Quote of the Week

With the arrival of 2011, I started a new tradition over on my website blog. Each Monday, I post a quote of the week. I got the idea to do this when Jambrea Jo Jones asked me to help her compile a list of literary quotes for a new book she’s working on. As I started digging around on the Internet, finding words of wisdom from some of my favorite books, I realized how much words move me. I spent the better part of two hours that Sunday pulling up line after line, each quote affecting me differently. Some made me sad, others happy. Quite a few made me laugh. Then I realized exactly how powerful words are.

So…today I thought I’d share a few of my favorites.

I’m not gonna lie–Dumbledore has always spoken to me. If you’ve been around me enough, you know I LOVE the Harry Potter books. There’s a Hogwarts Express plaque and Mrs. Weasley’s clock hanging above my desk!

“It is our choices that show what we truly are, far more than our abilities.” –JK Rowling

“Numbing the pain for a while will make it worse when you finally feel it.” –JK Rowling

My other all time favorite book is To Kill a Mockingbird. Atticus rocks!

“They’re certainly entitled to think that, and they’re entitled to full respect for their opinions… but before I can live with other folks I’ve got to live with myself.  The one thing that doesn’t abide by majority rule is a person’s conscience.” –Harper Lee

I’d love to hear some words that move you–whether they be happy, sad, funny or French! What’s your favorite quote?

7 Responses to “Quote of the Week”

  1. Courtney S Says:

    “There’s no one more youer than you.” — Dr Seuss

  2. “Do or do not. There is no try.” Yoda

  3. Marika Weber Says:

    I have a couple from movies:

    There’s no crying in baseball!–A League of Their Own
    “i’d rather be alone for the right reasons, then to be with someone for all the wrong reason” – Some Kind of Wonderful (Lea Thompson to Eric Stolz)
    Isn’t that a little extreme for the Carolina League! – Bull Durham (Kevin Costner to Susan Saradan)

    I love baseball, can you tell.

    If we get married, you can’t date anymore. Shadow Dance, Julie Garwood. – One of top 10 favorite books of all time. Plus, I worship Julie Garwod

  4. Frankly, my dear, I don’t give a damn – Gone with the Wind This is from the movie. I think the book quote is a little different

    Tomorrow is another day – Also Gone with the Wind

  5. Size matters not. Look at me. Judge me by my size, do you? Hmm? Hmm. yoda (I am short I can relate)
    A boy is, of all wild beasts, the most difficult to manage. plato (I have three boys)

  6. Got another one!!
    A husband is what is left of a lover, after the nerve has been extracted.
    Helen Rowland
    Marriage is neither heaven nor hell; it is simply purgatory.
    Abraham Lincoln

  7. I remembered another one:

    By the pricking of my thumbs,
    Something wicked this way comes.
    Second Witch, Macbeth, Act IV, scene i

Leave a Reply

