responsibility to the least fortunate. And your husband must also be a remarkable person to go back and help your look for the dogs. Excellent!

  10. You did well Anne, I never would have thought to put it in facebook.
    Zina

  11. Anne Rainey Says:

    Donna–My husband’s first reaction was to sigh really loud. LOL! He could hear the determination in my voice probably. 😉

  12. Anne Rainey Says:

    Zina–Well, everyone on my own FB friend list are from all over the world, but on my daughters’ FB all their friends are local. Now that we know it worked, we’ll know what to do the next time something like that happens! 🙂

Leave a Reply

